We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to have a much higher ranking that its current”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Had a family vacation (3 nights in December 2011) with two small kids and my spouse. Had taken an offer via their helpline (well in advance of our visit) - included deluxe room, free wifi, all taxes and all meals. The good points:
1) Beautiful resort with beautiful surroundings. We stayed in a deluxe room that was lake facing and the views were exceptional.
2) Room was great with all amenities expected in a 5* hotel
3) Staff was very helpful and courteous - again what is expected from hotels of reputed chains
4) We were allowed a late check out
5) Food was great and we enjoyed our buffet meals (breakfast and dinner)
Some limitations that I experienced:
1) Fluency in English of the staff is somewhat less than what you would expect in 5* hotels. Also their general knowledge about certain queries that I had from time to time regarding our booking/inclusions etc was sub-optimal. Probably a reflection of the fact that the hotel is quite new and so is the staff who are kind of learning. However, even when there was a confusion in any staff member regarding a particular query, he/she was honest enough to admit that and as promised, would invariably call back with the correct answer after clarification with a senior member. I believe as the hotel becomes older and the staff becomes more experienced, their fluency in English and general level of knowledge and confidence will become better
2) Internet: The wifi was part of our plan but was slow. There was a glitch in our connection on the day of check out but the IT person was able to help out with that.
3) Received a newspaper on the last day of our stay - got confused - why were we not given on the previous days if it was standard practice?
4) Choice of TV channels was quite small and not befitting a hotel of such a reputed chain

Overall, we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Other hotels that are ranked higher up are primarily because of their location around Lake Pichola. However, if you wish to enjoy peace and tranquility, I recommend staying around Lake Fateh Sagar which is much bigger and cleaner.

Room Tip: Room facing Fateh Sagar Lake is absolutely great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NS_chd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,258 - 2,264 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night (the new year night!), paid 15733 INR for a double bed room, where breakfast was included only (plus the usual welcome drink). Internet was extra, which it is unfortunately for most hotels but 300 plus tax, so 330 INR p.h.
But here it comes: We were not able to join the "Gala dinner" because it was fully booked, which it actually wasn't as it was outside and there would easily be space for a small table and food would have been more than enough as there was a big buffet. True we had a very late start that evening as we were travelling through Rajastan the weeks before and were pretty tired, but first hinting that the charge is still the full charge of 7000 INR per person and (the dinner started at 7pm and we were asking at 10pm) and then telling that it would have been fully booked any was deeply disappointing.
So, we tried the restaurant which at 10.57pm refused us to serve a beer as it has its licence only until 11.00pm. So this would mean that the people at the Gala dinner would have their Champagne at 12am and we would drink lemonade! Strange cutt-off times!
This led to the fact that we did not have anything to eat that night and that we were offered one drink at an empty bar, which closed as well at 11.15pm. This drink we took to the terrasse, were we were sitting alone in the dark, and watching the people at the dinner event how they celebrated the New Year in the garden having music, big buffets, big heaters and lot's of fun. Forgot to mention that we still had our little welcome bag to eat with cookies and a few sweats - not great for a dinner!!! Overall very very disappointing with no sence for the little things that make a hotel a good one to satisfy and accomodate the client. Simply saying 'no' without alternative options is impossible for a 5 Star hotel like this.
Regards,
Steven

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel is very nice n has a amazing view of the fateh sagar lake.
The staff is extremely polite n helpful. Amazing service n hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivek_sharma20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Not a bad value option in this expensive city. Rooms of good size and the property itself deserves its 5* status. Good value evening buffet for £10, especially if you like indian food. My pedicure in the spa was expensive and of poor quality. Reception staff ineffective and often promised things (eg extra sun loungers by the (unheated) pool) which were undeliverable.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Had a great stay at the new Sheraton in Udaipur...beautiful gardens and lawns. Pampered with fresh jalebis and malpuas at the breakfast buffet. And nonstop Rajasthani chaat in the evenings.Scintillating entertainment at the Coffee Shop for dinner with a duo from Panama belting out some terrific classics; also sitar/shehnai recitals in the moonlight in the big courtyard.
Staff was very new but very helpful...made our stay special!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

being a SPG GOLD MEMBER WAS THE REASON I CHOOSE TO STAY AT THIS PROPERTY.i booked a lake facing deluxe room andbeing a member was entilted for an upgrade sub to availability.however i was told that upgrade wont be given as no rooms are avble though later i found that it was vacant. it shopws the meanness of the hotel managemnt. room given to me was very tired with dirty mirror and veryavg interiors. even the showers were like in a ordinary hotel having no pressure.not expected of a hotel of sheraton .this is a very old property thouigh having a goood garden and sorrounding with lake but very badly kept room not worth the money they charge you.
however breakfast spread excellent and very goood staff there.

during our stay we found that there was a big marriage party and over 400 people landed to stay in the property. this made a mess of the whole place and this hotel looked like a dharmsla..... kind of charity home for staying. managemnt made good money out of this but it causes lot of in conveneince to the other residents.
in total this place not worth spending so much of money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The best buffet breakfast I have ever had, with many many freshly cooked options. Views were nice from the terrace of the hotel. Nice lounge/bar.

Location is inconvenient. We regretted being by the Pichola lake where the awesome views are. We had to take a taxi for dinner every night. We stayed in the Club room the first night which was luxurious, but was on the pool facing side which has a mosque across the hotel. The mosque had preaching going on loud speakers till 11:30 pm and had morning prayers (again on loud speakers) at 6 am. We got the room changed to a Deluxe lake facing room the next day which was quite below average. There were many light fixtures missing and tape marks on the edge of the mirrors.

Room Tip: The pool facing side has a mosque across the hotel. The mosque had preaching going on loud speakers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,753 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 165 in Udaipur
377 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Udaipur
Radisson Udaipur
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
304 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#13 of 165 in Udaipur
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa

Address: Near Fateh Sagar Lake | Ambamata, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Udaipur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £87 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa Boasting a location near Fateh Sagar Lake, our hotel in Udaipur is moments from the shopping districts of Hathi Pol and close to the City Palace. Resort guests enjoy on-site dining two restaurants and a poolside bar, as well as features like an on-site spa, a concierge and three flexible meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Udaipur Palace Hotel Udaipur
Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing