We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Ranked #72 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The name, pictures and description on the website are all exaggerated. The only thing working for them is the view.
Pros
1. Night view is spectacular
2. Nothing else :(

Cons
1. Haveli (Incorrect information. It is just an old house converted to a "hotel" with the owners staying on the ground floor)
2. Absolutely no service. There is a polite boy serving as the manager, cleaner, service person and I also suspect the cook
3. Moderately clean room. No toiletries
4. Bathroom and toilet was not clean. Further details not needed :(
5. Dimly lit corridors
And the list goes on....

A 2 star property trying to pass off as a heritage Haveli. Maybe good for budget travelers looking to spend substantial amount of time in the city. If you have a few bucks to spare go to the neighboring Pichola Hotel or Hotel Amet Haveli for a true Maharajah feel. In comparison to these, Thamla Haveli is a king who lost his kingdom :(

Room Tip: Don't expect a lot and you should be fine. Don't go by the pics shown on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ABonviveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went to Udaipur in February 2014 on our first weeding anniversary , situated in narrow lane but all others hotels are and thats the beauty and characteristic of old udiapur city so for me it was not the disadvantage

As we entered in this haveli to my surprise we found that family stays at ground floor and rest has converted into the hotel , so in these hotel in udaipur you will find very ordinary reception. And these havelies are turned into hotels and run by the family only

So lets go one by one

Ambiance
Room we occupied was lake facing room, it was big , neat and clean room , specially sitting arrangement at windows was beautiful , you can enjoy your meal with lake view from the room itself . They have small terrace which also nice.
One disadvantage that water was stinking bad outside room but it faded away

Food
Food was good specially breakfast (included in package) was delicious we order variety of food and it was palatable and quantity was huge for two. We tried some other places for lunch and dinner.

Service
Service was good , there was one person I think servicing for entire haveli , we found him very humble . Overall satisfied with service , people at reception can also help you out with excursion and taxi , we went to Kumbhalgarh fort and Ranakpur temple .

The most important thing it is strategically located Bagore ki haveli and City Place are at walking distance .

Overall good experience

Room Tip: Book in advance as winter is the peak season Make sure to book corner room with better lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nehasingh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

it was fantastic stay at Thamla haveli, it was a different experience staying in a haveli with scene of Pichola lake. Staff service is good, Good restaurant at roof terrace. Excellent food & good staff.

Room Tip: choose rooms on lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deens R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was my second trip to Udaipur. I booked this place looking at the Tripadvisor reviews. The overall experience was nice. We booked a lake facing room which is expensive, but it was worth the money. At night the colourfully lit palace and releflections on the lake made for a wonderful view. Comparatively this place was definite value for money. The food was very good although the options were limited. If you go there make it a point to have dinner on the rooftop.
Overall a very good experience atlthough we stayed for just 1 day. The staff were very courteous and they even arranged transport for our early morning departure to bus stand. A sure thumbs up to Thamla Haveli

Room Tip: Go for lake facing view if budget is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aravinth123_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The most interesting part of the hotel was its location. The lake view deluxe rooms were clean, tidy, spacious and offered a nice view of the lake. Rooftop restaurant deserves a special mention because of the lake view it offers at night. Food was a tad expensive but good quality. We inquired around and found that food was generally expensive everywhere so I recommend eating at the hotel, particularly dinner. Service staff Nathu, was polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sayeedhussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Relaxing and enchanting Udaipur with Lake Piccola as the centrepiece. Thamla Haveli is right on the lake and looks across to the palace and Bagore Ki Haveli Museum. Wonderful rooftop to have a drink and breakfast in the morning. 5 min walk across the footbridge and you are in the old narrow lanes of the city . 10 mins to the Palace The Thamla rooms on lake side have the great jerokahs that extend out from the room. Sanjay and Natu are very helpful in advice and information on Rajastan. Good value for the cost. Bathrooms are basic, Breakfast on the roof is a highlight as is sunset watching the fading light over the old city

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the 3 lake fronting rooms and get breakfast included. There are also nice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had been to Udaipur earlier but never stayed in the 'tourist hub'. This time despite visiting the city in hottest time to travel (June) we enjoyed because we stayed close to City Palace. Thamla is a haveli (residence of rich people is known as Haveli in Rajasthan) converted into hotel. The location is very calm and one can have beautiful view of City Palace, Bagaur Haveli, Daiji Bridge and Sajjangarh from terrace of this Hotel. I clicked some great pictures of Gangaur Ghat, City Palace and Bagaur Haveli from here. I liked the place and dinner at roof top restaurant. It is not a large hotel so you get personal attention of staff and owner. Food is good for Indian palette. Staff is cooperative. The place is away from hustle bustle of city but yet at walk-able distance from City Palace. Auto rickshaws are available even in early and late hours though may quote you higher rates initially.

Room Tip: All rooms do not give you view of lake from room so if you are interested in getting view of lake fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddevarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#48 of 177 in Udaipur
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#75 of 177 in Udaipur
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
Hotel Hanuman Ghat
#88 of 177 in Udaipur
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 177 in Udaipur
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#35 of 177 in Udaipur
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treebo Udai Niwas
Treebo Udai Niwas
#77 of 177 in Udaipur
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thamla Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thamla Haveli

Address: Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £8 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Thamla Haveli 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Thamla Haveli is a lovely heritage hotel located at the shoreline of gorgeous Lake Pichola in Udaipur. As the name is suggests, it is built as a traditional Rajasthani mansion known as Haveli. The hotel offers an aesthetic view of the lake, old city & the Aravali mountain ranges. Few of the rooms provides such a lovely view that you'll feel like you are in a boat, not in the hotel. The natural settings, the mesmerizing view of the old city, the mystical music of the lake, enchanting sounds from temples will take you to an another era. Visiting the lake city of Udaipur is great thing, but we assure you that staying at Thamala Haveli is an unique experience.Hotel Thamla Haveli is here to serve you the best in best suitable price. Here you can stay in our comfortable rooms offering lovely lake view. The hotel offers you two dinning options one is the terrace restaurant and the other one is top-terrace restaurant, both the restaurants provides a wonderful dinning experience with the lovely view, romantic ambiance, soft-music and the delicious food. You can have lunch or dinner at our restaurants. Other services offered by us are Credit card acceptance, laundry, travel desk, safe, doctor on call, room service, Internet cafe,STD/ISD telephone etc.Hotel Thamla Haveli has total 10 elegantly appointed guestrooms which includes Deluxe and Standard category. Some of the rooms offers a lovely a view of the old city & the Lake Pichola.All the rooms are tastefully designed & beautifully furnished to offer a comfortable & cozy stays. The room amenities includes attached bathroom with hot and cold water, colour television with cable, room service, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Thamla Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing