We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family for Life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandra Niwas Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Chandra Niwas is the without a doubt, the best place to stay in Udaipur for me. Beautiful family, there to help every step of the way. Great food and facilities, and a real taste of local life.Chandra Niwas will have a special place in my heart forever

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca-Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was in udaipur for the first time and was told about chandra niwas through a friend. I stayed there for 10 days, felt like I never left my home and family.
Samvit and his family make me feel so special and important as if they knew from before.
Touring udaipur was so simple with samvit checking the local food, shopping, art, forts and historic sites, samvit was always there regards to any help I needed locally.
I would definitely recommend this place for people who want a Home Away from home.
Trust me you will love it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singhsikander11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed here whilst traveling around India on my own and i was made to feel so welcome. I loved being here and was given some excellent tips on the best things to see around Udaipur! Samvit and his parents really made me feel like one of the family and this was priceless as i was feeling very homesick at the time. I would highly recommend a stay at Chandra Niwas i am sure everyone will have their own unique experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krupasingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Staying at Chandra Niwas was a nice break from my travels. I felt very safe and Samvit and his family were great hosts and the accommodation was comfortable and clean. I definitely plan on returning, if only for some more chai!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahbehrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Staying at chandra niwas ,along with samvit and his family was very nice experience.This home stay is peaceful place little outside the city.
From the moment i met samvit upon my arrival in udaipur he has been nothing less than carrying,informative,kind,supporting and helpful to me and other guests.I had a great time talking and discussing different things.He and his family treated me as though i was part of their family.
I recommend the stay whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikhilchouhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Chandra Niwas is home stay where u can find peacefull environment and real taste of indian culture and daily habbits of Indian family. Samvit and his parents are ready to give u lots of usefull tips where to go and what to see in Udaipur and meeting the kids from the community center, run by Samvit was on of the best experience in my life. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandaluzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Chandra Niwas is a lovely place with beautiful people. Samvit and his parents welcome you in a cheerful and pleasant atmosphere, try to make you comfortable with a chai and give you several advices for a perfect trip in the beautiful city of Udaipur.

It’s really like home with an indian family who takes care of you. No fancy, no sparkles, just a simple room with bed and private bathroom. A chilling area on the roof. In a isolated neighborhood, far away from the mass but just 10 min from the downtown in Rickshaw.
But the best is that Chandra Niwas Travel is able to organise a journey very unusual, very “Indian”, which includes a lot of activities, cultural, gastronomic and mostly a real human experience.

Chandra Niwas and Chandra Niwas Travels are the best if you want to live something different of the traditional touristic trip.

It was amazing for me. I was travelling by myself and I have no regret. I'll never forgot this experience and all the friends I've met !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fr0ggyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
3.4 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 177 in Udaipur
2,413 reviews
3.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#11 of 177 in Udaipur
520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#6 of 177 in Udaipur
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
4.6 mi away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#32 of 177 in Udaipur
299 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chunda Palace Hotel
Chunda Palace Hotel
#6 of 237 in Udaipur
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandra Niwas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Niwas Homestay

Address: 43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Badgaon- Udaipur link road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: £10 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chandra Niwas Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ehi-Passika "come and experience" Buddha used to use this phrase when explorers used to ask about the beauty of his teaching. We are using this to welcome you all to come and experience our humble hospitality. Chandra Niwas is a simple homestay accommodation with basic rooms and bathroom fittings. It is our house which has been converted into a homestay for those who are interested in staying in the non touristy area. Most of all it is a place for socially responsible travelers and for those who are interested in getting to know our rural education initiatives. Located in a peaceful non-touristy neighborhood, Chandra Niwas provides guests with a unique opportunity to experience real Indian life and culture. This is not your average impersonal, commercial hotel in the middle of the touristy area. This is a Homestay into which you will be warmly welcomed and given personal attention to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We welcome those guests with an interest in exploring the local community and a desire to escape the hassles and touts that plague touristy areas. Part of the revenue generated from the Homestay is invested in a grassroots non-profit organization, providing education to rural youth. In all our rooms you will find wall-hangings and bed covers made by local village artists. We have many other local arts and crafts on display in the communal area, which guests may purchase if they wish. In addition, all of our staff are employed from local villages and trained for future employment in the hospitality industry. Most rooms have WiFi, and all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with 24 hours hot water. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining area where free internet access and WiFi is available. You may also eat on the roof-top, overlooking the organic vegetable garden, and home-cooked lunches and dinners are available upon request. We also have a small library created by past travelers, including travel books, novels, and DVDs. Your hosts, Dr. Samvit Audichya and his hospitable family will personally assist you in planning your days in Udaipur, depending on your interests and length of stay. The hosts will also gladly take care of your transport needs and help you with onward travel arrangements (all at no extra cost). We genuinely enjoy helping our guests! We are a ten minute drive from the city center (4 kms) and walking distance to many stores, restaurants and a pharmacy.During your stay at Chandra Niwas you will have the opportunity to see Udaipur not just through the eyes of a tourist, but through the eyes of a local. Chandra Niwas Homestay is best suited for mid budget travelers who wish to stay away from the touristy old town and wishes to experience the true Indian Home experience. Dr. Audichya has been connected with travel, hospitality, business and social work for the last six years and is now connecting them both. Chandra Niwas welcomes the guests to visit our village development projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chandra Niwas Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing