We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious Rooms, Great Food!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chunda Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chunda Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Luxurious Rooms, Great Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

It was my second visit to Udaipur, and the stay at Chunda was suggested by a colleague.Top of the mind, its a great place to be at and relax. Specially the terrace during night.The open air dining area just next to the swimming pool gives one a lovely view of the city palace and lake.The hospitality of the staff is outstanding. Rooms are big enough and comfortable too depicting old architecture. And to top it all the food served is awesome. Though the place is a little outside of main city and a taxi/cab is must, the overall experience was quite nice and warm.
Cheers!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ishubhasin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    157
    43
    18
    19
See reviews for
173
188
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

For me this was a first time in India and also a first time in a palace hotel. After Jaipur and Agra Udaipur felt more pleasant and calm city. Actually Chunda Place is not a real old palace but some kind of new building with old Indian style. I found it little bit kitschy way to do things. Perhaps not all people think that way. It tries to be some kind of upscale place but it really is not. However the room was spacious and decorated with very Indian style. Everything worked well but the view from the room was dull (empty plot full of trash). The breakfast offered quite wide variety of Indian food and the restaurant located on the top of the building. If I ever visit Udaipur second time (which is not likely) will stay in Oberoi or Trident which are next the Chunda Palace.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aboensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Pulling up to Chunda Palace, I felt a bit like a movie star. It was an oasis in the desert of backpacking I'd been doing for the past two weeks. As Udaipur was the last stop on my Rajasthan tour, we thought we'd splurge on a bit of luxury. We were not disappointed.

We were welcomed in reception with leis, a cold cloth for face and hands and a beautiful glass of fruit juice. After a quick check in, we were shown through the opulent and beautifully hand painted hotel to our complimentary upgraded suite. Every little girl's princess dream came true when I walked in. Fit for a princess!

The next two days was filled with wonderful hospitality, great food, amazing service and the constant feeling that I was an appreciated member of the family. The pool facilities are amazing complimented by vast and inspiring views of the entire area. I am leaving feeling refreshed, and a little bit like royalty!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyTheN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

After a few weeks traveling on a budget in Rajasthan we decided to spurge a little in the beautiful city of Udaipur. What a hotel!

Right when we arrived we were welcomed in style with wreaths, a cold towel, orange juice, cookies, and a free upgrade to their Palace suite!

The hotel is based on old Mewari architechture and is designed like a maharajas palace of old. The fixtures and fittings are beautifully arranged and feel like they are in tone with the style of the palace.

The staff are curtious, friendly, and very attentive. You feel like you are the only guest in the palace.

The palace isn't cheap by Indian standards but if you want to feel like a movie star for a respectable budget then this is the place in Rajasthan.

I could not reccomend them highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

It is an amazing hotel. Excellent rooms, great service, and a perfect location. The rooftop views are jaw-dropping as is the setting for the open-air dining. A true palace. We recommend it most highly!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

This hotel is exceptional looking inside and out. The interior decorating is totally over the top in a way that is completely up my alley. On the kitschy side maybe, but I adored it!!! The views from the rooftop are magnificent.

The rooms are huge and richly ornamented.
The jaccuzzi means just some of these buttons in your shower or bath and don't work too well, so don't set ur expectations high on that.

Also breakfast and food is very poor, both in quality as in variety.

Another thing that I did not like were the doors of the rooms and how they had to be closed and locked. All in a sort of medieval and extremely noisy way. This could be modernized.

But the looks of the hotel are unique and the staff was friendly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangobabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

it would be nice to have spa facilities as it is an excellent place to relax and enjoy the
wonderful scenic views from the chunda palace hotel.it has been a wonderful and the most enjoyable moments so far. the staff especially have been so cooperative in every manner.
they have dealt with promptness and grace and have made us feel royal.
keep up the good work and maintain the legacy which you have worked so hard for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dharmistha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#20 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,820 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Property: Chunda Palace Hotel
Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki Magri | near Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing