We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garishly beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chunda Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Garishly beautiful”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Huge spaces within the complex are painted with bold colours and motifs. Walls and ceilings are adorned with paintings from folk tales. Has excellent views of the lake Pichola and the city palace from roof top. But none of the rooms have any viwe whatsoever.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babusyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    172
    45
    18
    20
See reviews for
196
202
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

HI,
i was reffered to this hotel via friend who happens to be known to the owners also, i was dicey before but when i read reveiws i was bit confident . as i entered the hotel . i was awe struck with the ethnic work on the wall and the craveture made by the owner of the hotel.

reception :- The staff at the reception was bit less welcoming and trust me it take them ages to smile. check-inn was smooth.
room:- awestruck , room sizes can be compared to uday vilas(top 5 properties in the world) beautifull paintings and cravetures on the wall. very good bathroom.
the only thing rooms lacks in is the view rest everything is perfect.

restaurant :- roof top restaurant is the best thing in the hotel a must must must go place and food is also upto the mark. service i found is bit.

staff :- the lower staff as in the cleaner and bell boy are very good and very smilling i dont remember the name one was kalal and the other one was at the night duty.
medium level position staff are evry good. just that have to work on the reception staff.

i ordered for a knife as i wanted to cut my bday cake it took them one hour to get it. i stayed in room no. 201 on 25th and 26th night.

hotel :- a very beautifull hotel a must must stay if you really want to enjoy the udaipur paintings and glass work and have a feel of a palace. its the best bet.

Room Tip: palace room are decent big but try a royal suite and definatelly try roof top swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamanJ2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at hotel the chunda palace, its an amazing heritage property with all modern amenities, rooms are not below from my grandma's fairy tail, food is awesome specially continental food rather than any other hotel in Rajasthan.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveofparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we had a lovely experience in udaipur . mainly because of our stay at Chunda Palace. it is a very well planned hotel which made as like its our home. thanks you for your wonderful service all the staff members were very very warm. the hotel is beautiful and we do not fine like leaving hoping to come back soon thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madrika_sonali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It was my first visit to Udaipur and I was amazed by the charm of the city, when I got inside the Chunda Palace I was more in love with the hotel thn the city. The lobby has some great art on the walls and even the sealing had great designs. The roof top restaurant is just fantastic, the decor, staff, view of the city palace, fresh air (away from pollution) very rare, every thing was just perfect.
I would suggest the management to work on the service standards and the promptness of the staff at the restaurant. But this can not be compared with the magical experience of the hotel.
I do not feel that the property is a heritage hotel but it has all blends of cultures in Udaipur so one can not feel the modern touch. The room has all the basic necessities.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different in the nature, but facing towards the palace are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenVZ266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed at the Chunda Palace for 3 Nights / 4Days. This Hotel is just located adjacent to the Oberoi Udai Villas and Trident Hotel. Around 2 kms from the City Palace. 7 kms from the Udaipur Railway Station. Auto will charge around Rs 200 and Cars around Rs 300. We had reached Hotel around 8.30 AM, 3.5 hrs in advance of the Check-in time. The Staff were very courteous and gave us an early check-in into the Palace Room booked for us. Although the room had all the amenities, but the washroom had a very stinking smell and the jacuzzi was not working. After we complained to the reception about this, we were provided with another Palace Room in the Heritage wing. Mr. Arbind Prasad, the Floor Manager assured us that next day, if possible, he will upgrade us to a Suite Room. By next day evening, we were upgraded to the Suite Room. This suite was fabulous. The staff and service quality was good. Food was tasty and not too much expensive. The 360 degree views from the Roof Top Restaurant were awesome. The interiors of the Hotel have traditional paintings and art work. On our last day, Mr. Arbind also gave us a tour of this Heritage Property which was very nice. We really appreciate Mr. Arbind’s services. We had a very nice stay at the Hotel and I will definitely recommend this property to my friends and family. This is a relatively new Hotel and they are continuously improving their standards.
Note: This property has No Lake View Rooms. But from the Roof Top, it has stunning views of the Lake Pichola, City Palace, Lake Palace, Sajjan Garh Fort, Jagmandir Palace Island etc. Especially candle lit dinner on the open roof terrace is fabulous with the illuminated views of the palace and lake.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Try for the Palace Rooms in the Heritage Wing and the Suites. They have the best interiors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nura30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed in chunda palace in august this year it was wonderful stay Hotels rooms were really big in size, Staff was really very helpful & courteous.Food was excellent ..we enjoyed the terrace Overall Relaxing stay at the Hotel The Chunda Palace,Udaipur is one of the best properties to visit in Rajasthan for its location and surroundings . i totally recommend this property worth staying .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vshjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,706 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 161 in Udaipur
3,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#33 of 161 in Udaipur
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Property: Chunda Palace Hotel
Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki Magri | near Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing