We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful boutique hotel....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amar Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Amar Kothi
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful boutique hotel....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Very beautifully and wonderfully decorated....very impressive. A peaceful and calm locality. We enjoyed our stay and relaxed. A good hospitality shown with all the workers! I recommend all my friends and cousins..... We were so impressed with the beauty that we called up the owner to say few good words... Value for money!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    34
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
12
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

I can't say enough about this charming hotel with a bed and breakfast feel. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the service was great. If your lucky enough to meet the owner, Raj, who is there on a regular basis, you are in for a special treat. He is very friendly and engaging, taking time to spend with his guests. You really feel like you are at home in this small charming place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandagrind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Pros:
1. Location - away from the town so its a quiet, even in the day.
2. Owner - is mostly present in the property and takes personal interest in the operations - ensuring the staff takes the right decisions

Cons:
1. It's advertised as a hotel - if you are looking at spending time in the property other than sleeping in the night; you're in for a big disappointment. It's very good for a bed & breakfast category
2. Food - do not expect anything other than breakfast, you'll be disappointed again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anshum14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courbevoie, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

A delicious stay in a very beautiful and peaceful environment where customers are really cared about. Thank you to Raji and his young team for their very warm welcome and constant smiles. I will long remember my stay with them.

Chantal from Paris France

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chantal_jorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

When we stayed there the place has just started operations tho apart from some teething problems this place turned out to be a great value for money. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the medieval city-scape, it also is easy to reach by car (and has reasonably parking). The rooms were a bit cramped and bit dark but doesn't matter if you are going to be out and about during the daytime.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idoru222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

This one really was a mixed bag for me.

Pros:
------
1. Spanking new
2. Spacious, clean and well decorated rooms.
3. Great bathrooms.
4. Quiet location.
5. Loved the simple veg meal (sabji, dal, roti) provided. Absolutely felt like being at home.


Cons:
--------
1. No proper restaurant neither in the hotel nor in the neighborhood.
2. Great view from roof top but somehow nobody in the hotel pointed that out. I was left to discover it on my own.
3. Away from the main tourist area. Autos charge Rs 50 to take you to the main areas. So be ready to spend couple of hundreds extra every day.
4. No travel desk. The guys at the hotel couldn't provide much guidance also.

Most of the cons will probably go away once the place gets a bit older. Also, personally I was not much bothered about most of the cons (1, 3, 4).

  • Liked — Spacious, clean, well decorated rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurant
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s0umik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

After attending a friend's wedding in Mumbai, I took a side trip to the northwest of India, including Udaipur where I was lucky enough to stay at Amar Kothi. The hotel located near the major tourist sites (Lake Pichola, City Palace) was simply spectacular; everything was absolutely gorgeous from the traditional Indian paintings on the wall (my favorite was the gold and silver accented piece behind the check-in counter) to the beautiful wood carvings on the doors and beds. The property is sparkling clean and spacious. The manager was super friendly and helpful, when I needed to check out late because of my late travel plans to Jaipur the next day. I hope the hotel continues to keep up the excellent standard because this is an oasis in the dessert.

  • Liked — Design, Comfort, Tranquility, Cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ButteredRolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karohihaveli, PR Manager at Hotel Amar Kothi, responded to this review, 23 December 2009
Thanks for the word of appreciation and feedback. We are striving our best to add more amenities and value to Amar Kothi in near future. Hope to have you as Guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
9.6 mi away
The Castle Mewar
The Castle Mewar
#96 of 151 in Udaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pichola Haveli
Pichola Haveli
#102 of 151 in Udaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#23 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
#55 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Palm
Hotel Royal Palm
#134 of 151 in Udaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amar Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amar Kothi

Property: Hotel Amar Kothi
Address: C 5Haridas Ji ki Magri, | Near Oberoi Udai Vilas, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amar Kothi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Amar Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing