We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Krishna Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Krishna Ranch
Ranked #11 of 250 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

STaying two nights at the Krishna Ranch in Febr. 2013, gave us wonderful sights on India´s countryside with it`s people and landscapes there.
An oasis to rest and experience nature ,wildlife and villages.
The owner leads horse- and trekking-tours in a very pleasant way.
Delicious food and peacefull athmosphere!
We enjoyed our visit there a lot!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martina_baur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
51
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

My wife has ridden horses many times. Me? Never!
Krishna Ranch cancels out this difference in experience and provides you with a half day trek you will never forget.
At the ranch, the prep was low key and thorough, horses being matched to riders, helmets issued and important instructions on posture, reins, heels etc given.
Confidence riding high we set out, Vimay our excellent guide leading us.A great adventure unfolded, lasting 4 hours and taking us through villages, fields, open country and lanes. This trek is brilliantly suited to the tourist. Regular stops to rest the legs, local information, total value for money and an attitude to safety we could not fault.
We spoke at length with Dinesh over lunch and its easy to see he has a lifelong love of horses. This is also reflected through his staff.
We recommend this horse trek.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

just finished a 4 day safari with Dinish and his staff...I have to say that it was what I expected an more. Based on the reviews that I had read here my expectations were quite high,,,sometimes it's hard to be totally pleased when your expectations are built up as much as the reviews here suggest,,well I have to say that I found it even better , if thats possible,,I travelled with my 2 daughters..and we were the only ones on the safari ...the way we were looked after was beyond beleif..we got to see things and places that are well off the beaten track...through tiny villages that are only accessable by horse or motorcycle..the smiling freindly faces of the people will stay with me forever..thank you Krishna Ranch for a once in a lifetime expereince...I cannot reccommend them highly enough

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sohq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

In November, 2012, we spent one night at Krishna Ranch. A quiet retreat surrounded by country side. The ranch is very clean, with spacious rooms and bathrooms (hot water showers!!) healthy and tasty vegetarian food and a short drive from Udaipur. If you are looking for a place to relax away from noise and chaos, this is the place to come. Children will love the assortment of farm animals.
We spent a further ten days horse riding between Udaipur and Pushkar, which decried in one word....amazing.
The Horses- fit, well fed and beautifully cared for. There are horses to suit beginners and advanced riders. Most the horses are ridden in a military saddles which were very comfortable.
The Tents- spacious and complete with cot, blankets and pillows. It got chilly at night and the blankets were much needed.
The toilet- a mobile set up with toilet and washing cubbies. Not glamorous, but functional and clean.
The Food- very healthy vegetarian food, unless you become addicted to the fresh breads made everyday and then the calorie count goes way up !! Food is plentiful and I enjoyed being exposed to new foods......paneer being one. Delicious.
Sights- you will be spoiled for choice and is likely the best way to explore India and the way of everyday life. We rode through rural villages and towns, learned about the agricultural system, everyday we rode by masses of goats, camels, pigs, dogs, cows, water buffalo, trees filled with fruit bats and the bird life was great. We were able to visit local temples and watch their ceremonies and meet local people. Camping at night is often lakeside or by a temple. We concluded our ride at Pushkar fair which is unbelievable with it's chaos of camels, horses and cows, mingled with vendors, fair rides and competitions of turban tying and longest moustache.

The Riding- we rode along steep mountain paths and quiet roads, stunning scenery. Too dangerous to do much more than walk. Once we hit the desert area we enjoyed long canters and gallops. Fantastic.
Entertainment- after a long day in the saddle we enjoyed the evening campfires and chats with a beer or whisky.
The Team- Everything is done for you. Camp is set up on arrival, food is made, drinks are purchased. Nothing is too much trouble.

Overall, this is not for those who can not live without a hairdryer, but if you want a real taste of India away from tourists and excitement on your holiday....this is it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hippo3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We did a 4 day horse riding trek with Dinesh and his team from Udaipur to Kumbhalgargh, which was truly stunning. The horses were supremely well trained, the villages and countryside that we rode through were stunning and the food/camp organisation was faultless. Dinesh was a charming host, who was great to talk to by the campfire and went out of his way to take us to remote and unique places. This was a truly special experience - the highlight of India for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed here overnight and had a wonderful 28 hours. Our trip was organised by Francine from Kumbha Palace hotel. We do not ride but enjoyed the walks round the local villages it is so peaceful. The cottages are spacious and the food really good. We would have stayed longer but not we did not have enough time. Although it is only a few miles from Udaipur you feel far away

Room Tip: All good and have their own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saralucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at Krishna Ranch twice. I came back to the ranch at the end of my traveling in India, just to relax and be away from the life on the road. The ranch is very well kept and very peacful.
I love to just relax and read books while I am there. A few times I walked to Tiger-lake, an easy 2 kilometer stroll in lovely country-side. The cottages are comfortable and very clean.
I can highly recommend Krishna Ranch to everyone who wants to explore India outside the big cities. The ranch is run by people who love and respect animals and nature. Dinesh(the owner) is a true horse-lover and takes care of his horses with love and passion.
I have to mention lovely Narani who is looking after the guests at the ranch. An excellent cook and she was serving my meals always with a happy smile. Nice to see women working in a guesthouse. Didn’t see that a lot in India.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
3.4 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
3.9 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
#1 of 250 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krishna Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krishna Ranch

Property: Krishna Ranch
Address: Badi - Hawala Road | Near Royal Retreat, Village Hawala, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DISCOVER RURAL INDIA! The Krishna Ranch is an excellent place for everyone who wants to get away from India's busy cities and discover rural India. The ranch is located at a very peaceful spot in the Arravali mountains, just 7 kilometers out of Udaipur city. The Krishna Ranch is not a typical resort, but a living farm with 14 beautiful Marwari horses, many other animals and lush fields with a variety of crops. The cottages at the ranch are clean and spacious, nicely decorated with regional handicrafts. We serve excellent vegetarian meals, mostly prepared from vegetables grown at our ecological farm. The ranch is a great starting point for short walks and bicycle rides to the surrounding villages. We will provide a simple map of the area and packed lunches for a pick-nick on the way are available. Guided treks to the remote parts of the Arravali-mountains are also possible. The beautiful and peaceful ranch is of course also a place to just sit back and relax. There is a small library with books and games. Roomrates include breakfast and pick up from Udaipu-city at the start of your stay and drop off at the end of your stay. The main activity organized by Krishna Ranch are professionally guided horse-safaris through the beautiful Arravali mountain-range. There are possibilities for everyone: from beginners to experienced riders, from 2,5 hours to 10 days! Of course all our horses and other animals are very well looked after by us and our dedicated staff. Note that rides/guided hikes need to be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Krishna Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing