We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rooftop and courteous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms
Ranked #112 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Udaipur, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing rooftop and courteous staff”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Loved the terrace view and impressive service. Thoroughly enjoyed being here. The pool is small but a clean one. Disaapointed by spa!
Had to carry cash as they dont accept card :(
Sunset and sunrise both can be enjoyed...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    35
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
26
27
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had booked through Cleartrip a different hotel for our three day tour of Udaipur, but at the last moment Cleratrip changed our reservations to this "great Kurabar Kothi". Frankly speaking we were shocked.
We were allotted attic rooms on terrace which were far from being comfortable. No cupboards, no toiletries (except for a piece of soap and a 1 Re shampoo pouch), hard and uncomfortable sleeping mattresses....anything white (bed sheets to towels) had become pale. The door of the bathroom did not close in my room, so we always had to post a guard to save nay embarrassment.
Booking was for one lake facing room and two standard rooms. On reaching the receptionist flatly refused to allot the lake facing room. When my friend yelled at them and called up cleartrip agent, then only the room was allotted. If you chose this hotel please get your throat cleared before you enter this place, because most of your requests will go unheard by the moronic staffs (particularly at the reception desk) until you give them a piece of your mind at the top of your voice. Then they will at least look at you like a goat being taken for slaughter and not try to argue with you, if your request is not fulfilled.
The rooms didn't have any window and the telephones don't work (safe for the staff, you cannot always ring up and complain for their dreadful services). Even during winter the rooms are not provided with heater facilities unless you demand them. The same will not work if you are on power back up. Oh ho..i forgot to mention, the blankets have bugs which might hamper your sleep!!!!
Now for the famous lake facing room, which we got after straining our voice at its top most pitch. Don't take that...the adjoining balcony overlooking the lake has the toilet exhaust pipe outlet. The place at times stinks with the blowing of wind. You may suspect your partner/ friend for farting while enjoying your tea or having dinner, if you haven't done it yourself.
The roof top rooms, where we were lodged, have facing roof top swimming pool. You have to be all the time on high alert if you have kids and toddlers with you. They might wind up in the pool fast enough than for you to realize. Plan to stay with child is absolutely no for safety issue.
Isn't there anything which we appreciated - Oh yes the Indian cuisine. The food is good though the service time might vary between half an hour to one and a half hour depending on the situation.
The only saving grace was Mr Dule Singh, the ever smiling waiter. For him only we could at least get our food a little bit early. The other staffs though not efficient as Dule, were accommodating.
The last piece of advice- carry enough cash to pay the bills. They at times don't accept card and the same moronic receptionist gives you a bike ride through the roads of udaipur to take you to ATM for collecting cash.
Best of luck if you book the hotel....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaugataPalit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

Vadodara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked hotel through Cleartrip. I had booking of one lake facing (a distant view of Pichola, City fort) room and 2 non lake facing room which was mentioned in reservation slip also. To my surprise, they told me that they didn't have any such deal of booking one lake facing room and all 3 rooms were non lake facing. I contacted Cleartrip and they assured me of solving it and getting back soon. Cleartrip didn't get back at all ! Finally it was my shouting that worked and I was given a lake facing room by hotel owner. We were given room on top floor (107/8/9) which had a small restaurant and kitchen. Room was small with no cupboard. Everyday we had problem in keeping dirty clothes. Bed was just good enough for two adults. The room was small so extra bed could not be accommodated. We had difficulty as I had my child with me. Rooms at 1st floor are bigger. The hotel arranges party for outsider on top floor, so noise on this floor in night. Housekeeping and room service is slow. You have to keep following up, they forget also. Food was good. Kitchen manager Duley Singh was the only saving grace.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chandan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

So its on a bit of an incline and the approach is the least impressive ever. But the staff will get you an auto. And almost anything else you need. The terrace looks over the Pichola lake and you get a great view of the city palace and lake palace and the city in general by night. The restaurant caretaker Kishore and the young room service boy are the reason that I will want to go back. Felt so well taken care of. My room had no view and I was on a budget and didnt care. I spent most of my time on the terrace in the winter sun looking at the place. Its the kind of place you meet people and share stories. For that reason alone, it was awesome. The food is very very good and made to order. I managed to thank the chef personally. The two people who man the front desk are quite useless though. They have a spa which is a shocker for a place that size with 11 rooms. I did get a massage, it wasn't cheap (udaipur isnt cheap) but it was bloody good! This place is about a stripped down life experience. For luxury, please look elsewhere. My kind of place. Clean, sufficient and amazing people.

Room Tip: There is a large room on the terrace with a private balcony with a view of the lake. Get that!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelSuperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were there for a day only.
Location is great.walking distance from fatehsagar lake.
Rooms have no windows.locarion of restaurant is a fantastic.
Small property but peaceful for couple.
Plan to stay with child is absolutely no.
PPeople wish to enjoy scenic beauty from room will be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Kavan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 6th to 9th Nov 2013, on the first day the experience was not good, as we didn't got the room which we had booked. But very next day we were shifted to the other room, which really made the difference. The room had a scenic view of Udaipur city, and it really refreshes you sitting next to the lake facing window when you are back. Staff was really helpful and very courteous and the one person we will not forget is Mr. Maharam (Manager), who is always ready to help you at any point of time. View from the rooftop restaurant was awesome and Food was good and so was the service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake 101 to 103 & rooftop rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swapna_Naik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

it was awsome at kurabar...., i enjoyed the good food , great view in all udaipur and friendly staff. we stayed in room 102 and it was a great lake view from our room. washrooms are very neat and clean. we had a candle light dinner with a great view. The service was good , and i think in whole udaipur kurabar has a great lake view and roof top swimming pool and ofcourse restaurant...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.0 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#45 of 157 in Udaipur
293 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Byke Riddhi Inn
The Byke Riddhi Inn
#108 of 157 in Udaipur
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#65 of 157 in Udaipur
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mandiram Palace
Hotel Mandiram Palace
#130 of 157 in Udaipur
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 157 in Udaipur
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#42 of 157 in Udaipur
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms

Property: Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms
Address: II Ambavgarh | Near Ayurvedic College, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing