We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mewargarh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mewargarh Palace
Ranked #2 of 248 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a recommendation to stay here from a fellow traveller and it didn't disappoint! The food at the rooftop restaurant was good and with views of the city. It's really close to the main attractions and they arranged for a taxi for us to go to the Ranakpur temple and the fort aswell which was a great day. You won't be disappointed one of the best sleeps we had in India, good rates and lovely helpful staff!

Room Tip: It's hot at the moment so try and get one that does'nt get the sun all day! We were upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler_deallio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    76
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
195
104
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is one of the places I've stayed in in India. Not only do you get a great view on the city, but it has everything you need. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They help no matter what time you plan on arriving or leaving. They arranged the taxis for us to get to the Monsoon palace and prepared excellent food. Rooms are clean. Walking distance from the main siute. They have everything you can ask for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my three night stay at Meraw Palace. It's discreetly located at the top of a hill, around five to ten minutes safe walk to the City Palace.

The brother and sister that run the place are very friendly and incredibly helpful, whether that be with booking a bus ticket or assisting with local knowledge.

My room was very clean as was the bathroom which had a hot shower via the solar tank on the roof. Good food also, served on the very nice roof terrace overlooking the city.

Could not fault my stay! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morph2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Mewargarh Palace is a very nice place to stay. Well run by a family that is very helpful and kind.
I arrived in the middle of the night (5am) and they did their best to accommodate me immediately.
The place is clean (under any standard) and the rooms are spacious. Internet is included and works well.
Upstairs there is a restaurant with reasonably prices (Udaipur is more expensive regarding food than the rest of Rajasthan).
They can book bus tickets also.
A bit difficult to find on your own, but rickshaw drivers now. Udaipur is a maze of alleys that can be confusing, but one way or another you always reach your destination.
Definitely the place to stay in Udaipur.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The hostel offers the best value for money I have seen in India so far. The rooms are spacious, clean (almost luxurious bathrooms)and since the location is a bit off the main tourist streets also quiet. Only minus is the difficulty to find the place on your own - but if you ask for a pick up from the airport or trainstation there won't be any problems. The owners are friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the atmospheric rooftop restaurant was also tasty:)
So its a perfect place to stay in Udaipur!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JG161290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Mewargarh Palace is a fantastic guest family run guest house, the family are very kind and helpfull and the rooms are spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, being one of the highest buildings in town it also offers fantastic panoramic views of the city. Keep up the good work

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Henry625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I've been backpacking in India for more than two months now, staying at dozens of budget-friendly hotels and guesthouses based on TripAdvisor and Lonely Planet recommendations. Mewargarh Palace is easily the best of them all. Here's why:

- CLEAN & TASTEFULLY DECORATED ROOMS. Not just "India clean." Actually clean. Spotless, in fact. Clean bed linens, clean trash cans in every room, dear God even the ASHTRAY was clean. And the walls, which appeared to be freshly painted, were decorated with local handcrafts.
- HOT SHOWERS. Not lukewarm. Not a bucket shower. Actual, glorious hot showers, 24 hours a day. Oh and they use solar power to heat the water. <3
- FAST IN-ROOM WIFI. Fast enough for Skype, downloading podcasts, watching YouTube videos, etc. I haven't clocked download speeds but I'm pretty sure this is the fastest wifi I've had in all of India.
- FRIENDLY. The family that runs this guesthouse is just lovely. They truly want you to enjoy your stay, and they bend over backwards to make you feel at home.
- GREAT FOOD, NICE VIEW. The rooftop restaurant might not boast the greatest views in all of Udaipur, but it is a nice place to relax and plan your day while enjoying a fine meal at a reasonable price.
- LOCATION. Just a ~10 minute stroll through charming residential alleyways and you will reach the Jagdish Temple, picturesque Lake Pichola, the Bagore Ki Haveli Museum, and a footbridge that takes you to Hanuman Ghat.

And last but not least...
- VALUE. For this level of quality, they could easily charge double the price. But they don't, because they're awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NasNaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mewargarh
Hotel Mewargarh
#84 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewargarh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewargarh Palace

Property: Mewargarh Palace
Address: 733 Mewargarh Palace Near Purohit Ji Ki Haveli | Imlighat, Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mewargarh Palace is a family-run guest house and perfect place to stay in the heart of Udaipur. The atmosphere of guest house is very friendly. All rooms are very spacious, clean, comfortable and full of light. It is an amazing venue as from the roof you have an excellent view of City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Monsoon Palace, Old / new part of town, Havellies and surrounds Aravali range of mountains. You can enjoy Indian, Chinese and Continental food in a musical atmosphere on high roof top restaurant. It is a promise that your stay in our guest house will leave behind beautiful and joyful memories. Guest house is very close to famous Bade Purohit ji ki haveli which is between Chandpole gate and Imlighat. From airport (25 km) costs about Rs 850 in a car. From bus and train station auto-rickshaw will cost about Rs 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mewargarh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing