We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Govinda's Cafeteria

Govinda's Cafeteria
Ranked #45 of 726 Restaurants in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: Cafe, Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The tiny cafe is really near to the city palace so you can consider eating here after your visit.

It is easy on the pocket plus the food is really delicious.

We tried veg sandwiches, cheese and mushroom salad (lot's of cheese yay!) as well as white sauce chicken pasta and all of them were really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Swati-Ailawadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    96
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok... I guess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Originally visited due to good location (near palace) and had good reviews on TA. Food was between edible and enjoyable, the menu had a good range (however my tomato pasta was orange). Service was slow and bathroom was below acceptable by western standards. The door did not close, seat was dirty and no loo paper. Pancakes were highlight of experience. Don't regret it but wouldn't return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Small place for quick bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Tired after long walk of palace? Grab a quick bite here. Food is above average and its reasonable priced compared to other places.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Café frappe- must try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

After a visit to the city palace, this cafe is a good option for a coffee/beverage and some snacks/quick bites.

It is located on the opposite side of jagdish temple on the road to city palace. We had the café frappe (must-have) which was perfect and afterwards we kept craving for that sinful taste but unfortunately we had no time to visit this café again in our very short udaipur trip. We didn't try anything to eat but the menu offered lot of snacking options.

The place is small with hardly 3-4 tables which can accommodate around 15 people but it's very popular among the tourists. The staff was friendly. There was a bookshelf with a quite a few coffee table reads.

Helpful?
Thank travel-unravel-india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Myself and my partner found that this little hidden gem of a cafe was just lovely, hassle free, cheap, clean and nice food. Don't expect anything amazing, it's a cafe, although I highly recommend the burgers both veggie and chicken, very tasty. We stayed in Udaipur for four days and ate here three times just because the staff were nice and the food was good, plus if you're travelling India and have had three weeks of traditional food it's a treat to find somewhere that does a decent cheeky burger and chips.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samika710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Govinda's Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Govinda's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing