We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property but poor management...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Aravali Tent Resort
Ranked #122 of 285 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have lot of excitement when we book this property during diwali Nov 16th to 18th,2012...Once we enter the property we really like it very much...Very nice ambience but require lot of maintainance.

Rooms are good.Very huge kingsize bed.We book total three tents.Nice wooden floor.Bathroom is also good but nothing much except soaps.They put bathtub but no foam tube or showergel.More or on that in winter season the hot water is again a problem.The geazer what they put is not upto the mark and not getting continous hot water so no question to use bath tub even.This is just added features with no use..Why should anybody pay extra for this...

Electrical wiring is very poor in entire property.Seen the nacked wire fixed up just like to use as a temporary.One of my friend has also experienced electric shock in bathroom when turns on geazer.So be careful about it....

The worst part is the breakfast.Nothing much on breakfast.We stay over there for two nights and we have the same breakfast continous for two days, no menu changed.The restaurant chef is not at all cooperative.When we complain about this he is not ready so listen anything and hurry to clear his outstanding bill.

The citypalace,dudh talai,karni mata temple,Lake pichhola etc are very near by place so thats the plus point of this property.Just a few minutes walk and you can reach this places.

In the night there is a good fire camp we enjoy and you can see birds like owl during night.

We put our views with Mr.Mayank(whos is handling this property rightnow).He also promise that he will make necessary changes in this service and property.So we look forward to these changes and hope we will visit this place again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 88 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed there from Nov 10, 2012 to Nov 13, 2012. Even as i drove from Mumbai to Udaipur on a day long drive, Mayank (the property manager) called me continuously to check whether i was on the right route and helping me thorughout to reach the place. I really liked the place and Mayank ensured that our stay at Udaipur was an excellent start to our Rajasthan trip.

The tents here are great to stay in, and the location is good enough that to visit the City Palace, Dudh Sagar, ropeway, Lake Pichola, marketplace, i could just walk for 5-10 minutes to reach each of these places.

There are squirrels, langoors, peacocks and many other birds visible on this property. Mayank made our stay ay Udaipur really memorable and i would definitely visit this place in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajanishp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Person can enjoy this place with family and friends any time during year.
Am very happy with this kind of experience.Hospitality of manager Mr. Karanpuria, added lot of comfort in the stay.
Have plans to come here every year.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam609619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

It was a very short stay - a stopover on the way from Mumbai to Himachal for one night. We reached in the evening and had to start the next day so it was only used for sleeping in the night. The stay was very comfortable. Good food and good service. We enjoyed the morning with lost of birds around our tent.

Room Tip: I guess all room were good. Even though these were tents they were insect free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsondsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

we stayed here for 2n-4d in july . complete resort is in nature and fresh air . even service is also too good... very near form each place of udaipur ..... food was also too good there... best place in udaipur for stay , very near from doodhtalai which is also very lovable

Room Tip: All Rooms are too good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKS123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here for 3N-4D in Oct. What a courteous stafff! The location is at a walkable distance from every important location at Udaipur, and yet amidst a serene and peaceful garden araea. This is right behind the 2nd entrance gate to the City Palace (not the main entrance from the market side) and also close to the "winter special" Tibetian market. The resort is in Samor bagh, which is right opposite the Gulab Bagh, zoo and the Vintage Car area. Must compliment the staff, the awesome chef (i finally checked on the recipe for Gatte ki subzi from him) and the overall services. The tented property is very well maintained, the rooms are quite spacious (for two adults and a child).
Only hitch - the tents have wooden frames for all doors and windows, and there is quite a good gap in the closure areas, due to which, privacy becomes slightly dicey!

Room Tip: Select the delux cottage...that's the new one..Don't take the one right oppposite to the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank neetukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
5.4 mi away
Hotel Valley View
Hotel Valley View
#39 of 175 in Udaipur
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#35 of 175 in Udaipur
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pichola Haveli
Pichola Haveli
#132 of 175 in Udaipur
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#10 of 175 in Udaipur
511 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 175 in Udaipur
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#75 of 175 in Udaipur
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aravali Tent Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aravali Tent Resort

Address: Dudh Talai Road | inside Samorbagh, near Udaipur City Palace, infront Of Gulab Bagh 3rd Gate, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: £27 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The Aravali Tent Resort is a beautiful natural paradise situated in heart of Lakecity (Udaipur) near Lake Pichola in the interior of Samore Bagh opposite Sajjan Niwas Garden surrounded by The Aravali range of mountains. It has the romance of luxury tent which have always been an important part of Rajput and Mughal lifestyles, whenever they camped far away from forts and palaces for hunting trips, special events, wars, they used have an unique experience of living in adventurous tented camps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your The Aravali Tent Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing