We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandra Niwas Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Chandra Niwas is home stay where u can find peacefull environment and real taste of indian culture and daily habbits of Indian family. Samvit and his parents are ready to give u lots of usefull tips where to go and what to see in Udaipur and meeting the kids from the community center, run by Samvit was on of the best experience in my life. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandaluzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
55
164
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nancy, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Chandra Niwas is a lovely place with beautiful people. Samvit and his parents welcome you in a cheerful and pleasant atmosphere, try to make you comfortable with a chai and give you several advices for a perfect trip in the beautiful city of Udaipur.

It’s really like home with an indian family who takes care of you. No fancy, no sparkles, just a simple room with bed and private bathroom. A chilling area on the roof. In a isolated neighborhood, far away from the mass but just 10 min from the downtown in Rickshaw.
But the best is that Chandra Niwas Travel is able to organise a journey very unusual, very “Indian”, which includes a lot of activities, cultural, gastronomic and mostly a real human experience.

Chandra Niwas and Chandra Niwas Travels are the best if you want to live something different of the traditional touristic trip.

It was amazing for me. I was travelling by myself and I have no regret. I'll never forgot this experience and all the friends I've met !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fr0ggyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed at this B & B, I tried, crossing the threshold, wonder, joy in having found a "treasure" in the center of udaipur, with the added bonus of a luxurious intimacy that makes you feel at home. Probably the soul and character of this "jewel" fully reflects the kindness, friendliness and good taste of the owners.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas Town, Panama
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This home stay is a peaceful place a little outside the city. Samvit is a great host. He came to pick me up when I arrived and showed me around the city. He and his family treated me as though I was part of their family. It is easy to get around from there. This home is full of good food and great people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassybee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I am approaching the 3-week mark as a guest here at Chandra Niwas homestay, and truly wish I could stay longer. From the moment I met Samvit upon my arrival in Udaipur he has been nothing less than kind, caring, supportive, informative, and helpful to me and the other guests. He and his lovely parents, Mama & Papa, are such warm people, who make me feel like I am a part of their family. When you stay here with this wonderful family in their beautiful home, you will enjoy wi-fi, hot showers, safe/clean rooms, delicious food, fun games, and laughter, and you will certainly make fond memories!

Their home, Chandra Niwas, is situated in a quiet residential neighborhood outside of the city, which is a nice change of pace from the hectic city centers in which I have stayed throughout other parts of India. If you are traveling to India with the intentions of connecting with and learning from residents of Udaipur and local villages, Chandra Niwas is the perfect homestay for you. I had the most wonderful drive through the hills with Samvit yesterday morning, taking in the mountain and lake views, asking questions, and listening/learning. In the afternoon, I found myself on the lovely rooftop patio enjoying a hot cup of chai (they make the BEST here!) and talking with Papa about life experiences and differences in our cultures. This is why I came to India! If you are also seeking a meaningful experience in India, I encourage you to stay at Chandra Niwas and immerse yourself in genuine Indian culture over an extended period.

A heartfelt "thank you" to Samvit, Mama, Papa and all of the guests with whom I have had the pleasure of getting to know during my stay at Chandra Niwas! This experience has been one of the best of my entire life :)

Namaskar...

Holly

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholly1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Amazing way to get to know indian culture, such as food, religion, clothing, traditions... Perfect for backpackers and people looking for a real Indian experience.
Really nice hosts that will make you feel like home
DAAN foundation is the best part of it :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Staying at Chandra Niwas, along with Samvit and his family was a very nice experience. I was supposed to merely pitstop for a night, going from Mumbai to Delhi, but their hospitality and welcoming attitude made me stay on. Samvit was also most helpful with tips and arranging local sight-seeing tour. I had a great time talking and discussing different things, and also enjoyed the local visit for a heritage walk with him. I recommend the stay wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotheredothat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.6 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#27 of 157 in Udaipur
783 reviews
2.5 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
2.5 mi away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#26 of 157 in Udaipur
282 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandra Niwas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Niwas Homestay

Property: Chandra Niwas Homestay
Address: 43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Badgaon- Udaipur link road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chandra Niwas Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ehi-Passika "come and experience" Buddha used to use this phrase when explorers used to ask about the beauty of his teaching. We are using this to welcome you all to come and experience our humble hospitality. Chandra Niwas is a simple homestay accommodation with basic rooms and bathroom fittings. It is our house which has been converted into a homestay for those who are interested in staying in the non touristy area. Most of all it is a place for socially responsible travelers and for those who are interested in getting to know our rural education initiatives. Located in a peaceful non-touristy neighborhood, Chandra Niwas provides guests with a unique opportunity to experience real Indian life and culture. This is not your average impersonal, commercial hotel in the middle of the touristy area. This is a Homestay into which you will be warmly welcomed and given personal attention to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We welcome those guests with an interest in exploring the local community and a desire to escape the hassles and touts that plague touristy areas. Part of the revenue generated from the Homestay is invested in a grassroots non-profit organization, providing education to rural youth. In all our rooms you will find wall-hangings and bed covers made by local village artists. We have many other local arts and crafts on display in the communal area, which guests may purchase if they wish. In addition, all of our staff are employed from local villages and trained for future employment in the hospitality industry. Most rooms have WiFi, and all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with 24 hours hot water. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining area where free internet access and WiFi is available. You may also eat on the roof-top, overlooking the organic vegetable garden, and home-cooked lunches and dinners are available upon request. We also have a small library created by past travelers, including travel books, novels, and DVDs. Your hosts, Dr. Samvit Audichya and his hospitable family will personally assist you in planning your days in Udaipur, depending on your interests and length of stay. The hosts will also gladly take care of your transport needs and help you with onward travel arrangements (all at no extra cost). We genuinely enjoy helping our guests! We are a ten minute drive from the city center (4 kms) and walking distance to many stores, restaurants and a pharmacy.During your stay at Chandra Niwas you will have the opportunity to see Udaipur not just through the eyes of a tourist, but through the eyes of a local. Chandra Niwas Homestay is best suited for mid budget travelers who wish to stay away from the touristy old town and wishes to experience the true Indian Home experience. Dr. Audichya has been connected with travel, hospitality, business and social work for the last six years and is now connecting them both. Chandra Niwas welcomes the guests to visit our village development projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Chandra Niwas Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing