We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chunda Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Is the Chunda Palace Hotel good? No, it's astonishing and stunning. Beautifully appointed with enormous traditionally styled rooms plus incredible quality food and exceptional service.

The staff were very friendly, polite and prompt with any requests. An exceptional hotel. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    168
    45
    18
    19
See reviews for
195
200
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Its a nice hotel sharing same wall as the Udaivilas. The rooms decor is vintage Indian palace style, the bathrooms are nice. All basic necessities are taken care of, however.... The quality of service, rude staff & food quality make it poor. The restaurant on the rooftop is beautifully set by the pool with amazing views but is heavily under staffed!!! Need an to revisit service basics!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhilesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Chunda is a great hotel. Very nice locatio with direct lake view, very nice view of Udaipur from the top, wide rooms, nice swimming pool on the top, very kind personnel. We stayed at Chunda only for a night, but when we left we were already thinking of coming back for a relaxing vacation of at least 3-4 days. We will remember Chunda, its charming and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carltasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The moment you step inside this hotel you realise this is something different. The overly decorated walls and elaborate furnisher is all over-the-top. All inside walls and ceilings are either hand-painted or elaborately decorated. You feel over stimulated at first, but as you get used to it, you start to marvel at the actual beauty of the place.
Our room was huge with a build-in sunbed in the bay window. The bathroom is functional beyond the over-the-top design.
The rooftop restaurant, pool and bar area is spectacular!!! You will not get a better 360 degree view of the amazingly beautiful Udaipur.
Restaurant offering is average although the service is friendly and helpful.
The Palace is close to the old town centre.

Room Tip: Don't use the tuk-tuk's in front of the hotel. They charge way too much. Rather take a sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel with much attention given to any detail. The decor truthfully conveys the Old India spirit while the services are modern and efficient and can appeal to any test. It is shame that in their grounds (at the entrance) they have quite a large shop, Rama Art Gallery that took our money and failed to send an item we bought (a marble bowl) and to respond all our mails. This is in contrast to a small ironsmith workshop run by 2 brothers (K.G.Soni & Gourav Soni that made all efforts to deliver. We enjoyed our stay but our Rama Gallery experience left a very bitter test as we found ourselves playing again the role of a dumb tourist that is preyed upon by the very people that make their livelihood from tourism. Sorry Chunda Palace, in spite of your better efforts (and investment) we will NOT return to Udaipur!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What a hotel, or should I say palace! We really feel like royalty here. The room was gigantic as was the bathroom. The service was noteworthy and the views from the roof-top restaurant and pool were breathtaking.

What makes this hotel stand out is the amazing artwork. We were blown away by the intricately hand-painted ceilings and walls. It was amazing to see the ongoing work by the artisans. This day and age, we simply don't see this kind of workmanship.

We highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently got married at the Chunda Palace in Udaipur. Abhinav, Pradeep and team were absolutely fantastic in arranging and delivering my most perfect wedding.

I had visited the Palace in July 2013 where my mum and I were absolutely stunned by the magnificent Palace. They were able to show us some of the guest rooms and we couldn't get over how big and grand they were. We were planning a wedding of 100+ guests flying from all over the world, but most of our guests were coming from the UK. The first thing I went to check was the bathrooms - most hotels have a great room but let themselves down when it comes to the bathroom, I can tell you that the Chunda Palace bathrooms and rooms were all of 5 star quality.

We booked the entire Palace with all of the guest rooms for our 3 day wedding with all guests staying in the Palace and all events taking place at the Palace. Abhinav and his team helped me plan the wedding and I dealt directly with them on all aspects of decor, menu and wedding package. Everything was arrange in 6 months leading up to the wedding in February 2014 with all communication being done via email (a method of communication I preferred). I had a total of 5 events over the course of the 3 days and utilised the various terraces and halls for my events that not one event was in the same area.

Every room in the Palace is unique and has antique furniture. The beds are amazing, and the 4 poster king bed in my suite was great. Even though we had a whole suite with 3 beds for myself and my 2 sisters, we still all slept in the huge bed!!

The food was absolutely gorgeous, our wedding event menus, lunch and breakfast was spectacular, all of our guests were raving about the food and the desserts were delicious.

The team were amazing and I cannot find anything bad to say about Chunda Palace. It's now been 6 weeks since the wedding and I can tell you that all of our guests have not stopped talking about the wedding and Chunda Palace. We hope to return for another visit sometime soon.

Whether you are looking to book Chunda Palace for a holiday or wedding, you will not be disappointed. Nothing is too much for the team and all you have to do is ask. They truly adopt Indian hospitality!

If anyone is looking to book a wedding at Chunda Palace and would like to hear more about my experience please feel free to get in touch. It can daunting planning a wedding especially a wedding abroad and I know I would have liked to hear from another couple and their experience.

Thank you again to Abhinav, Pradeep and team!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank BigWheel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 158 in Udaipur
2,678 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 158 in Udaipur
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 158 in Udaipur
2,975 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 158 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#35 of 158 in Udaipur
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Property: Chunda Palace Hotel
Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki Magri | near Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing