We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & best Lake view, then this is it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lal Ghat Guest House
Ranked #64 of 273 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is probably one of the oldest guest houses around Lake Pichola & that itself gives me a high. In my opinion one of the best views of Lake Pichola can be relished from here.

Since we were travelling just before the tourist season, we got an excellent deal in terms of the price & it costed us approx Rs.600 per room per day. For the view & experience you get from here this is probably a bumper deal. The owner of the place is friendly & will guide you with the places to visit around Udaipur.

A word of caution is not to try the food here as it was below par & you can get better options outside in the city.

Overall if you're looking for cheap stay options with the best views of the Lake & its surrounding then don't even think twice, just choose Lal Ghat.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms will cost you more but will give you access to the best view of the lake & its su...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikramKa5i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Lal Ghat Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very expensive considering what we paid for other hotels for the same room - a double bed and private ensuite. The sheets were dirty and the room generally unclean. We had to ask for the bathroom to be cleaned after our check-in. It was "cleaned", yet the previous guests hair remained stuck to the walls and the toilet was dirty. The only positive was the view from the terrace.

Room Tip: The dorm seemed alot better value and still had a fan
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophielg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

great place, perfect for travellers and even couples looking for a nice break. It has the most amazing views of the lake and a great roof top to relax on and have breakfast. The staff are very nice and friendly. I would always go back here if i went back to udaipur. Also has great location in the centre of town but slightly off the main street which is nice as its not as loud.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Having stayed here twice(and missed the train to Udaipur the third time :-0), all I would like to add to what most people have said is that this place has an excellent higher level open 'lobby' which has a vintage appeal and the lookout and balcony over the lake is a great way to have a relaxing holiday, breakfast, nap, read a book or whatever you're in Udaipur to do. It's also located close to most of the sights on Lake Pichola. The place is over a 100 years old so you shouldn't expect the most modern architecture and style of rooms, but they're sufficiently spacious and airy. Yes, they're not the cleanest rooms I've seen for the price, but not bad either, however that is something most Indian ho(s)tels need to work on. Considering the limited resources the hostel is running out of the sheets and bedding are clean. Food options are decent, with most options for a breakfast both continental and north Indian parantha style. It's definitely a very well balanced hostel/lodge to live in for the price, and if you're in Udaipur for the first time, definitely worth trying out if you can look over the 3 on cleanliness. Will definitely stay here again if I'm in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianmenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Worth choosing this guest house just to have breakfast at it's rooftop restaurant, with extraordinary views to lake Pichola. And location was in center of Udaipur, everithing in walking distance. Food was good and staff was helpful and polite. We arrived at 7 am, 3 hours before check-in but it was no problem, we got our room at 7. Room itself was ok for this money. Nothing special but clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert274958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel is very close to the lake so you can reach the main points within some minutes walking. The staff is fiendly and has even send me my lost book guide. The rooms are very modest and the bathroom was not very clean. Maybe it´s getting better when they show you some rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marius86nagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Type of room: Room w private bath
Great rooms and very clean. Split a room w 3 friends and had a good stay. Staff was helpful w finding a driver for us to get to driver to Jodhpur and recommendations for things to do in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AD813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#68 of 163 in Udaipur
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#30 of 163 in Udaipur
791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 163 in Udaipur
1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream Heaven Guest House
Dream Heaven Guest House
#18 of 273 in Udaipur
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greco House
Greco House
#7 of 273 in Udaipur
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lal Ghat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lal Ghat Guest House

Address: 33 Lal Ghat Guest House Lal Ghat | behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: £7 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Lal Ghat Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing