We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ambience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chunda Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambience!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at Chunda Palace Udaipur for 3 days with my family and have to admit just liked the way the hotel has been decorated. Very large spacious rooms with good facilities and an amazing view from their rooftop restaurant. The problem I see and I think the hotel management should start thinking more seriously about is sustainability. They were not very efficient in their breakfast services and the restaurant food was just not good. A little expensive !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellogue_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    165
    45
    18
    19
See reviews for
190
197
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
374 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Hi, The hotel itself is a museum, where you can sleep. The comfort and service are therefore somewhat left behind. We stayed in a number of market hotels before and after and where not too much concerned on this hotel. Though if you have picked this hotel as the prime of your Indian yourney, you may feel somehow disappointed in the end. However please do not book this hotel by A-1 Travel and Tours as this travel agency appears to be a uninterested, hostile and aggressive agency. Try to avoid this agency of Javed Kahn at all time as he is really a nightmare to deal with in case anything goes wrong. Ch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

After a long journey we arrived to a warm welcome and very efficient service. We can confim everyones comments regarding wonderful rooms, swimming pools etc. We could not fault the service we received - very good. Breakfast was fine - evening meals (we only ate Indian a la carte) were excellent. The views from the upstairs restaurant and the outside pool terrace are fantastic. Grab one of the little outside alcoves for a very atmospheric meal. Food was reasonable value too. My only tiny niggle was the defunct multi-gym and poor treadmill. I think they need a little help with fitness expectations. Thoroughly recomended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manandfamilyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The opulent rooms are spacious and luxurious, and beautifully painted with wall murals. The furniture has a good level of quality and was comfortable as well.
The deco was almost too perfect and 'made-up', truly a different perspective to the older hotels that attempts to maintain the old charm of a city.
View from the rooftop restaurant is beautiful and service there is great and prompt. Service at the lobby area is a little on the down side though, their responses were a little lethargic and slow reaction to situations. While clearing the bills, we had to wait 20 minutes for the receipt and a 'good excuse' of "sorry we don't have small change". It wasn't much, so we just left.
The location of the hotel is far off from the main attractions, but it is a good escape from the chaos and noise of the streets on the outside.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tan-jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

when i got in the hotel i felt like i was a maharani in a very beautiful and decorated rooms .. marble floors the walls were very beautifully painted .. lovely furnitures ... the space of the bath rooms were really big and the food was typical indian food but gourmet.. and i would like to come again .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manashari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights. Best part was the property, very specious & luxurious rooms ,swimming Pool and bright colours every where, palace kind of feel !
Bad part was food and service! They have complementary BF but they served almost same breakfast (same juice , poori, idle etc..) for 3 days and quality is also not good ! Room service , menu is very limited !
Service- I felt like, they are just doing their duty ! Not really feeling the requirements of the guest! You need to chase them to get the service!
Place is bit far way from the city (sight seeing and restaurants) u need to have your own transport ( Auto’s are also available in front of the hotel, but be ready to pay as demanded by them)!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelmadeeasy, Public Relations Manager at Chunda Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thanks for taking out time to review Chunda Palace and appreciate the Architecture. Please be assured that we have taken a note of your suggestions and we shall consider them in near future. Look forward to have you at Chunda Palace again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

What's great about the Chunda Palace are the size of the rooms. For the same price as an older, normal-sized luxury hotel room in the old city, you can get a huge suite with 2 bathrooms at the Chunda Palace. So, it's amazing for a family or group who needs a little bit more space and privacy!

The rooms are all well-appointed, quality bathrooms, quality beds, sheets, etc. So, once in the rooms it's very very comfortable.

However, I found the hotel overall (outside the rooms) to have a weird vibe. To me, the decor felt too ornate, too new, not quite authentic, not at all "charming." It felt like a ton of money had been spent to make it look perfect, but somehow there wasn't any soul to the place. This, combined with the fact that the hotel isn't actually in the old city of Udaipur (it's a 20 minute walk), made for a big disadvantage.

Personally, if I was traveling to Udaipur again, I'd prefer to stay in the old city in a place with a little more charm, and in a place where I was seconds away from the shops, restaurants, and small lanes.

However, Chunda Palace was good for us on this trip as we were 3 traveling together and it was nice to have the extra space.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelmadeeasy, Public Relations Manager at Chunda Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you so much to stay with us, we definitely look forward to have you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 156 in Udaipur
316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Property: Chunda Palace Hotel
Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki Magri | near Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing