We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to spend an afternoon.”
Review of Indian Spice Box

Indian Spice Box
Ranked #23 of 86 Shopping in Udaipur
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A great way to spend an afternoon.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our tour group decided to all book in for a cooking class at the Spice Box. it was a really fun way to spend an afternoon in Udaipur.. The chef made the lesson fun and informative. A small booklet with recipes is provided and I have made several of the recipes at home. My personal favourite is the palak panee

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Entertaining Cooking Class!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were over seeing all the monuments, palaces and temples and found Shakti's cooking class a breath of fresh air. He was funny and entertaining and knew what he was talking about. We made chai tea, a few different dishes and got to eat it at the end. The food was delicious and I'm excited to try and recreate it at home.

Overall a great class! This is definitely worth your money and time. Shakti is AWESOME!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A relaxed class with a talented and fun teacher.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Shakti was an excellent teacher and explained the processes and ingredients used in Indian cooking very well. We began with a pot of Chai and that set the lovely, relaxed tone for the lesson. Even though some dishes looked daunting, we found we were merrily cooking every one of them by the end of the class. And then we got to eat the food we had made. I definitely picked up some helpful tips that will make cooking Indian food easier than it was previously.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daysease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A true taste of India”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We did a cooking class with Shakti who runs the Indian spice box. We had a entertaining evening learning the foundations of Indian food preparation. it was a good break from the many temples and palaces we have been visiting whilst here in India. Shakti shared Indian traditions and explained the importance of food buying and family cooking in India. Would highly recommend it if you have the time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous! We put in into practice back home!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Writing this review after hosting a Indian dinner party with friends last night! It took over 2 hours to clean up but the food was a hit!! Thanks Shakti!!!
We returned from India a few days ago and did the Spice Box cooking class in Udaipur last week.
On the morning of the cooking class we read the review below and almost cancelled. SO, SO glad we didn't! (Please don't let it bother you ... personally I think that girl and her boy must have gotten sick off something else they ate!)
Shakti was a great teacher. The others in our class were about an hour late so we were lucky in that we got extra time to chat with him and learn about Indian life. Definitely one of the highlight chats of our trip!
A tongue-in-cheek man, it was a funny class and easy to learn. You take turns being hands on and instructions are easy to follow. It was great to be able to learn how to cook Indian in an Indian way not the western way in which we normally eat it.
On return back to Australia we were super excited to go to the local Indian grocery store. We actually knew what everything was and it was easy to get everything we needed to re-create the dishes we had learnt to cook - at home.
In the class you learn how to cook a few dishes, but the great thing is that you learn how to create so many dishes off those. We followed what we had learnt and did a few spin off's from them and they really were great. I think that is the truth of how good a cooking class is ... We have done many overseas and in Australia (paying up to $250 per person per class and in spotless 5 star Miele kitchens), but I have to say that this is the class where we have actually come home and cooked everything that we have learnt!
Our only regret is that we didn't stock up on more spices at the shop. And that we can't run down the road to ask to learn more!
We would have been happy to pay extra for a class for just us two to do so.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGalQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Spice Box also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to Indian Spice Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing