We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When will they serve us food?????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chunda Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I do not want to comment on the quality of rooms, as I have not stayed there. I had an opportunity to enjoy a dinner at their roof top restaurant recently. The ambience is great and food quality is amazing. No doubt, it will offer you a scintillating view of the beautifully lit Palaces and lakes. But the saddest part is that once you order your food they will never serve you till you are really hungry and angry!! It took them nearly one and half-hours to serve us despite of repeated requests. We felt as if the chef dozed off soon after our order has been placed!! Another guest just started yelling at the poor waiter just for the bills, who in turn started running like a fox out of cage!! Use their restaurant only if you have plenty of time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DinRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TME_Hotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Chunda Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you, unfortunately your visit to Chunda Palace was on the day when whole of city had the peak rush because of Diwali Holidays. The delay must have been because of houseful situation. In regular days, we are sure of the prompt services.

Do give us an opportunity to have you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at this very unusual hotel for just one night on October 28,2012 and wish we had spent longer during our week long golden triangle tour.
Although we arrived early in the morning our room was ready and we could have a shower and breakfast before beginning our tour of Udaipur.The staff were very helpful and there was free internet...the only hotel during our tour and subsequent week in goa which offered this.
Our room with its four poster bed was very unusual and it took a bit of getting used to closing the double doors to the room and locking with a padlock. Other reviewers have described the hotel and rooms accurately.
The rooftop was a fabulous location to sit out and also have dinner. The food was delicious in the restaurant and the location overlooking the lake was stunning.
I would recommend this hotel if you want unusual decor and great views.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbiebreslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TME_Hotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Chunda Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thanks for the appreciation, we love to see our Guests happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from 26th-28th October with family in historic suit. The suit is exclusively designed like a king's bedroom. It had an open terrace also. The decor, ambience, roof-top pool and restaurant with a view of Lake Pichhola were fabulous. Stay here and feel like a king.

Room Tip: Historic and Heritage suits are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We ate every evening in our Hotel With food that we shall never forget. As we sat on the balcony awaiting dinner the Dragon flies were buzzing around like tiny helicopters lighting up the sky.
The evening meal accompanied by the stunning views made the whole experience unforgetable.
My wife Glenda wanted to take a cookery course in the city. Upon hearing of this the Executive Chef Arun Bhardwaj arrived at our table and invited Glenda to join him and his other Chef's in the kitchen at 9.30 am where glenda learnt all about cooking and making Indian sauces.
The hotel is without doubt the best and most freindly hotel we have ever stayed in.
The reason we think that it is called Chunda Palace is that the ambience and interior are the closest you will come to a real palace.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed at chunda palace for two nights,this place is a great example of rajasthani art and hospitality. People say that the art work that was done 200 years ago cannot be done in today's world this place is a contradicting example to all the people who have said this, if you want to experience the luxury of staying in a palace with grand rajasthani hospitality then chunda palace is the place to stay. The restaurant on the terrace has a grand view of the beautiful pichola lake and the food is just awesome, i tried continental as well as indian cuisine and both were just too good.
The rooms are grand and spacious the bathrooms are even bigger and equipped with jacuzzi tubs and huge rain showers. The housekeeping and room service was just perfect to match the standards of any grand 5 star or 7 star hotel, when i returned to the room in the evening i found some cookies wonderfully displayed in the room they were scrumptious, the beds were well made and very comfortable.
I will recommend chunda palace to anyone travelling to udaipur because this place is a grand palace with all the modern facilities and is very inexpensive compared to all the 5 star luxury hotels that are there in udaipur.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Himanshu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

friends the most remarkable thing about this hotel is its plush interior with rich ambience, u feel like u r in a palace the rooms swanky,its got beautiful terrace top pool with a great restaurant and a top notch bar by the side u can have a very romantic dinner on the terrace out in the open.the whole hotel reminds u of the golden era gone by with its old and authentic furniture
paintings and colorful walls .friends this is a true heritage hotel right next to trident with a great location so don't miss it.i wish to thanks his highness(the owner) and all the staff for making my holiday memorable.regards khyaman

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Spent two nights here in September (should have stayed longer) on a roadtrip around Rajasthan. The entire property is so elaborately decorated, it's almost overwhelming. Service was impeccable, room was incredible, food was some of the best we found anywhere in India. But the prize is the gorgeous rooftop dining/bar area and the rooftop pool area, just the place to spend a balmy Indian evening.

Room Tip: The incredibly decorated ceilings present a whole new perspective for insomniacs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 165 in Udaipur
1,066 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#30 of 165 in Udaipur
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki Magri | near Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 212 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: £99 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing