We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Udaipur”
Review of Kesar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kesar Palace
Ranked #19 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay in Udaipur”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was one of the best experiences we had during our trip in India
We will never forget the great view from the terrace restaurant which had excellend and inexpenssive food.
Rooms were spacious and tidy and the staff very kind and helpful
Lokation perfect just a few minutes walk from all the attractions
Very good value for money
We wish we had more time to stay there for some more days!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ranzak4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    66
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
16
91
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

honestly, it is a little difficult to find it. But after entering into the building, everything surprised me. big room, good price, clean and tidy. roof top restaurant has a good view and the price is not expensive. The owner is very nice , and helped me a lot. I am so glad to come here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greti0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I've stayed here a few times and always hate to leave. The rooftop view is so beautiful, and the food at their restaurant is excellent. Everyone who works here is really friendly and helpful! I would definitely recommend spending just a little bit more to get a room with a view, the rooms on the back side of the building are a bit dark.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twelvethirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

What an excellent location. The view from our bedroom was beautiful! The owners were two borthers and real laid back, good guys, helpful, not pushy at all. Safe place, clean! For sure, my wife and I recommend it here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The guest house has a great location, close to the Ghats, the City Palace and everything else you will be wanting to see in Udaipur. It's rooftop and the restaurant are excellent. They cook everything from scratch and the food is delicious. We tried it the first evening and decided not to even bother going somewhere else. Also our room was gorgeous, on the very top floor and with a great lake view. The biggest plus to us was excellent hot water availability and water pressure: the best we had in India!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room on one of the top floors and on the side of the building that has a lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Owners are very hospitable and offered us a rickshaw drive essentially everywhere ! We were picked up from the station as well.

It's so cheap, amazing value for money.
The rooftop has an incredible view.
The food is pretty good and very cheap.
Everything in rooms is very well presented and clean.

Cons:
On the last night the toilet back logged and smelt the room out of sewage. However the young man that worked there immediately helped us and fixed the problem.

There are many stairs to climb up if that's a problem for you!

Otherwise this has been my favourite place to stay thus far and it is in an amazing amazing location near all the shops.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed for an intended two nights in the fifth floor room but then added a third cause we were enjoying it so much. If possible get the fifth floor room has two full walls of windows with views over the lake and the city. The owner came and picked us up from the bus stop even though we didn't organise prior he just found us and took us back. He also made the rest of our stay so easy helping organise tours and stuff for way cheaper than what was offered on the street. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesh123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Greco House
Greco House
#8 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
#1 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jagat Villa Guesthouse
Jagat Villa Guesthouse
#38 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mewargarh Palace
Mewargarh Palace
#2 of 255 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Udai Haveli Guest House
Udai Haveli Guest House
#11 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Haveli
Heritage Haveli
#16 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kesar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kesar Palace

Property: Kesar Palace
Address: 17 Kesar Palace Panduwari, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kesar Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kesar Palace is a small, a fairly new and charming hotel situated in the beautiful old city center of Udaipur. The latest standards happily blending with old-world charm give the rooms a warm and homely atmosphere. The friendly owner, his family and their staff will do everything to make your stay as pleasant and carefree as possible.All rooms have attached bathrooms. Each of the individual guestrooms has its own character and style, with tasteful furniture and decor. Most rooms has a delightful view that can be enjoyed from the comfort of the jharokha (window seat). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing