We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and central location”
Review of Hotel Minerwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Minerwa
Ranked #107 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good and central location”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel Minerwa has a good and central location in Lal Gath. The staff is friendly and rooms are clean. They helped me book ceveral trips to the surrounding area. Of course they got a commission as it is usual.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    13
    5
    15
See reviews for
8
31
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for three nights. Minerwa is in a good position, near the City Palace and Jagdish Temple. Our room was not so big, but enough clean, anyway the bathroom was very little, and nobody in three days cleaned it. The Hotel is big and very noisy, at all time in the day and in the night. The owner said me that hot water was available, but it wasn't true, in three days I never found hot water and I always had cold shower.. You can't wash your clothes by yourself, but you have to use laundry service (not so cheap). On the rooftop of the hotel there is a nice restaurant with a good view, but the manager is very unkind, and the food not so fresh, the waiter are more interested in watching tv than in their work.
Furthermore I didn't appreciate owner's behavior...it seemed he had dubious business, he offered us a tuk tuk to do the tour of the city, and we paid too much for an half day service, he cheated us and took took man tried to suggest us to in buy in a shop where probably he takes commission. We were looking for a driver for 9 days to do a tour of India, so the intrusive owner (always more interested in what we were doing or looking for) offered us a driver, but the price was too high, we refused and he start being very roud with us.... the price of the room is too high for the service, I believe is possible find something better, don't stop here...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedeLilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel Minerwa is very well located in the center of the old town. This causes a little noise but if you take the higher rooms it is not a problem at all.
Rooms and bathroom were clean and decent sized.
The price was a little on the steep side (Rs 1000 for an air con room) but therefore the owner was a real help.

There is a nice rooftop restaurant to spend hot afternoons. Did not have any food there but the menu looked good.

Wifi Internet available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dromomaniac85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel has a great location, and a lovely lounging area on the rooftop. The rooms are fine but the bathrooms aren't particularly pleasant. From the cafe I would recommend the chai tea and I would advise against the "sizzlers" - a somewhat bizzare sizzling plate of still-not-quite-sure on a bed of lettuce. It basically went untouched.

Room Tip: Take a look at a few rooms before you settle on one - some are better than others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitiwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Possibly a hotel that is resting on its good write-up in the Lonely Planet guide, it is still not a bad option; best bit is the lounging area up on the roof, where one can relax and have a drink (the lemonana drink is particularly refreshing, lemon and mint). Clean but basic otherwise - the air-conditioning was a bonus, and only cost an extra 200R a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_ffrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Minerwa was the first place my boyfriend and I stayed in India. Clean with good food (they specialise in 'Special' lassies), amazing views and professional staff. It can get noisy - the door to our room seemed very thin at times and the hotel itself is on a busy road - but I think that happens where ever you stay in India. Overall, a place I would stay in again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel was quite empty when we have checked in and they told us that it is off-season. Because of this and since the room was on a lower level and quite dark, we have asked for a discount but they told us that 500 INR (Fan) is already a discount-price as the room would cost 800 INR otherwise. We were not sure if this is true as prices in Lonely Planet seemed to be lower but it is not unusual that the increase prices after a recommendation in LP. Nevertheless, it seemed to be a good price/value ratio in totel.

The have a very chilled rooftop restaurant (2 floors) where WiFi is available (good connection). Meals and drinks are tasty and decent value. During the day you can sit on the covered floor where they have cushions and cute little tables. When it is dark it is a great idea to sit at the highest level. Even though it wasn't booked out, here were always many people hanging out so it's easy to mean other travellers.

Location is great as everything is close by. We could store our luggage for free even though they were a little unflexible about staying longer in the room (check out is at 10am).

The agency next door seems to belong to the hotel. They do not look very professional but they managed to organise train tickets to Mumbai on a short-notice (most of the trains where booked out as it is holiday season) and we just had to pay 50 INR more per ticket. Great help!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#98 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greco House
Greco House
#8 of 255 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerwa

Property: Hotel Minerwa
Address: 5/13 Gadiya Devra | Gangaur Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Minerwa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Minerwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing