We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special - bog standard chain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nothing special - bog standard chain hotel”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed three nights in Jan 12. Lake view room is worth getting if available.
Arranged with hotel to have a driver meet us at airport and transport us to hotel. There were a few shiny white taxis outside the terminal but we were led to a dirty car with no seat belts or interior lights. It took a while for us to realise the headlights weren't working either. This cost over twice the price for a taxi. I raised it several times with the hotel but they didn't seem to care.
The hotel looks great from the outside but doesn't really have any character inside. As all rooms open onto the central atrium it is incredibly noisy, especially if there's a wedding disco on downstairs.
The staff are not very discreet, expecting tips for the smallest task.
Breakfast choice is good and it's a reasonable hotel to explore Udaipur area and lakes.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    685
    337
    208
    246
See reviews for
1,069
562
58
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed at this Sheraton from 11-13 January using SPG points and money.

Overall property is above average but nothing great. First, they allowed me to check in early (8a), so that was great since I had an early flight coming in. I asked for a lake view room and they gave me one, but it barely had any lake view, had to stretch to catch anything

BF was OK, it was hit and miss all three days. Some items were good,others were bad. The chaats were nice, not so much the parathas and puri-bhaji

I am SPG platinum, asked for any special amenities like free wi-fi etc, but nothing at all - or the staff did not know

Did not have any meals at the hotel, but went to the bar H2O one night. Very small and disappointing, very few options, limited seating and very sedate. Not worth it

After seeing other properties in Udaipur, clearly there are better options, but Sheraton appears to be good value for money

Limited concierge service, did not use the hotel cab

Rooms were also OK, had expected better. There is some construction going on as well

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights in December using SPG Free Nights and Cash and Points. Booked three rooms for eight of us.

Good:
• Upgraded to lake view rooms
• Rooms are nice with hardwood finish flooring
• Very friendly and courteous staff
• Very good breakfast with Indian and continental cuisine – we were given complimentary breakfast
• Happy hour for Starwood Platinum members from 5 to 7 pm every day
• Nice overall décor

Bad:
• Pool area is not very nice and the pool is not heated.
• Bathrooms need to be updated a little – nothing wrong with them as such, they just feel a little dated

Overall I thought this was a very good hotel and great value for money. It should probably look at rebranding to a Westin as I thought the standard of the hotel was far above that of a typical Sheraton. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronomer_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a very good hotel. we stayed in a single room but it was also very good.

Room Tip: The Suites are Very Cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashmeet19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I were originally booked to stay in another hotel, but our experience there was so bad that we wanted to stay somewhere else. The only place with a room was Sheraton. Upon arrival, they had already been informed of our bad experience of the night before, so they were very welcoming, they gave us a great room, the staff was very friendly and sweet. Mukesh and shweta on check-in took care of us all the way till we left. They were to attentive. The room was comfortable, with all the amenities. The hotel was packed but we were still well taken care of. They put roses in our room and a cake, and went out of their way (as this was for our honeymoon). The resort itself is very pretty and the location to the main bazaars is awsum - you can take a rikshaw from right outside the gate and it would cost about 80-100 rupees and takes about 8=10minutes to get into the heart of the bazaars. There is a lovely pool and a good view of the lake from the resort. They have a good bar aswell.

I would recommend this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottawanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a nice hotel with really nice rooms. We had some initial trouble getting a king bed room but were able to sort it out with the manager although it took some hard work. Once this was resolved they were very helpful with booking restaurants and giving good advice for tours. It's pretty and clean and well worth the affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

we spent 2 nights in the hotel and it outperformed our expectations; we had not stayed at Sheraton hotels before; food was excellent; location is just outside of the old city center which makes it a quiet place to withdraw; views from the terrace are superb; very good value for what we paid; would surely come back

Room Tip: ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlainGrillaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,675 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Udaipur
Radisson Udaipur
#19 of 157 in Udaipur
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#15 of 157 in Udaipur
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa

Property: Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa
Address: Near Fateh Sagar Lake | Ambamata, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Udaipur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa Boasting a location near Fateh Sagar Lake, our hotel in Udaipur is moments from the shopping districts of Hathi Pol and close to the City Palace. Resort guests enjoy on-site dining two restaurants and a poolside bar, as well as features like an on-site spa, a concierge and three flexible meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Udaipur Palace Hotel Udaipur
Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing