We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort with Poor Service and Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Resort with Poor Service and Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

When we reached the resort we were pleased with the resort layout and atmosphere. The resort is well maintained, we had booked premium rooms. The rooms are large and comfortable. But the view from the premium rooms is very poor. We were given a good welcome and the check in process was very well managed.

The next day when we went for the breakfast we felt the downside of this beautiful resort. The breakfast spread was not up to the mark, uncooked utapams, bakedbeans were watery and had to find the beans … when we called the chef for the quality of utapam he said that this is the way they make it..?? Instead of butter they were serving Margarine (non dairy butter). They only served the butter when we asked them to do so.

Second bad experience came in when – we had left the hotel in the morning for our outing, we had informed the house keeping to make our room, but when we came back in the afternoon to our surprise the rooms were not made up and then the follow up started, they had no answers for not getting the room done, and only after 20 min. of our strong reactions they sent their team to get the room cleaned, they didn’t have fresh bed linens, they had got old used linens and replaced it with the existing once. They had blood stains on them. It was totally disturbing and bad experience. We had our kids waiting in the afternoon outside the room (which is their nap time) since the rooms were not made up. It took them 1.30 hour to get the things done. And the whole afternoon say 2.30 to 4.00 was spent behind our rooms getting done.

Another thing to notice is that they have no kids play area, when asked for the kids area they had a mat and few poor quality toys under a staircase. Not at all a kids friendly hotel.

We would never stay in this kind of property and spoil our vacation which is meant to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abhimanyu-kayastha, General Manager at Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
thank you for your feedback and appreciating the layout of the hotel and the check in procedure. As for the breakfast and the room cleaning, i assure you i will personally ensure things are set right. Our Front Office Manager had had met you during your departure and conveyed our commitment to see you have a better and memorable experience during your next visit given an opportunity. We look forward to your next visit and if i can be of any further assistance, you may contact me at 'gm@ramadaudaipur.com'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    338
    104
    44
    40
See reviews for
537
273
20
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shimla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The resort Ramada Udaipur had been a home away home experience as it was a pleasure being there where u have a warm welcome , friendly atmosphere , amazing food , the beautiful view from room and as well as night view of resort itself is great ....the spa therapy was good,along with swimming pool .Thanks for each and every ones co-operation .

Room Tip: the services are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank post113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abhimanyu-kayastha, General Manager at Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The simplest definition of a hotel is HOME AWAY FROM HOME. Today to read your feedback, and be called home experience, it gives us great job satisfaction. I have shared your comments with the entire staff members of the resort. We look forward to your next visit soon. If i can be of any further assistance, you may contact me at 'gm@ramadaudaiur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

As we enter the resort, one is pleasantly surprised by nice interiors and quick check in. The staff is cordial and rooms are well appointed and spacious with a beautiful view.
Best Experience: The room was spacious and well equipped and room service was good. The buffet breakfast & dinner had a good spread and staff ensures that you enjoy your meal.All the HOD's including the GM of the resort personally ensured we had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abhimanyu-kayastha, General Manager at Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The common means of commute to Udaipur is road, and its very irritating to wait for rooms once you reach the property. We try our best to allocate room to our guest in the least time. Our food and service is our strength. We all work as a team to ensure you have a wonderful stay. If i can be of any further assistance, you may contact me at 'gm@ramadaudaipur.com'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Udaipur was my favorite place during my three-city tour in India. Ramada Udaipur Resort & Spa had much to do with that! The hotel staff was warm and friendly, going well above and beyond my expectations with their exceptional service. I want to extend a sincere thank you to all the staff for making my stay truly memorable. Keep up the good work!

Mark from Fort Lauderdale, Florida - USA

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abhimanyu-kayastha, General Manager at Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
thank you for your feedback, and rating us the best during your three city visit to India. Ramada took over this property a year ago, and we are trying our best to make it the best. I have shared your feedback with the entire team. We look forward to your next visit. If i can be of any further assistance, you may contact me at 'gm@ramadaudaipur.com'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safwa, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

An amazing hotel with great exteriors situated in one of Udaipur hills, Big Lobby too, you just can't help but to observe the whole hotel as you walk through. The staffs are so great, amazing welcome to the hotel and excellent introduction given to the hotel and to the room as we stayed two nights in here. We requested twin beds and got a king size bed instead, in five minutes, they changed our room, very nice. However, both rooms had a strange bad smell, not sure why but that smell was there throughout our stay and can't be sure what was it. Also, when we were asked to move to the twin beds room, both doors were open (main and balcony doors), when we got in and all settled, you can't imagine how many "Big mosquitoes" were there!! I had to get rid of at least 20 of them.

The other thing was the internet prices, insane, and they charge per device!! INR 500 for an hour for two devices! I found that pretty much expensive. The staffs were informed and were even told this would be left as a remark in my review.

We had dinner at the hotel on our first night; we were told that it's not going to be open buffet because of low occupancy, our fault? Anyway, food menu was great, we loved it and had excellent food, however, the service wasn't as good as the food, we were the first to arrive at dinner time, but then followed by at least 20 people, still not enough for an open buffet? The restaurant then turned into a slight mess, loud shouting coming from the kitchen, the restaurant manager was rushing in and out looking so panicked, they made us feel that the restaurant was full of people, but it wasn't!! We were served the salad very late, then immediately got served one of the main courses, and after 10 minutes got served the other! Noticed few other guests commenting about the wrong orders, or orders not exactly what they wanted. Obviously need better management!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abhimanyu-kayastha, General Manager at Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and appreciate your detailed observation. Such feedback help us to improve our service standard. We have taken all the corrective measures, especially the open buffet and am sure during your next visit you would have much better experience. If i can be of any further assistance, you may contact me at 'gm@ramadaudaipur.com'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotels is a luxury property with completely diferent Heritage look on exterior compare to any other hotels of Rajasthan.. Black thin stone work on exterior of all building throws away a very differenet & warm look. The hotel is very courteous.. The bar serves almost all the request you can place. Rajasthani restaurant is very delicately designed for not to make it too much goudy & food is again awesome !

Spa is a bliss here.. Huge spa area & very soothing experience !!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlyNil1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abhimanyu-kayastha, General Manager at Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
thank you for your feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed the architecture of the property. Yes, our food is one of the USP of the property. We look forward to your next visit soon. If i can be of any further assistance, you may contact me at 'gm@ramadaudaipur.com'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We did a road trip to Rajasthan last week and we booked it after seeing reviews in tripadvisor. After tiring journey this was best place to unwind. I got fever and called up reception to see if I can see any doctor. Within 20 mins doctor was infront of me. I was so happy that almost everything from receiving guest to farewell, the staff, management was very polite and helpful. The restaurant also was very good with good variety of food available. I wish if I had more days to spend in Ramada. Definitely worth the visit and good value for money.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanju C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abhimanyu-kayastha, General Manager at Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
thank you for your feedback, and hope you recovered well to explore further from Udaipur into Rajasthan. The State has its own charm and its best travelling by road to experience the different culture. If i can be of any further assistance, you may contact me at 'gm@ramadaudaipur.com'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Udaipur
Radisson Udaipur
#20 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#22 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#17 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa

Property: Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Address: Rampura Circle Khodiyat Road, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Lotus Lake View Resort)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#10 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set Majestically the resort offers breathtaking views of the Monsoon Palace (Also known as Sajjangarh) as well as Lake Pichola. The resort has a tranquil, salubrious setting, wonderfully recreating the romance of the past and yet completely in keeping with the 21st century luxury, making it a Hotel that lends itself to discovery and continual surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing