We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mewargarh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mewargarh Palace
Ranked #2 of 250 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best place I have stayed in India so far. It is incredibly clean even by my standards. The staff are friendly and the food is very good. If you need anything the staff are more than happy to help. They are also very polite. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    76
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
195
104
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A great hostel with wonderful people who runs it! The owners were very helpful with everything, the placement of the hostel was great! The food in their restaurant was also good. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaLassander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

One of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in in India, with the best bathroom yet. Everything is clean and freshly washed and the laundry service is also excellent. Family run they are very helpful, the place is fairly good value too. Can be a bit hard to find the place is the only downside.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here with my friend in December after reading all the wonderful reviews on trip advisor. I thought surely somewhere so inexpensive can't be as good. I was very wrong. This place is wonderful situated on a hill, with some breath taking views from the terrace. Unfortunately I got ill on my second night, and quite late at night so finding a local pharmacy was out of the question. Rizwan (our lovely host) took my friend to find a pharmacy. This gesture really touched us. The rooms are extremely clean, and the water hot! I can not recommend this place enough for visitors to Udaipur. It's in a great area, but even more so it's like home away from home. Thank you so much Rizwan and family!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiragp1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed in Mewargarh Palace in November 2013 for 3 nights. Udaipur was our first destination in India and I am so glad that we made the decision of staying at this guesthouse. India can be quite daunting at first but Rizwan and family made sure we had all the information we needed without being too pushy. We were later to realise that this does not always happen in India!

We enjoyed the food here and thought that it was very reasonably priced. The palace was a 10 minute walk from the main centre of Udaipur but did not mind the walk at all, in fact it was quite nice to stay off the beaten track and stay near locals in their day to day activities.

The rooms are basic but are very clean and there is hot water. The hotel is very safe and you are made to feel very welcome in the mewargarh.

If I ever go back to Udaipur, which I hope one day I will, I will definetly go back to Mewargarh Palace. Great value for money and far enough away from the 'tourist trap' without being too far.

Great job guys!

Calum & Gemma

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms and it was fine, no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmareilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Mewargarh Palace is conveniently located within walking distance of the City Palace.
It is on a small street, a little bit off the main street so there is no traffic noises. There are occasional noises of dogs barking, but where do you find a noiseless place in India anyway?
The rooms are great value for money and just as advertised: spotlessly clean, spacious, 24h hot water, tastefully decorated. The bed had an awesome mattress, quite firm, with a nice thick doona. Wi-Fi works really well and is accessible from anywhere around the hostel.
The owner/manager is very professional and helpful. He can give you information about things to do and see around Udaipur without being pushy or trying to sell tours. They offer various tours and activities that all seemed reasonably priced compared to what is on offer around town.
The restaurant is a great place to relax or have a look over the city. The food is ok, the prices are according to the prices you find in most restaurant in Udaipur; which are a bit higher than other cities.
I first intended to stay 2 nights and ended up extending my stay up to 5 nights. Udaipur is a great place to slow down, take it easy, enjoy a Masala Chai while watching the life go by or admiring the Lake Palace. Merwargarh Palace definitely contributed to make my stay agreeable and I would stay there again without a second thought.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are a bit cheaper but don't get as much daylight as the upstairs one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frozzie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This is a small, immaculately clean, guest house situated about 5-10 minutes walk from the town. The brother and sister who run this place, do so in a very professional manor. They are polite and helpful, if a little reserved.
The price range at the time of writing was between 550 - 700rs. The upstairs rooms are pleasant, airy, and have beautifully tiled bathrooms.
Some things you might need to consider are that the guest house is situated at the top of a fairly steep hill (no room for cars). The location is fairly quiet (with a great view of the city) but is pretty close to a mosque. This means you will get a 5.30 alarm call, with the 'call to prayer'. This didn't bother me, because even as a 'non believer', I quite enjoy hearing it. Hot water, wifi, bed, etc: all great. The restaurant is slightly more expensive than some of the places in town, but is good if you can't be bothered with the walk. Very highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mewargarh
Hotel Mewargarh
#84 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
#1 of 250 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewargarh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewargarh Palace

Property: Mewargarh Palace
Address: 733 Mewargarh Palace Near Purohit Ji Ki Haveli | Imlighat, Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mewargarh Palace is a family-run guest house and perfect place to stay in the heart of Udaipur. The atmosphere of guest house is very friendly. All rooms are very spacious, clean, comfortable and full of light. It is an amazing venue as from the roof you have an excellent view of City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Monsoon Palace, Old / new part of town, Havellies and surrounds Aravali range of mountains. You can enjoy Indian, Chinese and Continental food in a musical atmosphere on high roof top restaurant. It is a promise that your stay in our guest house will leave behind beautiful and joyful memories. Guest house is very close to famous Bade Purohit ji ki haveli which is between Chandpole gate and Imlighat. From airport (25 km) costs about Rs 850 in a car. From bus and train station auto-rickshaw will cost about Rs 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mewargarh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing