We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property, good service”
Review of Trident Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Udaipur
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel has one of the best kept grounds we have seen in hotels in India. It is well located with restricted but good views of lake Palace, monsoon palace and the lake pichola.
The hotel has its own historic monument (Bada Mahal), their own 'wildlife'' sancutary (basically wild boars and deers- more fun for kids to see). They are well equipped with a salon, fitness center (no spa), swimming pool and a kids center. The staff are helpful and efficient, always serving with a smile. Food was decent, not exceptional. There is only one restaurant. Udaipur is a bit limited on ''safe'' places to eat and we were not sure opf experimenting, hence the hotels were the main joints.
A minor point: the hotel guide does not give any details of where to shop or sight-seeing trips. The travel desk would be able top provide a day long cab, but on sight-seeing, read-up before you go. There are a number of souvenier shops lines just outside the hotel, but are a bit expensive- you can bargain.
Overall would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are lake facing rooms as well..ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmehra23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking out precious time of yours to share your experience with us following your recent visit to Trident Udaipur.

Your review has been shared with the team which is inspiring for all of us.

I have noted your comments on concierge services and have initiated remedial action. I assure you of definite improvements in this regard.

We look forward to welcome you back to Trident Udaipur on your return to Udaipur. I take this opportunity to assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,253 - 2,259 of 2,799 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

its one of the best family hotel in udaipur with unmatched hospitality and good location and property. trident provided with good service at affordable prices and will look forward to explore their more hotels.
the staff was very good , the rooms were neat and clean as expected. their was a good kids club to entertain kids and their were also some deers and peacocks in back of hotel,overall it was a great experience

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSHEELC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.

It is heartening to get such reviews and, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Trident Udaipur.

My team and I are inspired by your comments and look forward to your continued visits.
It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We have recently returned from India and as part of the trip we spent three nights at Trident Hotel Udairpur. We have travelled all over the world and have never experienced the commitment that the staff group have at this hotel. They are a credit to the organisation. The hotel and its grounds are fabulous but the success of this hotel is down to the atmosphere that the staff generate with their smiles and welcomes. This did not change what ever time of day it was or how long they had been on duty.

I cannot fault this hotel at all and would most certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and sparing time to post a review on the hotel and its services.

The team is "over the moon" and happy that they came up to your expectations.

We try hard to live up to our ethos and I am delighted that we have achieved that in small measure for you.

Hope to see you returning to Trident Udaipur again.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We were here just for one night and two days at the end of our Durga Puja vacation and the all of us yearned for more!

On the day of our check in, we got a call from the hotel enquiring about our expected time of arrival and that they were waiting for us..I know it's a routine but then you feel special!

On our arrival at the main gate, the security officer enquired about reservation name or number and I think it is a good thing that they do not allow random visitors.They had a list of expected arrivals and guests of residents.We were allowed in and the check in was very smooth.

We had a garden view room which was at one level lower than the reception but one never felt tucked deep in a basement!It was very comfortable.

Rooms were small but then that's expected in base category.The hotel should allow free internet considering that it has a mix of tourists and business travellers and also that people come here for long holidays.

The kids had a play zone with airconditioned indoor area with games as well as swings, slides etc. and a direct interaction with wildlife as they had a deer park.The swimming pool is pretty nice.The attendant (auntie for kids!) was a trainee but very warm and attentive .The kids were just not keen on leaving that area for sightseeing.

The view from the room was green and mesmerising and you can get into the romantic mode in no time!Too bad for us because we just had a day to ourselves and in that we had to pack in sight seeing and shopping.No time for love!

My friend's three year daughter had fever on the second day and as our train was in the evening, the hotel, upon request and without fuss, extended the check out time by about five hours in such a busy period.It was very nice of them and the gesture was well appreciated.Small things as such go a long way in turning a customer into a patron.

The breakfast at the coffee shop was very lavish and had choices for every one, vegetarians to non vegetariands and kids to adults.

You can get breath taking views of Lake Pichola even without going out as it is in the same enclosed area as Udai Vilas and the access to Lake area is free.As my mother had arthritis, a golf cart driver from Udai Vilas noticed her limp while walking back and just came across and offered a drop to Trident. Apparently that facility is only available to Udai Vilas residents and that is why this gesture was all the more special.Really high standards of hospitality and care from the Oberoi Group which owns both the hotels.They have instilled these values in their people and it stands them in good stead.

We did not have a station drop as part of our package but an Innova was arranged in no time at quite a reasonable cost .They took care that it had an over head carrier as we had a lot of luggage.

We will come back for a longer stay and soon!

Room Tip: Even the garden view rooms are good in case you have a budget in mind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PramodLunawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Dear Guest
Wonderfully crafted review!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and appreciation. It really works as a great source of inspiration for the team.

Team Trident is pleased to know from your review that their efforts were so well appreciated.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Udaipur for a longer stay this time.

Thank you and best regards.

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Trident – I stayed at these hotels in October/November. There were 3 of us and since they do not offer triple rooms we had two rooms which was fine. Each of the three hotels we stayed in (Agra, Jaipur and Udaipur) were almost identical (and by identical, I mean identical). The hotel grounds and common areas were different but the rooms and bathrooms were almost exactly the same. Even the breakfast spread was almost the same. The staff were all very nice and attentive at each of these hotels. It may sound strange but the lobbies always smelled really nice. My only negative comment about the Trident hotels was that they were kind of pushy with the reviews. I already knew I was going to put reviews on TA when I got home so I wasn’t really in the mood to do another one at every location. All of the hotels, guides and even restaurants seem to want reviews, so after a while it just became too much.

I think the grounds at the Trident in Udaipur were the nicest and this location seemed to have the most amenities. The grounds were quite sprawling and there was even an “animal sanctuary”. We went over to watch the nightly feeding and saw the deer and wild boar. Next to this area is an old hunting lodge. There is a nice caretaker who will show you around and tell you about the paintings on the walls which is cool. Apparently he has been working there for quite some time. This location also had the most vigilant security. At other hotels the metal detector seemed optional but here they made us walk through it every time.

The Oberoi is in the same gated complex. On our last night we had dinner at the Oberoi which was very nice. It was definitely more expensive than the Trident restaurant but not obscene. The restaurant was quite full, so get there early for the best seat (we got there early and had one of the nice canopy tables). My bill converted to US when I got home was $30. There was nice music being played and a dancer. The view of the lake was beautiful at night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Trident Udaipur. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Udaipur.

Thank you and best regards.

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Just spent a couple of days with a beautiful woman who treated me on my birthday. If you choose this hotel make sure you take advantage of the boat taxi to the hotel its fantastic and romantic. You get a taste of the quality of service from the staff when you board the boat. Don't be put off by the chequered black and white band on the cap of the staff similar to that of the police in london. Its the security at the hotel. The staff are polite and friendly. Enter the front door of the hotel and you are in for a treat. You could eat your dinner off the highly polished floors. Don't be afraid to ask for a room that doesn't suit you. We had an issue with rooms that smelt damp and smokey however after a bit of patience we ended up with one that was fresh and with a good view. The pool is beautiful, don't jump in too quickly assuming that it is as warm as the sun. The breakfast is superb. The managers are open for conversation and have a desire to serve. Overall a wonderful experience thanks pbx.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julianwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and appreciation. It really works as a great source of inspiration for the team.

Team Trident is pleased to know from your review that their efforts were so well appreciated.

I have taken note of your comments on smoke smell and initiated remedial action.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Udaipur.

Thank you and best regards.

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We recently stayed in room 167 in the lovely hotel in a great setting and great location. Whilst everything was good with the hotel and room, I am really sorry to say that we did not have a great experience with F&B.

On our first night we had drinks in the bar and asked the barman to book a table for 8 people in the restaurant. He called the restaurant to let them know. On arrival at the restaurant the lady we spoke to knew nothing of our reservation. She told us that she could not seat 8 inside but that there would be a table outside. We were taken by her outside. She then left and we were all stood there waiting. Eventually we asked a waiter for help. He again knew nothing and after repeating the whole story and a further wait, a table for 8 was set and we were asked to sit down for dinner.

I then spoke to another man about our lack of reservation. He informed me that he was the manager/supervisor. He apologised and offered us a free round of drinks with our meal.

When leaving that night the F&B team asked if we would be returning for breakfast. We said yes and they asked if we would like a table. We again said yes and agreed a table for 8 people at 8.00 am.

The next morning there was no table for us and we were seated at a dirty table. Some crockery and cutlery arrived but we were told that there were no side plates, spoons or napkins as they did not have enough clean!

The same man I spoke to at dinner spoke to me again at lunchtime and I explained about breakfast. Again he apologised. He asked if we would be coming for dinner. I said yes. In the end only 6 of us turned up - the other 2 having given up because at lunch when they ordered off the menu and one meal arrived, they were told the other meal would arrive in 20 minutes. When they explained that they were hoping to eat together, the waiter said he could have some soup whilst waiting. It was obvious that a couple would want to eat together!

All that said, our final dinner was perfect, but it took three meals to get it right.

Finally, we also found that it was difficult to get served drinks by the pool - the staff seemed to be preoccupied or absent.

There did seem to be a real F&B issue which I know a number of other guests made comment about amongst themselves and to other guests.

Here are a few tips for anyone going to India:

- avoid buffet food
- go vegetarian for the best chance of avoiding any tummy upsets (although this is not a guarantee!)
- ask hotels not to give you any notes larger than a 100 rupees - 500 rupees is good for tourist shops and restaurants, but really unwelcome when shopping, eating, going out locally
- on departure you will need to fill out a departure card so make sure you pick one up - if you don't ask/get one you might find yourself queuing twice at immigration!
- barter heavily when buying holiday gifts. Most things can be bought for 100 rupees or less, but only if you haggle and walk away - usually they will chase you and say 'OK 100'
- the people are friendly and chatty and at no time did we feel unsafe, but expect to be hassled to buy things or for food/money
- keep a stack of 10 rupees to pay for the use of washrooms
- if you are going as part of tour, don't eat in the hotel every night - do take the time to go local for an evening - most guide books will recommend a local restaurant or two - it is fun!
- best to buy alcohol in the shops and not in the hotel - big difference in price
- most hotels/tourist restaurants add taxes and service charges so the price quoted is not the final price - expect it to be quite a bit more
- when checking out of hotels they often charge you in your currency instead of local i.e. rupees. This will cost you more so always insist on being charged in rupees and check your receipt carefully to make sure they did!
- when changing money or buying anything - check your change carefully - often 10/20 rupees might be 'missing'
- only drink bottled water and check the seal

Room Tip: Pool rooms cost more but the garden view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to have been of service to you.

Positive feedback encourages our team to strive to perform better. It has always been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service.

Whilst most of the services and facilities offered to you were to your satisfaction, your comments on food and beverage services and inconvenience caused to your group guests were of great concern to me. I have personally taken up the matter with respective teams who have initiated remedial action in this regard.
I assure you that your feedback shall be dealt with the seriousness it deserves.

While I fully understand that this might have marred your impression of Trident Udaipur please allow me to assure you that this represents a departure from our normal standards of service and we would greatly appreciate an opportunity to correct your perception.

I take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times and look forward to your future visits.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 167 in Udaipur
3,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#12 of 167 in Udaipur
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 167 in Udaipur
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Udaipur

Address: Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#4 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £99 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident Udaipur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident Hotel Udaipur
Hilton Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing