We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value Great Host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Garden Guest House
Ranked #5 of 276 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This place is a lttle gem. Akshay was born in Udaipur and therefore has an excellent knowledge of the city. I believe he spent 5 years living in Sydney Australia therefore he has a good grasp of what is demanded these days regarding comfort, atmosphere and value. Akshay took us to the best places to purchase goods we wanted. We had rugs and paintings sent to Australia and they arrived on time and well packed thanks to his contacts. Ask Akshay about any special tours he can organise out of the ordinary tourist trail, well worth it.. The whole family are extremely welcoming and the location is outstanding. Many times we have been to India and this right up there with the best homestays Thank you Akshay and family and your help it is very much appreciated. Good luck from Kerri and Paul.

Room Tip: All rooms were well appointed and of equal value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay S, Owner at Little Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Paul Kerri,
It was such a great pleasure to meet you. Thanks for your lovely comments and a fabulous Review for Little Garden Family. I highly appreciate your trust in our efforts, we are also happy that goods have arrived at your place at the right time:) We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found our hospitality pleasing. We wouldn't want to miss out on the pleasure of serving you again wish you a great festive week ahead:)
Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed at Little Garden for 3 nights and could not have had a more positive experience. Akshay and his family were welcoming and obviously passionate about their guesthouse. The property is small (4 or 5 rooms) so there is focus on each customer and space on the beautiful roof.

The value received at Little Garden is unparalleled. I stayed in many hostels and homestays with far less amenities. Akshay can be a little over zealous, but he was available 24/7, planned tours, and booked taxis for us, which speaks to his work ethic and philosophy around Little Garden.

ROOM
We had a double room near the entrance, huge and confortable by any standard. The shower got very hot and the toilet worked properly (common problems in a lot of other guesthouses). Akshay’s father did some of the artwork in the room and the comforter and pillows were upholstered by a local women’s micro finance organization. The quaintness was put over the top by a reading nook and breakfast table.

LOCATION
Little Garden is in the center of town, a 12-minute walk to Shiv Niwas Palace. Right outside the property is an amazing leather shop with handmade notebooks. The owner (Babu) is exceptionally sweet and knowledgeable about his product (unlike a lot of similar leather shops in the area); we bought 10.

Room Tip: Ask for the room near the entrance for better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonman8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay S, Owner at Little Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a such a great review. Your positive experience remarks are highly inspiring to all of us in Little Garden family .We feel so happy that you have enjoyed the Designs of each room and attention to the every details we payed, we are glad that you loved our comfortable Upholstery by Micro Fiance Organization as we love supporting native Artisans.we have also shared this review with Babu (diary man) He was very happy:)
Many Thanks once again for your genuine Review:) We would love you to come back in Little
Garden Family.
Best Regards
Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Akshay and his entire family are overwhelmingly generous and caring, in true Indian style they accommodated for my every need and made sure I knew the best places to visit and shop. The property is beautiful, every room has been designed and fitted with the upmost care and style. Akshay will tell you about the history of the building and his design work, which he is very proud of and of his design work, which is excellent. I highly recommend this place for comfort, style and convenience. I will be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay S, Owner at Little Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Morgan,

Thanks for taking the time out to post your Unique Experience of Home stay with Little Garden Family.
Our Family is pleased to know that you have enjoyed our Property and Great location.The old world charm, food and most important is attention to details and cleanness.We are also happy that you have enjoyed our city Udaipur and people.We would love you to come back with your Parents and stay with our Little garden family.
Thanks again Look forward to see.
Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have recently enjoyed a second visit to this lovely homestay. Two new rooms and a shady roof terrace are nearing completion and have been fabulously styled with great flair and attention to detail. Akshay and his family are engaging and ever helpful hosts and Mummy is an outstanding cook. Every day a delicious local dish is served for breakfast along with fresh fruits and Papa's masala chai. We enjoyed a family dinner one night too. Akshay is now offering personal tours of the area where he was born and loves enabling an "insider" experience. Papa is a true artist and I was able to buy a couple of his beautifully hand tinted vintage b/w photographs of Maharajas - an evocative reminder of yet another great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bessieoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay S, Owner at Little Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Barbara
Thank you very much for the Lovely review.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your second stay with Little Garden Family. Your kind words of appreciation are extremely valuable to us.We are also happy that you enjoyed our Home Made Breakfast by my mother And the Beautiful Artwork of my Father would give Beauty to your walls;)Many Thanks for staying with us.
Look forward to see you again.
Best Regards.
Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at Little Garden last month and were incredibly impressed. Akshay, one of the owners was right there when our cab pulled up, and from that moment on went above and beyond to take care of us and make sure we were comfortable. We were in the first room, closest to the front, and thus, could access the free wifi from our room, which was a nice bonus. The rooftop has stunning palace views and is a great place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of Udaipur. The room was incredibly clean and the shower was hot! Little garden is a unique combination because you do feel that you are getting the unique homestay experience, but not having to sacrifice quality of accommodations. Truly one of a kind.
(Also a GREAT location).
If you stay here and are looking for leather products such as journals, sketchbooks, etc. I highly recommend visiting Babu, just outside of the guesthouse. He has a small shop but with really quality products and is willing to add engravings to your purchases.

Room Tip: The room closest to the front can access the wifi from the room, which was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serendipity789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay S, Owner at Little Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the Great review.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed Unique Experience of Home stays with Little Garden Family and incredibly impressed with cleanness and Atmosphere and attention to the guest we pay. It does Sound like you have enjoyed our new facilities Such as open Roof Top and WiFi connection:) Your kind words are extremely valuable to us.Many Thanks for staying with Little Garden Family:)
Look forward to see you again.
Best Regards.
Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This homestay started well with the requested airport pickup driver greeting us with a warm smile with our name displayed on a board, always a welcome site to any traveller getting off a flight. On the journey to the guesthouse the driver, whom spoke English, kept us informed of places of interest along the way.
When we arrived at Little Garden, Akshay meet us at the car to help carry our baggage into the property where we were introduced to his mother Vimala, father Gajraj and sister Tina whom all were very friendly. Akshay then showed us to one of the two rooms that are presently used as guestrooms and explained the lighting, a/c and geyser in the bathroom. After this Akshay then gave a history of the pictures and antique objects that are displayed within the room. This was then followed by a quick walk up to the nearby temple so that we knew where the guesthouse was in relation to the area where 4 roads all converged in front of the temple.
The bedroom was spacious with a seating area and table upon which a bowl of local sweets had been provided. The bathroom was adequate with a good hot shower, hairdryer, spare bathroom tissue, clean bath towels, soap, shampoo and a plug for the sink (a very rare find in India).
The food served for breakfast was local cuisine with each day being different having been asked the evening before by Vimal and Tina if we had any special requests for Indian food. The time for breakfast was flexible so it served at our chosen time each day.
Although Little Garden guesthouse does not advertised eating with the family when we asked if this would be possible they were pleased that we had asked. The food was prepared by Vimala and Tina and we all sat on the floor in the family room (which was also used as a bedroom, living area and TV viewing room) and ate the food with our hands. This is what a homestay is all about, living with the host family.
I am a keen cook and requested a cookery lesson to improve my Indian cooking skills and Tina was very obliging in asking what I would like to know so that she could specifically show the ingredients and how to cook the item. Five different dishes were prepared in the early afternoon and Tina showed how the ingredients are mixed, dough prepared for breads and the cooking process before allowing me to have a go at the chapati and pakora. After finishing the cooking we again sat in the family room and ate together.
We spent many hours sitting with the family during our stay discussing life in India and they were interested to learn about our life in the UK especially seeing photographs of our home so it would be a good idea to take some home photos to show them where you live. This has been a frequent request at various homestays throughout India.

Little Garden guesthouse will soon have 4 guestrooms for travellers to stay in and I would certainly recommend staying here to anybody that wants to experience living with an Indian family, be located in the centre of the old town and eat good home cooked local food. Nothing was too much trouble for the family to ensure that our stay was exactly to our requirements.

I will not be suprised to see this accommodation at number 1 on Tripadvisor soon its that good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay S, Owner at Little Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for an extremely generous review. You are indeed very kind to highlight our hospitality and recommend us so highly.we also enjoyed your company:)
We are glad to know of your pleasant stay and happy memories with our Family and our city Udaipur. It was a pleasure having you. We would love to welcome you again. and again.
Many Thanks from Little Garden Family.
Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at Little Garden Guest house for two nights and absolutely loved it!
We were made to feel at home as soon as we got there as we were offered a seat and delicious cup of chai (Mr Singh senior told us it was with ginger for the winter months and i think cardamon for the summer..).
We were given a map of the area by Mr Singh's son Akshay who gave us really helpful information on the town. He also recommended a lovely restaurant with a beautiful view of the lake which we visited twice.
The rooms were very clean and comfy and every request we made was met - including an extra blanket which was so comfortable.
This was without a doubt the best place we have stayed in India during our seven weeks here and I would recommend it hugely to anyone. If we come back to Udaipur we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbishop1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay S, Owner at Little Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guests,
Thanks for a fabulous review. Your great comments does wonders to our enthusiasm. It was a privilege serving you. We are delighted to know of your satisfaction and pleasant overall stay. Wish you all the best.
Thanks from Little Garden Family:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
2,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 165 in Udaipur
1,375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 165 in Udaipur
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#18 of 165 in Udaipur
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Garden Guest House

Address: Akshay singh rao. | 121-Bhattayani Chohtta Rao shabe ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: £39 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Little Garden Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Garden Guesthouse is nestled at the base of Udaipur's renowned City Palace in the heart of the Old City.Each room is individually fitted out with tasteful and eclectic furniture and fittings,most of which are family heirlooms. Fair-trade women's cooperative handcrafted bed covers,cushions and curtains complement the decor.The street in which the 250 year old heritage house or haveli is located, Kavi Rao Mohan Singh, is named after an ancestor of the family and is a comfortable sanctuary just off Bhattiyani Chouhtta, a fascinating market street lined with handicrafts stalls. We invite you to nest and rest in one of our two spacious bedrooms (11x17ft). You can curl up reading in cushioned bay-windows or sprawl out for a siesta on firm double beds with freshly laundered linen. Each room is decorated with eclectic handicrafts, antiques and textiles. Little Garden is newly renovated, so our bathroom facilities are clean and reliable. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with western toilet and a running hot shower available 24 hours a day. We will happily provide clean towels and new bed linen at your request. In addition to our simple but charming heritage rooms, Little Garden has two spacious terraces from which panoramic views of the City Palace and verdant Aravali Hills can be taken in. It is a perfect place to experience the nightly sound and light show which sets the Palace ablaze, watch the buzzing rooftop life of the Old City, or rest-up with a book, drink or meal happily provided by your hosts (upon request). Of course, our little garden courtyard is also a lovely shady place to pass time. The traditional layout of our home (several rooms arranged around open courtyards) is perfect for the independently minded traveller who also wants to experience the life and hospitality of a local family. You may come and go from our rooms as you please as they each have a private entrance from the little garden courtyard. As our family are descendants of a renowned poet who served in the royal court of Mewar and shared a close relationship with the then King (Maharana), our home was gifted to our ancestor by the royal family. It is thus located very centrally, just 5 minutes walk to the palace and other heritage highlights of Udaipur, such as: Jagdish Temple- Built from marble in C17th and dedicated to 'Jagdish' or Vishnu (Lord and protector of the universe), this is Udaipur's most notable and beautiful Hindu temple. Gangaur Ghat - A complex of Shiva temples perched on the bank of Pichola Lake where the annual Gangaur festival unique to Rajasthan is commemorated. Also a wonderful spot to observe the rituals of daily life, the gorgeous Lake Palace and Jag Mandir island. Ayurvedic Hospital- Provides free consultations, daily yoga classes and mud therapy.Rose Garden- The favoured place for locals to picnic and exercise. Many handicrafts, vegetable and spice markets. Who we are: Hi there, my name is Akshay. My parents Gajendra and Vimla, my younger sister Tina and I would like to invite you to share in the joy of our local culture, architecture and landscape from a unique vantage point- our family home! I recently established 'Little Garden Guesthouse' to provide an income for my retired Mum and Dad, assist in maintaining our heritage property, and to entertain my love of imparting local knowledge! I have 6 years experience assisting travellers seeking out the best of Udaipur. Whilst you stay with us I will be available to ensure that your room is comfortable and your city wanderings rewarding! I look forward to your expressions of interest. Thank you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing