We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking around Udaipur”
Review of Krishna Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Krishna Ranch
Ranked #9 of 257 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hiking around Udaipur”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

India is incredible, and our hiking trip confirmed this once more. If you have one day (or more) to spend in Udaipur, this experience is not too be missed!

We hired a couple of bicycles to go to Krishna ranch for a stay at the country side. With some hesitation, we left Khumba Palace, the hotel run by Francine and Dinesh in the old city centre of Udaipur. This is such a great place to be that it is difficult to leave (we can recommend Khumba Palace too by the way - especially when you love to eat delicious food, being served very friendly and FAST and not expensive, and when you like to relax in a garden with view on the city palace).

Krishna Ranch is owned by the same couple and located about 4 km out of Udaipur. The place is really beautiful. We saw peacocks and many birds. Our daughter (12 years old), could not stay away from the little goats, so cute! And the dogs, and little calf and chicken, and the beautiful horses!
To enjoy the country side Dinesh took us for a one-day hike. This was a breath-taking walking experience. Very relaxed though, we stopped wherever we wanted and had enough time to enjoy every bit of it. It is amazing how different the landscape is just outside the city: we crossed small streams, small villages, hills and desert land and marble grooves (is that the right word?). We were offered a very good lunch half-way and at the end we were picked up by a van who took us back to Krishna Ranch were we stayed for the night.

The cottages are beautifully decorated - not too much, very much in style with the environment - the views from the windows are wonderful and the beds were great!
Narani prepared dal bhati for us, she is a great person and made us feel very welcome. Try it yourself!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank abikob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
51
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

The ranch is not at all far from the city in terms of distance but is in another world in terms of relaxation. I stayed for 2 nights, and would love to return. The owner is dedicated to his work and goes out of his way to learn what guests want to do during their stay. He took me on a guided horseback ride through the local villages and back trails which was delightful. We explored some of the village on foot as he described the local customs and history. The next day he arranged for a driver to take me to the Kumbhalgarh Fort as well as the government shops. He even offered to arrange side trips to Peshwar and Jaipur. My room was huge and clean, and had many windows to let in the light. The bathroom as spotless and modern, and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. Meals come with the price of the room, and the cook does a nice job in food prep. All in all a restful haven.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank suzlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I took a 5 day safari starting from Udaipur, ending at Ranakpur with a transfer back to Udaipur.
I have never seen more immaculately kept horses. Ever. They are loved and cared for by Dinesh and his men in all aspects, well fed, well shoed, well groomed and well ridden. These Marwari horses bred and stabled at Krishna ranch are a breed found only in India. They are svelte hipped, crescent eared, long haired, tall and energetic creatures, and amazingly soft to touch.They are beautiful to look at, and a dream to ride. Bred as war horses, their stamina and willingness to go is evident from the start.
The five day safari with Dinesh and his men through small villages in and around the Aravelli ranges near Udaipur took us through crisp, clean fields of wheat, mustard seed and sugarcane, flooding the landscape in green cascades over dark streaks of stone terrace walls. A flash of hot pink in the figure of a woman bent over her work, bright blue skies and trees submerged in the flood of perfect greens and gold would delight the eye wherever it looks. Even the more spartan dusty landscape of the scythed mountainsides provides fodder for the eyes: a lone tree on the crest of a hill, standing still and bent, silhouetted, bonsai like, against the stark white of a greying sky.
There is something age old and timeless about riding through unexplored lands, past rivers and mountains, valleys and groves, where stones are loose, trees embrace and fields of flowers open up the skies in welcome of a weary and wonderstruck traveller on a horse, just moseying along.
Such were my days on safari with Dinesh, walking, trotting and cantering along, day to day, camp to camp.
Camps were well set up, mostly by rivers, and very comfortable. Fresh cooked food every night, fresh brewed chai on arrival makes for a treat after a long day's ride. And hit washing water on demand was for me, a simple, very much appreciated luxury.
Dinesh and Francine were extremely accommodating of my itinerary requests which took me from Udaipur to a puja at a temple in Jargaji, to Kumbarlgarh to visit the magnificent fort and through the Kumbarlgarh sanctuary, culminating in a visit to the intricately carved Jain temple in Ranakpur.
It was, for me, a trip if a lifetime, that is, until I return for another, and another...
Thank you Dinesh and Francine, Suresh, Jagdish, Maden, Bagu and Ragu for a wonderful adventure. And thank you, Shapna, for moving like a dream.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheilin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you are tired of cities and are looking for a little bit of Indian nature, this place is for you. Everything is perfect about it: rooms, cleanliness, staff, service. Highly recommended!

Walking to the countryside and around the lacs or just chilling out in the Terrace of tour bungalow are what I liked the most.

We also met some great people there and had a lot of fun during meals. Food is very good, it was the best breakfast we had in India!








  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melie_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Fantastic way to experience the countryside in India. Very friendly host and really tasty food. The horseriding felt safe and we also learnd a lot about the area. I can also rekomende a 5 hour long trekking to the monsoon palace, beautiful view!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Mother and daughter, both of us ride and have horses at home. Impressed from start to finish. The horses (and dogs!) were in cracking condition. Dinesh is a particularly empathic, understanding and knowledgeable horseman, who bought out the best out of the horses who were impeccably mannered, yet had spark and humour to them. They tether the horses, but let them loose individually during the day. No worse or better than stabling at home. We learned more about nutrition and feeding then we ever did at pony club or from vets in the UK. The food and accommodation is basic but wholesome. Would suggest more adventurous/ advance riders do a 2-3day trek, the 1day ride is more of a sightseeing on horseback affair, and although interesting it is a little less challenging.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jbruhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My friend and I (we're both Americans in our 20's) stayed at the Taj Lake Palace for one night, and then got picked up the next day at noon by a driver from Krishna Ranch. We were brought to a stunning yet modest ranch where we met the incredibly kind owner, Dinesh. We settled in in our cabin/room, which was much nicer than images show (hot shower, large bedroom, etc)... We then went horseback riding and enjoyed a late (DELICIOUS) lunch overlooking a gorgeous lake/mountain. The horseback riding was a blast -- I personally hadn't ridden since I was a young child, so they put me on a beginner's horse who behaved exceptionally well. When the ride was done, we got back and showered, then enjoyed a campfire outside. We also heard music and found out that it was from a nearby wedding, so we went with one of the ranch employees (in our pajamas!) and crashed the wedding, which was also a blast. Finally, we came back, went to bed, and woke up to an incredible view and breakfast, and finally were brought back into Udaipur by a rickshaw driver. Overall, Krishna Ranch was an absolute delight and showed another side to India that I am so happy I saw. I CANNOT recommend this experience enough for anyone going to Udaipur for at least 2 days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewess90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
3.4 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amantra Shilpi Resort
Amantra Shilpi Resort
#39 of 156 in Udaipur
225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#24 of 156 in Udaipur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
3.4 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,933 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krishna Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krishna Ranch

Property: Krishna Ranch
Address: Badi - Hawala Road | Near Royal Retreat, Village Hawala, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DISCOVER RURAL INDIA! The Krishna Ranch is an excellent place for everyone who wants to get away from India's busy cities and discover rural India. The ranch is located at a very peaceful spot in the Arravali mountains, just 7 kilometers out of Udaipur city. The Krishna Ranch is not a typical resort, but a living farm with 14 beautiful Marwari horses, many other animals and lush fields with a variety of crops. The cottages at the ranch are clean and spacious, nicely decorated with regional handicrafts. We serve excellent vegetarian meals, mostly prepared from vegetables grown at our ecological farm. The ranch is a great starting point for short walks and bicycle rides to the surrounding villages. We will provide a simple map of the area and packed lunches for a pick-nick on the way are available. Guided treks to the remote parts of the Arravali-mountains are also possible. The beautiful and peaceful ranch is of course also a place to just sit back and relax. There is a small library with books and games. Roomrates include breakfast and pick up from Udaipu-city at the start of your stay and drop off at the end of your stay. The main activity organized by Krishna Ranch are professionally guided horse-safaris through the beautiful Arravali mountain-range. There are possibilities for everyone: from beginners to experienced riders, from 2,5 hours to 10 days! Of course all our horses and other animals are very well looked after by us and our dedicated staff. Note that rides/guided hikes need to be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Krishna Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing