We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A best exotic experience!”
Review of Ravla Khempur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ravla Khempur
Ranked #6 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A best exotic experience!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Arrived from Jaipur in time for the sunset through the most rural area visited so far. Much of it immediately recognisable from the film but it's so much more than that. Fantastic staff who can't do enough for you, a hundred different places to sit and read a book, beautiful horses and complete peace after dark. Plentiful hot water and back up for electricity and free wi fi. Dinner was basic veg thali and very good. 350 INR for dinner, mineral water and all tea and coffee. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franodriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    36
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
54
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Tracked this place down searching for the original Marigold Hotel, we stopped off for late lunch travelling between Pushkar and Udaipur - ended up stying the night - this is a great unspoiled place in village india. 60 % of indians still live in villages and tying here allows you to immerse in village life. The hotel is run by great staff and host, food is excellent and everyone cannot do enough for you. Walk around the village and see 21st century village life - it's excellent. Mewar horses are a treat and famous so check out the stables and many awards on the walls inside Sit back in the evening and watch the movie -great fun. If you can do so go here its agreat place and very unique and highly rewarding experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

There it was rising out of the dark night to meet us - the towering facade of Ravla Khempur AKA the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. While none of the cast were there to greet us we had a great time setting off fireworks to celebrate Diwali and later enjoyed a splendid meal on the terrace where Dame Judy had strolled. The drive through the night from Udaipur was illuminated by thousands of diya as we passed by homes, villages and temples. Next year my group is staying the night - then we will have time to watch the horses go through their paces and explore the local village. I am looking forward to writing a further review on this eccentric remnant of the past. Long may she live!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I visited this hotel whist participating on a cultural exchange programme in India (Udaipur) with chandra niwas.
We only went to visit for afew hours but it was time well spent! The hospitality of the staff was superb and anything you needed, they were very efficent. The manager (who has a kind, friendly nature) took us on a tour, showing us various rooms and areas of the hotel from scenes they shot in the movie (the best exotic marigold hotel,' which i found quite exciting. Another staff member kindly took me around the rural village, greeting the local people and taking pictures.
Obvioulsy this trip would not of been possible if it wasnt for being involved with cultural exchange programme and i really enjoyed every aspect.
My only critism is that the food could of been up to higher standards. We had a lunch put on for us which i didnt really enjoy and found quite tastless for the usual indian food, but overall it was a fantastic day and i would recommend anyone coming to stay or visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We went to the Ravla after researching the location of the film " The best exotic marigold hotel". The location is very quiet, in a rural village and about an hours drive from Udaipur - far from the hustle and bustle. There is no memorabilia from the movie, not even a photo to show any of the actors. It is questionable if any filming was done there. If you are expecting luxury, this is not the place. The rooms are large but airless and you can't open the windows because of insects. The fan has 2 speeds, fast or off. There is no hot water, wifi or AC. The staff try their hardest to accommodate your needs and are very pleasant. I think after watching the movie I was expecting something very different.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PushkarNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

For the persons looking for a different travel experience, one that will offer a fascinating glimpse into the soul of the Indian culture, look no further than the Villa Ravla Khempur. It a perfect location for a romantic getaway, groups of friends, business, family, or really anyone to have a home away from home. The Ravla is a fantastic location for parties, or musical events too. The beautiful tranquil setting is complemented by a very warm and professional staff. Nitin, Ravla's manager is the most gracious host I have ever encountered in my many travels abroad. Anything, we needed or wanted, dreamed, or hoped to do Nitin arranged with ease. My husband and myself wanted to experience the village life. Well, we not only walked throughout the village with Nitin and Mohan( Ravla's awesome and wonderful caretaker) and the talented Gunshoum (sp) but after meeting many of the villagers and school children we wanted to do something meaningful in return to thank them for opening up their lives and homes to us. May we buy school supplies for the children? Nitin and Mohan brought us to a store in town where we purchased the school supplies; enough for over sixty children and under twenty dollars. There, I thought we were through, but no, we were brought to the school to meet with the principal, teachers , and students to personally give the supplies to the students. I remain overwhelmed by the warmth and soul of this most unparalleled experience.
We also met a lovely girl named Teena whom we hired to make bracelets and necklaces for our family members back home, she even painted our hands and ankles with henna, the traditional Mehndi painting, yet another an amazing experience! Our family is thrilled with her beaded jewelry.
In the evening we went to Ravla Khempur's temple to share in the prayers, later in the evening Mohan, Gunshoum, and others sang, danced, and played music for us. Incredible!
We took cooking lessons too!
The Ravla Khempur has several painted murals, absolutely stunning architecture, many horses, cows, birds, even peacocks a plenty ( just wait until you hear their call!), a haven for those of us who adore history, natural beauty, wonderful food, and the most endearing people I have been fortunate to meet. Truly, an experience of a lifetime! Thank you so very much!

Room Tip: We had a choice when we arrived, they are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I went here in the footsteps of "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel". I wasn't expecting super luxury as I new before hand that the room did not have air-conditioning. But what I did like was the personal attention given to me Mohan, the caretaker of the place, the simple yet good food, peace and my sundowner at the nearby lake.

Its also a place for horse lovers with 3 adult horses and plently of good tracks to ride out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CymricW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
25.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
25.3 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
#38 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
25.0 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
25.3 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#46 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravla Khempur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravla Khempur

Property: Ravla Khempur
Address: Village & Post Khempur, Udaipur 313203, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ravla Khempur 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now reopened with Resaalaa Restaurant. Ravla Khempur used as The BestExotic Marigold Hotel,a british movie. The title ‘Ravla’ in Rajasthan refers to the home of a village chieftain”. In earlier days, the Ravla was the focal point of the entire village. Functions such as village welfare, collection of taxes, administration of law and order, and the initiation of festivals took place in the Ravla. Ravla Khempur exudes historical ambience and is graced with breathtaking surroundings. The lofty terraces, open courtyards, sprawling gardens, domes, arches and canopied balconies transport one back in time. Khempur village developed over the centuries to one side of the Ravla. It comprises a small, random and attractive cluster of typical rural dwellings and shops, and shaded squares where the villagers discuss the affairs of the world or share the local gossip. For the visitor, this is a side of India that has its own fascination; the cheerful welcome and natural hospitality of the village folk who ask nothing more than to enjoy a chat over a cup of tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ravla Khempur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing