We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel Not 5 star”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed there for 7 nights in November and it was not a pleasant experience.Outside is impressive.Lobby area resonable .It took them nearly four hours before we had a room that was reasonable as all others had some faults in it.Windows not clean,.Furniture outdated,shower area not level so water used to stay in middle as there was a slight dip in the floor,out of 42 channels on TV only 20 worked properly,The staff and some junior managment in reception area were not very receptive to our compliants.During our stay we saw nearly everyday some one complaing about something not right with rooms and most of them saying that although this is supposed to be 5star hotel its service and standards are 3 star.This hotel needs lot of work done to be a 5star hotel.It is not deffinately Sheraton brand as we have stayed in other sheraton hotels and they are much better then this one.The restuarant area and staff were good althoogh at times we had to remind some of them of what we had requested.On the current standards we will not go there again as i had to pay twice the rate I paid in other hotel where I had 5star service for 4star price.

Room Tip: All reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rameshchandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    651
    322
    200
    237
See reviews for
976
536
55
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was there at Sheraton Udaipur for an official annual offsite. Check-in was extremely smooth as it was a batch check-in. Welcome drink got lost in the crowd, door handle was faulty. Upholstery in the room seemed like very old (specially the towels) and the room had a strange stink (Room no. 2036), TV in the room was extremely difficult to operate. When asked for a toothpaste, room service came back with a counterfeit of colgate which was in liquid state and remained liquid for 3 days. First day the AC didn't seem to work, called the room service and got the filter cleaned. Breakfast had the expected variety but... hold on. Griller was burning slices, one of the guys making omlette was stranded in one corner, staff was cold and unwelcoming.

Dont wish to write anymore... Its your money, definitely either increase your budget to fit into a better property or drop it and consider a 4 star property at some other location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayush G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

If this were the first Sheraton I ever stayed in in my life, I would never stay at a Sheraton again.

We stayed here for three nights and had booked two rooms in November. The hotel looks impressive from the outside but the inside is quite the contrary. The lobby is okay but could definitely use a face lift. The rooms are pretty -- crappy. They are dark. The furnishings are old. There was a safe that read 'low battery' so it was useless. The bathrooms are basically disgusting for a 5-star hotel. The showers are caked in mildew and hard water stains. The marble is worn out. The fixtures are old.

The service at the hotel was inconsistent. The service in the restaurant was very attentive and the food was good too. The check-in process was irksome. They take your passport and they have you sit down while they check you in. I would have preferred to stand at the desk in case I had questions, to make sure they had the rooms right, to inform them of any special requests and to be in plain sight of my passports. The housekeeping was poor. Our toiletries weren't replenished on one occasion. We repeatedly asked for three towels since we had three people in one of the rooms -- the towels never came. The bathroom wasn't cleaned properly....or was it just the caked on grime -- who knows.

Since we were Starwood Gold, they were able to give us a late checkout, but we had to switch rooms. It was a minor inconvenience but I was thankful they were accommodating. Although the new room was on the lower level and had no view, it was a tad bit nicer because all the lights worked and the bathroom was cleaner. It shows you the inconsistency of the hotel. We also got free wi-fi with Starwood Gold but the service was slow and temperamental.

The hotel is located about 30 minutes from the airport and about 15 minutes from the main attractions in town. It also faces, from a distance, the less famous, Fateh Sagar Lake.

Bottom line: this Sheraton does not live up to western standards at all. If the executives at Starwood properties were to visit this location, I am certain they would drop this property from their brand. The only reason why we stayed here was because it was the only 'high-end' hotel in Udaipur which allowed three people in a room. In retrospect I should have spent the extra money for the extra room and stayed at either the Udaivilas or The Leela. You should too.

Room Tip: I saw several rooms and all of them were inconsistent in their quality. For a 5-star hotel, all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

Indore, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were here for a wedding during the first week of December 2013. The property is average but with an excellent location overlooking the lake.
The bathrooms are not designed well and it looks like that the hotel has been renovated randomly without much of planning. The bath tub fittings were not working. Our room was on the other side of the building and hence we had to walk a long way from the lift to get to the room.
The breakfast was good with a lot of variety.
All in all not a Sheraton standard property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Dark rooms with inadequate lighting, dirty linen, wifi available at exorbitant rates, poor TV reception quality, tacky coffee shop, no public transport and to top it all very indifferent front desk.
Polite house keeping. Polite restaurant staff and good food.
Zero 'value for money'. Star rating erroneous. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MumbaiReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was everything you would expect from a 'Sheraton' - nice facilities in a modern hotel.
Staff were all VERY friendly and helpful - not one failed to say good morning.
Good range of food served by a big team of staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We went with the family in the summers. the hotel was good & the swimming pool was execellent. the staff was very cooperative with us as we were around 20 people. breakfast quality was very good & were serving as per choice as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siddharthkankaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
Radisson Udaipur
Radisson Udaipur
#20 of 151 in Udaipur
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#22 of 151 in Udaipur
292 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
3.5 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#17 of 151 in Udaipur
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa

Property: Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa
Address: Near Fateh Sagar Lake | Ambamata, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa Boasting a location near Fateh Sagar Lake, our hotel in Udaipur is moments from the shopping districts of Hathi Pol and close to the City Palace. Resort guests enjoy on-site dining two restaurants and a poolside bar, as well as features like an on-site spa, a concierge and three flexible meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Udaipur Palace Hotel Udaipur
Sheraton Udaipur Palace Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing