We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty on the outside, but a bit broken”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is very striking as you enter, the rooms are nicely furnished too, like most Sheratons, and the staff are all good,
but unlike any other sheraton we have ever been to - it was not maintained ie a heck of a lot of things were broken in the room.
the shower did not drain, so it leaked ALL over the floor every time, nothing you could do to stop this, just wade around the bathroom for the rest of the morning until they drained it
later.
The internet in room did not work as too far away for wifi.
the dividing screens did not work, the lights etc
to cut a long story short, just about everything we touched either broke or was already broken - the front desk were fed up with us asking for things to be fixed - maintenance
people would come along and "dummy up" fixes that would last one operation - then they'd fail again.
Sheraton also nickel and dime everyone - charge for internet etc etc.
Don;t know why they do this - just include everything in the price like the other good hotels - I used to like Sheraton and Hilton, but since this internet addition - and its not cheap, I usually avoid them - its just annoying, unless no other choice.
Oh yes, include the breakfast in price too please - other good hotels do, and its not as if you can go anywhere else!
It seems the only decent style hotel in Udaipur for the price range though.
Obviously the Leela Palace (awesome), Shiv Niwas (romantic), Lake Palace (striking) are all good and better locations (we stayed at them all) but they are at least double the price, so maybe sheraton are just not getting the volume to keep up standards.

Room Tip: all rooms really need a balcony - but none have, but ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonUdaipur, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sorry you found our property to be outdated. We do have several renovations planned which will begin over the next few months including a brand new 2,100 square feet health club, and a completely new design for our lobby and front drive, as well as some updates to our guest rooms. We hope you come back and see us in the near future and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,392 - 2,398 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

The Sheraton is a beautiful hotel on the edge of town with a view of the lake. We happened to be there during a big wedding, and apparently everyone had come from the village to celebrate. It was very noisy with kids running around the halls. The hotel security did a good job at keeping everyone under control. Fortunately (or unfortunately to some) our room looked out right over the wedding party, so we sat up in our room watching the band and festivities from our room (it was really cold outside and we did not was to impose on the party). The staff was fantastic and friendly. When we checked in we were given an upgrade since we are Starwood members. The room we were given had a horrible sewage smell. Upon my request they promptly moved us to another room, letting us choose from several that were available. They appeared to be working in the area of the stinky room later in the day, possibly to fix whatever was causing the odor. They had excellent, quick laundry service, and there always responded quickly whenever we called guest services. The concierge was very helpful recommending places to visit. One thing they need to work on is cleanliness. The area under our bed was thick with dust bunnies that blew around the room every time a draft came through the door. Fortunately when I pointed it out they came with a vacuum and cleaned it up. The gym was well-equipped and pleasant. Breakfast was awesome - I enjoyed every moment of it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaTravellingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonUdaipur, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

We are grateful to receive your feedback. Thanks for sharing it with all. We have noted all the points positive as well as negative to work upon and we believe in learning every day. Thus we will ensure that your next visit be flawless and even more memorable. We look forward to see you soon again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Spent New Years eve and a couple nights after at this resort in their club room.

Positives-
Huge property with lots of lawns and open areas for kids to play.
Lavish breakfast buffet.
The new year's eve party and brunch the following day were pretty good.

Negatives-
Washrooms are dying for an upgrade- outdated fittings, poor water pressure, hardly any hot water. Bet you won't find many club rooms with chipped bathtubs.
Wonder why they call them lake view rooms- had to strain my eyes and neck to see the lake.
Housekeeping was quite pathetic. Four phone calls were standard for anything from a bottle of water to coffee sachets.
The day we checked out the showers went dry for more than an hour in the morning and both housekeeping and front office stopped taking calls

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonUdaipur, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for sparing some time for letting us know about your experiences at Sheraton Udaipur.
I will share your positive feedback with our Food & Beverage Team to ensure they keep up the good work. As we all know change is the only constant thing on this earth. Thus, I am glad to inform you that we have already started working on our Improvement plan of the year 2012.So, please be assured that your next trip would be an even more memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

overall a beautiful property. spa is overall average. just stayed for 2 days. services are good.
room was cleaned periodically. room was good. staff overall quite friendly. food was overall nice. swimming pool did not use. used the spa, thought it was bit expensive

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allaroundtheworld05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonUdaipur, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thanks for your kind feedback. We work hard at not being a basic hotel. Hope you will give us the opportunity to host you once again at our resort and make your experience a rejuvenating one always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Walk in to this majestic property and you sure to get distracted by his beautiful view and lush greenery.But this is just like a movie trailor of a zillion bollwyood movies with big stars that look promising in the trailor, but become dissapointing within a few minutes of the movie starting.
We were at this property for a group convention , almost booking the entire hotel, but we were greeted with a cold treatment. The word co-operation and providing solutions to your guests dont exist in their dictionary, the only saving grace is the good food and some good vegeterian items in their bakery.

Check-ins- Staff is completely clueless on the kind of rooms available in the hotel, and incase your room is not available they will make you feel as if they are doing a favour by giving you a room.

Business center services- There is only 1 computer in the name of a Business center. Incase you have an emergency in the night and you want to access the net or take a print, be prepared to take your own flash light, as the caretaker takes the keys with him when he leaves work.

Room service- The hotel abides by the word room service, so incase you wish to order a cup of tea for your guests in the hotel lobby after 10pm, the tea will be delivered in your room only and you supposed to carry your own tea to hotel lobby for your guests. A 24 hours coffee shop is not available.

Rooms-The guest rooms are not very well maintained

The good things about this hotel are the food, view and a lovely hukka restaurant which serves hukka at a reasonable price.

All and all not a very happening place located next to crematorium

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonUdaipur, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Food. I am sorry to learn of your concerns during your recent stay and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. It is therefore extremely disappointing to have let you down on this trip. Please be assured that I have personally shared your feedback with our training team & all other concerned departements so we can work on taking appropriate action to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. We truly value your business and hope you will give us the opportunity to host you once again at our hotel and make your experience a rejuvenating one. Please do reach out to me directly prior to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton for three and a half days and each day helped reduce our weariness from our previous hectic travel schedule. The room was comfortable, the beds were very comfortable adn aided a good night's rest. The jacuzzi in the bathtub was an absolute delight! As for the staff, the response time for any issue was pretty good, and even in the hotel restaurant, they treated the guests with courtesy and were polite at all times. Right from the reception to the electrician who came to sort out our cable channels, everyone greeted us very politely and with a smile on their face. Breakfast was the best meal. Wish they served bacon though. The view is great and if you come in the summer, the pools are lovely too.

Room Tip: Corner suiter are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonUdaipur, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your story with us. We are glad to know that we have made your stay comfortable & enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you again and again. We hope to meet or exceed your expectations always. Thanks on behalf of the entire team of Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was surprised it was not actually a palace. We had one of the renovated rooms which was very comfortable. The hotel is not on the lake which was disappointing. View was not too good from the rooms. But hotel did a good job to maximize the lake view.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonUdaipur, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for the kind feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear that we were able to meet your expectations us on your recent visit to Udaipur. The resort was built keeping in mind the need to maintain a balance between the cultural heritage of the city as well as the comfort of our guests. We hope to see you back at the Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 175 in Udaipur
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#12 of 175 in Udaipur
491 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Udaipur
Radisson Udaipur
#20 of 175 in Udaipur
344 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#15 of 175 in Udaipur
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa

Address: Near Fateh Sagar Lake | Ambamata, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Udaipur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £93 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa Boasting a location near Fateh Sagar Lake, our hotel in Udaipur is moments from the shopping districts of Hathi Pol and close to the City Palace. Resort guests enjoy on-site dining two restaurants and a poolside bar, as well as features like an on-site spa, a concierge and three flexible meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort And Spa
Sheraton Udaipur Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing