We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super stay in a charming city!”
Review of Kesar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kesar Palace
Ranked #19 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A super stay in a charming city!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kesar Palace in Udaipur. The hotel, perfectly located, was spotlessly clean and obviously well-serviced. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. We highly recommend a stay at Kesar Palace should you plan to visit Udaipur.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    66
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
16
91
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The view from the rooftop is great! And it is a convenient location. The staff were fairly helpful and my room was nice. Although there was no tp or towel in my room, I am not sure if you have to ask for those.
It is a bit tricky to find, but the auto drivers discussed it at the train station and one of them knew. There are a lot of stairs and the reception seems to operate out of the roof. So be prepared to climb.
The food in the restaurant was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljintransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We loved this little gem of a hotel in Udaipur. Our room (deluxe AC on top floor) had huge windows with amazing views over the city and the lake. The bed was enormous and very comfortable and the room was tastefully decorated. Staff were pleasant and the food was good. The terrace is a great place to sit and watch the world go by and is especially atmospheric at sunset. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: It really is worth going for a room with a view. I think that one side of the hotel doesn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethJ0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We only have positive things to say about our stay here at Kesar Palace; there are no negatives We stayed here for four nights, rather than our intended two purely because of this fantastic guest house and the way we felt so at home here in Udaipur.

Firstly, staff here are incredibly helpful and friendly, they speak great English and are happy to converse with you and assist you with your travels.
Rooms are very spacious, clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. We were really impressed by this.
Rooftop has a fantastic view, great ambience, very nice food, a very clean kitchen, and is a great place to meet fellow travelers. We had some good fun here, and the staff often sit up on the roof top in the evenings which was nice too.
Location is fantastic, you're close to everything, but at night its completely quiet.
Cost was very reasonable.
Free wifi is a bonus too.
Would stay here again absolutely, and are grateful to staff here for our welcomed stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing towards the lake have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeverTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is clean, the rooms are nice and the location is just perfect. Staff is very friendly. We played board games with staff members on the rooftop in the evening! Until the last day we didn't have dinner at the hotel restaurant, but we discovered it to be the best food that we've had in Udaipur, so we would really recommend the restaurant as well. The owner Sajid speaks very good English and can show you Udaipur, which is also recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hey,

I did some traveling last month through India,Udaipur was by far the most chilled place I have ever visited. I grabbed a auto from the bus station for 100 rupees (70 rupees is the norm, found that out later on but they do charge more early morn or late at night - same as anywhere i suppose) down to this place.

The location is amazing, literally 5 mins around the corner from the City Palace and the temple which is just in front.

Rooms: Absolutely spotless, I stayed a non ac room on top floor. Even at this time of year it was fine. I didn't really do much reading about Udaipur but after going up to the rooftop I was blown away by the views, you can clearly see all lake palaces and the Monsoon palace is directly in front as the crow flys.

Staff were great and chilled out. Its the same with any place, if you make an effort to be friendly they will to. The owners English is very good, so I had a couple of beers upstairs and he gave me the lay of the land in where I should visit etc.

As for price, bargain. I paid around 12 quid for 2 nights which was perfect for my backpackers budget. Thing to note is the beer is the same at this place as the shops, which is always a bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms at facing the lake has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank float_on_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were impressed by the spacious, SPOTLESS rooms. They have fresh white paint, marble floors, colourful curtains and super clean bathrooms. It's one of those places in India that the staff have bothered to maintain. The staff here are quiet but were nice to us

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the views (although they might charge you more) and more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camerong1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Greco House
Greco House
#8 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
#1 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jagat Villa Guesthouse
Jagat Villa Guesthouse
#38 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mewargarh Palace
Mewargarh Palace
#2 of 255 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Udai Haveli Guest House
Udai Haveli Guest House
#11 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Haveli
Heritage Haveli
#16 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kesar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kesar Palace

Property: Kesar Palace
Address: 17 Kesar Palace Panduwari, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kesar Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kesar Palace is a small, a fairly new and charming hotel situated in the beautiful old city center of Udaipur. The latest standards happily blending with old-world charm give the rooms a warm and homely atmosphere. The friendly owner, his family and their staff will do everything to make your stay as pleasant and carefree as possible.All rooms have attached bathrooms. Each of the individual guestrooms has its own character and style, with tasteful furniture and decor. Most rooms has a delightful view that can be enjoyed from the comfort of the jharokha (window seat). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing