We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent workmanship and timing”
Review of Gangaur Boutique

Gangaur Boutique
Ranked #8 of 86 Shopping in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gangar Boutique is one of the oldest premier designer tailoring boutiques in Udaipur. We specialise in suits, shirts, overcoats and dresses and over last 10 years have had the opportunity to design and tailor garments for international celebrities, including Judi Dench, Maggie Smith and Bill Nighy. We have also had the pleasure of tailoring for University graduates, young professionals through to travellers looking for bespoke clothes that reflect current fashion trends.thanksBest regards,
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent workmanship and timing”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our son ordered a dress suit from Rakesh - a beautiful silk jacket and two pairs of trousers - to be made in just a couple of days before he left for South Africa. It took a few fittings to get it absolutely right, but the result was great - exactly as promised and reasonably priced - and our son is delighted. I then ordered a skirt copied from one I had already and that too was a success and very reasonable.

We found the boutique when wandering through the town and only later discovered that this was the place used by several Indian as well as English friends. To judge by the photos in the shop, the cast of Best Exotic Marigold Hotel are customers too!

There are lots of tailors in Udaipur but we would highly recommend Gangaur Boutique - and will go back for more.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FJPfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    15
    3
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tailor”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Gangaur Boutique is run by Rakesh. His service and products are of a high quality. He offers the best quality fabric and craftsmanship as a tailor. I brought 6 suits and 7 shirts here and he sent them through to New Zealand as I was backpacking through India without any problems. I would highly recommend Ganggur Boutique to anyone needing any sort of tailoring done.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank verma188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice service, good product, right prices”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My husband bought 2 shirts here in February. We are very pleased. There was a good choice of fabrics, and the fitting was done carefully and professionally. The staff are polite and helpful, they don't hassle you and unlike other places the goods are ready when they promise them! We hope to return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TewesFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We met Rakesh while going for a coffee, right next door to cafe edelweiss. Perfect English, attentive, appreciation of client needs, and most of all gentle and certainly not pushy. We had a suit, 5 shirts and four pairs of pants tailored to fit perfectly within three days. Rakesh can deliver overseas, however we highly recommend going to see him as soon as you arrive in udaipur to include a fitting. Top quality clothing. Thanks Rakesh we will be back :)

Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“'What more can you want?'”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My experience of ordering tailored garments from Rakesh was very positive. He took my measurements during my one day visit to Udaipur in October, to produce a really well fitting jacket with delightful detail - covered buttons, cuff and pocket edging in the beautiful lining material. His design was original and sharply elegant. At the same time, I also ordered jackets for my 2 adult sons as Christmas presents. He produced these from measurements and photos sent to him. All three jackets arrived together, with weeks to spare. Excellent tailoring and service, from a charming guy who was genuinely kind, helpful and good tempered, unique clothing at reasonable prices - what more can you want?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilaryinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gangaur Boutique also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to Gangaur Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing