We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with superb staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trident Udaipur
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
185 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with superb staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights here in June-2011. Overall, it was an excellent experience.

Pros:
1. Staff are uniformly excellent.

2. We were especially impressed by the restaurant staff (everyone from the Chef through the wait staff and the trainees). They just took care of us like we were a house guest.
So pleasant!
We almost ate every meal in the hotel, because of the service from the restaurant staff.

3. Hotel is located very close to Lake Pichola. (you can walk around near the Oberoi and see the lake Pichola). Or you can organize a boat ride through the hotel. The "shared" ride (offered via hotel boats) is pretty much priced the same as the public boat rides offered by the city.

4. Extremely beautiful gardens. Nice pool.

5. Workout rooms. These could be a little bigger. I wish there was a dedicated place for stretching or doing some Ab-work.
Nonetheless, they had workout places.

6. Very quiet place overall. (it was slightly off-season when we visited).

7. We had a garden view. We loved it. We saw a peacock almost every day!

The hotel does have taxi/rental car facilities. We did not try it.

Cons....not much that comes to mind.
The only thing that was a blip was that they forgot to send us a taxi to the airport. So we had to suddenly organize a ride from the airport.
Later, they apologized for that.

Ok, Cons:
1. The rooms / bathrooms do show their age. Thats just wear and tear. I am presuming they will remodel some of it in the next few years. its not like the rooms are falling apart. But, you know its not "brand new".

2, No "free" internet. (thats kind of common in top Indian hotels).


Otherwise, it was an excellent time!
Hope to visit this property sometime next year as well! I doubt i would stay anywhere else in Udaipur.

Room Tip: I like the garden view myself. I doubt if I would have enjoyed the pool view rooms...at least not wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snod73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear Guest

Wonderfully crafted review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and appreciation. It really works as a great source of inspiration for the team.

Team Trident is pleased to know from your review that their efforts were so well appreciated.

I apologise for the inadvertent error of ours of having not sent the car at the airport and the inconvenience caused. I would like to assure you that remedial action has been initiated in this regard.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Udaipur.

Thank you and best regards.
Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    720
    113
    29
    16
See reviews for
918
825
75
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Had pretty high expectations for this hotel especially upon entering the driveway. The hotel is built on beautiful grounds (it shares the grounds with the 5-star Udaivillas) that are home to many Indian animals (they have feedings in the late mornings, which guests can attend). The staff was fantastic and helped us get settled immediately. The hotel also offers a great pool (perfect if you have kids but annoying if you don't), a hair salon, a spa, travel services and a bookshop. The hotel is also conveniently located near all the major sites (do not take the taxis by the hotel, especially if you're not Indian, since they will cheat you outrageously-walk down to the circle to get a better deal). However, the rooms are small and decorated with clean but very functional furniture. My issue with this hotel was the poor maintenance of the facilities in the room. When we arrived, every 15 minutes, there was a keening sound in the room. We had to have maintenance come and fix this after we had finished a long day of sightseeing. And then we discovered that the hot water wasn't working. We had to have maintenance come in not once, but three times to fix this problem. Given this hotel's price point, this is unacceptable. I also was not very satisfied with the food-if you are Indian, you will be amazed at some of the dishes that they call Indian. I had to send back paneer makhani three times because it was so bad (they finally realized that someone had forgotten to add garam masala). It's a shame since the service is excellent that the food is not quite up to par. Perhaps my experience was unusual but I really just find it odd that the hotel could allow problems that are so fixable beforehand to bother new guests. Given the unusual nature of these problems, I gave the hotel a better rating than my review suggests-hopefully management notices and fixes these issues because really, it's a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms and get a corner room w/a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanTourist78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Trident Udaipur. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

Positive feedback encourages our team to strive to perform better. It has always been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service.

Whilst most of the services and facilities offered to you were to your satisfaction, your comments on maintenance and quality of Indian food were of great concern to me. I have personally taken up the matter with the concerned department heads who have initiated remedial action in this regard.

Rest assured that your feedback shall be dealt with the seriousness it deserves.

We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to your future visits.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

I booked this hotel, as the room was available on a bargain. This due to a good off-season discount. And this was luxury personified for a middle class budget.

I have stayed at various hotels - all budgets, so many destinations. But the feel you get as you enter the hotel premises, the fragrant freshness starting from reception area, well manicured gardens and the courteous and well trained staff - make me forget any other experience.

The room was nice and well decorated overlooking a beautiful swimming pool set in the middle of a beautiful garden. The haveli look given to the window and a banyan tree just outside it made a truly majestic look. The weather outside was good and the lush greenery I could see outside was very inviting.

As I walked throught the greenery,towards Bara mahal, I had peacocks and cuckoos for company. This was better than what I can ever express in words. Once at Bara mahal(inside the property and maintained by Trident) and into the Monsoon room, the royalty sets in......The view of lake from here was awesome and you could only hear a few birds and peacocks. And talk of peacocks and keep counting here. The most unforgettable moment was to see two peacocks dancing on a small hillock some 50 meters from me.......one on the top and second on the bottom as if it was an opera. For almost 5 mins.I enjoyed this self indulgent dance - And who was watching this with me, a few more he and she peacocks, few other birds and some spotted deers. Breathtaking view. I missed my camera though. The blackberry camera could not really pick it up.

The staff was courteous and looked genuinely interested in taking best care of me. The breakfast was indulging with good variety. The restaurant has great views of pool and the aravalis. I enjoyed my beer sitting in the verandah the entire evening enjoying the occasional showers.

Wow!!!!!! is what I can say. It's clearly better than any other experience I had, including the ones inside the periyar and corbett on earlier occasions. I am cvertainly going to come back for a family vacations here.

I have attatched some photographs taken with my Blackberry device. But trust me the freshness which you feel and the breathtaking views can't be captured by anything- forget with a BB.

Room Tip: Take a poolside room on lobby level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerhimanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking out precious time of yours to share your experience with us following your recent visit to Trident Udaipur.

Your review has been shared with the team which is inspiring for all of us.

We look forward to welcome you back to Trident on your return to Udaipur. I take this opportunity to assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Thank you so very much, once again, for your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed twice on my way to Bhilwara

Good airy rooms with a view of the garden and if lucky like me can spot a peacock too from the window

Enjoyed a game of badminton in the evening on the lawns

Room service left more to be desired as got a wrong item which was not as per the order and clearance promised after 30 minutes never happened

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parimalpandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Trident Udaipur. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.
Positive feedback encourages our team to strive to perform better. It has always been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service.
Whilst most of the services and facilities offered to you were to your satisfaction, your comments on staff training and policy issue have been addressed and remedial action initiated. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused owing to this.

We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to your future visits.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

The hotel is very well maintained and nicesmiling staff.loved the lush green gardens and peacock dancing as u look from ur window.The only drawback was the confused staff regarding the policy towards udai villas.we wanted to have a spa at udaivillas they said yes first then no then yes.Since the gates of both trident and udaivillas are same.They allow u to access the property of udaivillas.Though the staff are mix of trained and under training i guess since we were in offseason.But, certainly i will be back.Since, the staff tried their best to make up for their mistakes.Keep it up, with a smile.The look from Monsoon palace(which is at hilltop), will tell u y trident is special., the only dense patch of greenery in udaipur.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anurag202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had the oppurtunity to stay at this luxurious hotel, well located with direct access to the lake, though the room did not face the lake. The staff is well trained, food served at the in house restaurant was very good though the menu could have been more expansive. Check in & Check out were seamless. Since On the check out day we had to leave quite early in the morning, the staff was courtieous enough to keep the packed breakfast ready !

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Trident Udaipur. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.
Positive feedback encourages our team to strive to perform better. It has always been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service.

Whilst most of the services and facilities offered to you were to your satisfaction, your comment on restaurant menu was of great concern to me. I have personally taken up the matter with the food and beverage team my team who has initiated remedial action in this regard.

Rest assured that your feedback shall be dealt with the seriousness it deserves.

We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to your future visits.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herlev, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

This fantastic is built on the shores of the Lake in Udaipur. It has wonderful gardens and a really fabulous swimming pool. Excellent restaurant with both Indian gourmet buffet and Indian and European Gouremt á la carte menu. Rooms are air-conditioned and have all possible amenieties. There is a wonderful ambience at this Hotel and a very charming and helpful staff. THey always arrange for their limousine to collect me and my co-travellers at Udaipur Airport and also drop us off on our way back to Mumkbai or Delhi. I can only say that this hotel will never disappoint any experienced traveller in any way whatsoever.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are the very best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronHerlev_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.

And a big thanks for your continual patronage.

It is heartening to get such reviews and, we are delighted that you have been enjoying your stays with us.

My team and I are inspired by your comments and look forward to your continued visits.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#19 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Udaipur

Property: Trident Udaipur
Address: Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#4 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#4 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident Udaipur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Trident Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident Hotel Udaipur
Hilton Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing