We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home and the wonderful Host.”
Review of Mewargarh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mewargarh Palace
Ranked #2 of 273 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in Rizwan's guesthouse for two nights (January 2nd and 3rd 2014). First of all I have to say that Rizwan is very honest, helping and he is just good person. Even before our arrival to India he helped us so much in organising our Indian holidays. Thanks again Rizwan. About Mewargarh Palace. It is very clean place, run by wonderful family. They have also very good restaurant where each your meal is prepared just to your order. Every meal we ordered was fresh and tasty. Location of the gesthouse is just fine. It is located in walkable distance to City Palace and the Lal Gath area. The guesthouse is small and that gives it also very peaceful feel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grzes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Mewargarh Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

we spent 2 nights here.
Really clean, nice looking, good restaraunt.
The owner helped us with money exchange, bus ticket booking and many other thigs. It is not so often you can meet such a good person

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safiyulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a great stay at Mewargarh. The family who runs the Guesthouse is wonderful, the guesthouse itself is really clean and airy, and the food was really good. There were some really nice bonuses of staying here including a nice set of toiletries and honest to goodness clean towels! I also loved that the location was close to things but a bit out of the tourist area so you could definitely get more of a feel for the local area.

My only issue would be that the hotel is a bit noisy (but then again what affordable guesthouse in India isn't?). Because there are only screens in the windows you could hear everything that was going on outside and we got woken up a few times by the calls to prayer and a guest checking in really early. However, it definitely wouldn't stop us from staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were are Mewargarh Palace for 1 day and it was a worth its cost. The rooms are spacious and clean. It is an uphill location in Udaipur city. But they arrange station/airport pickup by an auto.
Its a family owned/run property with owner taking personal care of the guests. There is an in-house restaurant that provides home-made food - they can do it made-to-order as well.

The only con is that there is no lift and you would have climb the stairs. But you can ask for rooms on lower floors.

They help in arranging site-seeing and other travel arrangements.

If you are looking for a cost effective, yet clean accommodation - this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on lower floors - you would save yourself trouble of climbing up the stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agrharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

A comfortable and very well priced room with good location close to, but outside the hustle and bustle. Friendly staff who help you with everything you could need and then some. They make the place what it is. Nice rooftop restaurant that makes great pancakes (with peanut butter banana and ice cream is my recommendation.) Extremely clean, quiet and friendly place. Watch the monkeys parade around rooftops at Dusk from the restaurant or even better up near the water tanks. Great stay in a great city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

It was a pleasure to stay here! The rooms were really clean and nicely decorated. The rooftop was awesome for sunset. Such friendly and helpful staff! They made fotocopies of our passports for free to take them with us. All in all one of the best places we stayed in india!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

First and foremost, the view from the hotel is amazing!! Loved the service. The owners were very friendly.The rooms are clean and comfy. The continental food is great but the Indian food which they serve is not appropriate for an Indian. It is suitable for a foreigner's palate. One fact which might seem as a drawback for some is that the hotel is not located near any attractions and is situated on top of a hill.I personally loved staying there and would not stay at any other place the next time I visit

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amritha_hariharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Mewargarh Udaipur by Red Tullip Hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewargarh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewargarh Palace

Address: 733 Mewargarh Palace | Imlighat, Chandpole, Near Purohit Ji Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: £7 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mewargarh Palace is a family-run guest house and perfect place to stay in the heart of Udaipur. The atmosphere of guest house is very friendly. All rooms are very spacious, clean, comfortable and full of light. It is an amazing venue as from the roof you have an excellent view of City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Monsoon Palace, Old / new part of town, Havellies and surrounds Aravali range of mountains. You can enjoy Indian, Chinese and Continental food in a musical atmosphere on high roof top restaurant. It is a promise that your stay in our guest house will leave behind beautiful and joyful memories. Guest house is very close to famous Bade Purohit ji ki haveli which is between Chandpole gate and Imlighat. From airport (25 km) costs about Rs 850 in a car. From bus and train station auto-rickshaw will cost about Rs 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mewargarh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing