We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother staying anywhere else, this is the best place in Udaipur!”
Review of Mewargarh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mewargarh Palace
Ranked #2 of 273 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Mewargargh Palace is an absolute gem. Everything about our stay here was enjoyable and relaxing. The family that run the guest house are friendly, helpful and some of the nicest people we have met in India.

The rooms are large, clean and have hot water whenever you want it. The location is great, 5 minutes and you're in the centre of the Old City and at the gates to the City Palace. The place feels very safe and secure, we didn't need to worry about leaving our electronics in the room at all.

The incredible hospitality here meant we stayed longer than we had planned, we didn't want to leave! The food is good and affordable, ask if you can check out the view from the highest point of the roof, it's breathtaking.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bryony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Mewargarh Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had a wonderful experience at Mewargarh. Owners were always looking to make our experience better, the rooftop breakfast was awesome! Travelled with exchange students from IIM-A and would recommend to anyone visiting. Amazing value

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtoronto9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I am really glad I booked this excellent hotel. We arrived early in the morning by train, got picked up and could immediately rest in our rooms. Everything is very clean, the bathroom is big and modern, western standard.
The hotel is situated in a quiet neighborhood, with no traffic noise.
The rooftop restaurant is good, we really enjoyed the breakfast in particular. You also have a perfect view over the old parts of Udaipur and can gaze at sunrise and sunset, or just watch the neighborhood's kids fight each other with their self made kites.
The owner is a very relaxed and helpful person, that organizes nearly everything for you.
I really miss Udaipur and this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinzano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in Mewargarh Palace for three nights (25-28 Feb) to relax in Udaipur, wrapping up our Indian trip. It was rather easy to find the guesthouse. The room we got was very very nice. It has hot showers and a ceiling fan. We didn't book a room with AC because it is winter. It gets cooler in the evening. But nothing at all like Canada. O yeah, there were small packages of shampoo, toothpaste, and lotion, provided in the room - which is a very thoughtful touch! The guest house has an amazing view of Udaipur on its roof top. Love standing on the guest house's water tower and watch the sunset. The food on its roof top restaurant is rather pricey in comparison to other cities in India. However, it seemed like the prices are the same throughout the city. Nonetheless, the food we ate there was delicious and big portions. Rizwan, his sister, and his family were hospitable hosts. We highly recommend Mewargarh Palace.

Regards,
Ramli.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This cosy guest house is fun by a lovely family. They are warm and welcoming and always happy to arrange anything. The room facilities are comfortable although basic, as in much of India, but they are very good value for money. There is hot water whenever you need a shower. They can also make tasty meals for you at a reasonable price. The guest house is a 5 minute walk from the tourist centre of town, although given the narrow laneways it can be quite hard to navigate in Udaipur!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbernhaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best place I have stayed in India so far. It is incredibly clean even by my standards. The staff are friendly and the food is very good. If you need anything the staff are more than happy to help. They are also very polite. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A great hostel with wonderful people who runs it! The owners were very helpful with everything, the placement of the hostel was great! The food in their restaurant was also good. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaLassander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Mewargarh Udaipur by Red Tullip Hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewargarh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewargarh Palace

Address: 733 Mewargarh Palace | Imlighat, Chandpole, Near Purohit Ji Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: £7 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mewargarh Palace is a family-run guest house and perfect place to stay in the heart of Udaipur. The atmosphere of guest house is very friendly. All rooms are very spacious, clean, comfortable and full of light. It is an amazing venue as from the roof you have an excellent view of City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Monsoon Palace, Old / new part of town, Havellies and surrounds Aravali range of mountains. You can enjoy Indian, Chinese and Continental food in a musical atmosphere on high roof top restaurant. It is a promise that your stay in our guest house will leave behind beautiful and joyful memories. Guest house is very close to famous Bade Purohit ji ki haveli which is between Chandpole gate and Imlighat. From airport (25 km) costs about Rs 850 in a car. From bus and train station auto-rickshaw will cost about Rs 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mewargarh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing