We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst ever experience”
Review of Sheesh Mahal

Sheesh Mahal
Ranked #41 of 733 Restaurants in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the worst ever experience”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Yesterday they topped the worst ever experience of any hotel/restaurant I ever had. So when you book for outside dining they have outside dining and super outside dining...which they don't even bother to inform when someone making a reservation. If you have a kid they don't allow you in library bar...which I found OK..even thou some restaurant even in US allow kids to be in places where alcohol and food is served.
So even in their super outside restaurant which is a eating place they don't allow kids....what are they trying to promote....not to have kids or not to get married so that you have kids. Ridiculous. whereas just 10 feet away you can eat with your kid....what?
May be Mr. Nair does not respect kids...may be someone in his house have noisy kids....so parents with kids you are banned.
Also here comes the big slap on your face....sir this restaurant have different cover charge....hey did you just x-rayed by pocket....dude after leaving your super insulting and kid banished hotel/restaurant I spend $1500 dollars in Udai Vilas which had no restriction whatsoever and their manners and service was impeccable. Leela you will never get a single dollar or rupee from me ever.
Also let me add this...we reserved the boat for 6:30pm which arrived like 7:00 pm. Last year they messed with my reservation and totally forgot about it...I thought its ok mess up happens in India so went again to get insulted to core.
Anyone wanna talk about this call me anytime....I will be glad to explain in detail.
Yes let me speak the name of worst restaurant manager 'Nilesh', he seems to have no brain at all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadhuSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    12
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My wife and I were visiting Udaipur for a wedding and planned a quiet night away from the festivities. I made a reservation by email before the leaving the UK and received a prompt response from the Food & Beverage Manager at the Leela Palace confirming this.

On arrival we were asked to wait in the courtyard whilst the doormen checked our reservations as we were not staying at the Leela Palace, once confirmed we were taken by golf cart to the bar as we were early.

The bar area was stunning with great views over the lake and the city beyond. When our table was ready we were taken to it and sat on the ground level with a fantastic view over the lake.

There was a traditional Rajasthani music and dance show taking place and this made the ambience even more amazing.

The food was fantastic - an extensive menu with something for everyone. Each dish we ordered was great. The pomp and ceremony with which we were served was amazing and helped make this a special evening.

A great evening in Udaipur - it's a must!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The views from Sheesh Mahal are spectacular and the food is good (thank you Chefs Kayzad and Puneet), however I definitely wont go back to this restaurant and possibly not even the hotel based on our service experience. Our reservation had been made by The Udaivilas where we were staying. On arrival, we were taken upstairs to the terrace and seated at a lovely table. None of the other tables were laid and we were told that the terrace was exclusively ours for the evening. Just as we placed orders for drinks, Nilesh the restaurant manager approached us and said we had to move downstairs to another table as his staff had botched up the reservation. He alluded we had not given accurate information related to our reservation to his staff. When we moved downstairs, our table of choice was not made available. Zero on ten for managing expectations Mr. Restaurant Manager. Anyway, to cut a long story short the clumsy service was topped by Nilesh not being available for the rest of the evening and Jatin the F&B Manager saying 'we are all human beings, let's pray that we get better'! On the flipside, we really enjoyed chatting with Chef Puneet. We rushed through desert so we could get back to the very warm and welcoming environment of The Oberoi Udaivilas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinayak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This restaurant is set on the patio overlooking the lake. Dancers and musicians play on the beautiful tiled area by the restaurant. There are many traditions used by the restaurant and the food is divine. This was a truly wonderful experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“unforgettable treasure..”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

the journey to the restaurant is made through a royal boat across the lake pichola..the serenity and silence of the water mesmerizes you. The entrance to the restaurant takes you to some other world! The live performances of Indian classical in the candle lit courtyard reminds you of some royal era.. the ambience, food and hospitality, everything is mind boggling.. one of the most romantic places in udaipur.. a place not worth missing.. prices are on a higher side, but worth spending for a lifetime experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rijuta_Mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheesh Mahal also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to Sheesh Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing