We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with unbeatable views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chunda Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This was a nice surprise during our India tour. The elegant and grand interiors are a reason to stay there -- and the unbeatable 360 degree views from the rooftop restaurant and lounging areas are a reason to not leave. The hotel is on a small hilltop and overlooks the Oberoi and Trident's gardens with views of the city palace and Lake Palace Hotel, the lakes and surrounding mountains. The staff was quite helpful (one housekeeping staff even tailored a salwaar kameez for me in 20 minutes including a fitting for no charge). An improvement for this type of hotel would be the inclusion of a small spa or the ability to have services come into the hotel. Using the Trident's services next door was ok, but not really a desirable option. We were initially concerned about being too far from the old city but it was only a quick tuk-tuk or car ride away and the location actually provides the best views of the old city. It was enjoyable and a good value for the money. We would definitely stay here on a return visit.

Room Tip: Our second-floor bedroom was opulently grand but cozy with a spa bathroom -- on par with western fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValGalNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

This hotel is a modernised noble home converted to a hotel. The carved wood and ivory doors Wood and sliver carved furniture ,carved wall panels and paintings all give you an idea of how the nobles lived.Service is friendly and efficient.
The roof top pool and dining area is romantic.Compared to other palace hotels this is very reasonably priced and good value

Room Tip: I preferred the ambience of the older section with the carved walls in the room and paintings to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Positives:
This was a palace that has been converted to a hotel. It is amazingly beautiful, our room had incredible hand painted murals that were very impressive.
The views on the roof were amazing.
The food was very good, although expensive for India (a given when staying at a hotel of this quality).
The staff was helpful and friendly.
Negatives:
The location is a bit weird, I felt we were in the middle of nowhere. It was a quick ride to get to the main part of the Udaipur however, it usually was only 70 rupees by auto-rickshaw. We walked it a couple of times too.
The bathroom smelled of mildew.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheeser73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Very interesting hotel, in a former palace of cousin of the Maharaja of Udaipur. The room was richly decorated and very good amenities. The rooftop pool and restaurant has a wonderful view to a garden (of the neighbouring hotel Udaivilas) and also to lake Pichola and its palaces.
The staff is helpful.
The location is very good because its near the old city but it is in a very quiet area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jairom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed at Chunda Palace on Christmas Eve 2011 for 2N 3D with my family. We had a great time at the palace. All the rooms are unique in itself with versatile architecture in each one of them. We stayed in Grand Imperial Suit and Royal Imperial Suit. Apart from the rooms, the view from the 4th & 5th floor is amazing. Its a place to relax and enjoy peace outside of the tense life in metros. The food was also very good weather breakfast or dinner. The best part was that the staff was very supportive and courteous. We enjoyed more staying in the palace rather than visiting the tourist places in Udaipur. On the whole, we had a memorable getaway at the Chunda Palace. I will definately recommend this palace.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manobhav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at Chunda Palace Hotel for 3 Nights and 4 Days in October of 2011 during the Diwali Holiday.

We were 5 families and had booked 5 rooms with them. We had a great experience especially the service and friendliness of the staff. The other amazing thing was the view and sitting on the terrace. Great view of Udaipur, the city palace, lake palace and Jag Mandir.

Only two points of issue were that two rooms had to be shifted one before the first night and the other after the first night due to problems in the bathrooms. The other issue was the staff being completely overwhelmed during breakfast on two mornings; the hotel wasn't even full.

Overall a great place to hang out and chill, especially on the terrace. It is a little far from the tourist sites in Udaipur but so is the Trident hotel which is next door so not a big deal. We all would definitely recommend Chunda Palace.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KunalChoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

One goes to Rajasthan & does not spend a night in a palace has not completed his trip. While this property is a bit expensive, it definitely is an experience to be at. Every nook & corner of this property makes you feel more like a king. The feeling multiplies once you enter the rooms... They're spacious, grand & well-decorated. While they would get too huge for people frequently travelling for business purpose, for a group of people who our out there just to have a good time, the rooms are truly amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parikhshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 175 in Udaipur
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 175 in Udaipur
3,187 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#12 of 175 in Udaipur
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki Magri | near Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: £113 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing