We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel food of our 2-week trip”
Review of Trident Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Udaipur
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a very competent and attentive hotel. The dinner buffet was excellent, noteworthy for the variety of dishes, for including things well beyond the usual buffet fare, and for the great flavors.
The staff cheerfully helped me deal with a difficult to wrap and transport package, ensuring it arrived home with the contents intact.
The tasteful and artistic decor of the public areas made them a pleasure to be in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest

Wonderfully crafted precise review!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and appreciation. It really works as a great source of inspiration for the team.

Team Trident is pleased to know from your review that their efforts were so well appreciated.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Udaipur.

Thank you and best regards.

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,156 - 2,162 of 2,752 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

Beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting. Staff friendly and anxious to please. Food was excellent and restaurant staff deserve special kudos for friendly, attentive service. Hotel is hghly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe1000850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.
It is heartening to get such reviews and, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Trident Udaipur.

My team and I are inspired by your comments and look forward to your continued visits.
It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed in the Trident for two days.Whatever little time I spent in the gardens of the hotel was enchanting.Of special interest was the walk to the Pichola lake.The gardens are very well kept,the staff is very courteous and helpful, I only ate breakfast, it was sumptuous but does not serve South Asian food or pork products, at least I did not see any in the buffet.However, on one day, the staff were quite overwhelmed during breakfast because of a very large group and nobody from amongst the staff appeared to be in charge.The double room I stayed in was small but adequate,it had a lovely picture window looking into the garden.The bathroom was adequate and the toiletries good.During a very early check out, one managed to get a bit of breakfast before the official opening time of the dining room, for which many thanks.I would certainly recommend this hotel and plan to come again on a holiday.However, do find time to enjoy the walks and general ambience of the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and appreciation. It really works as a great source of inspiration for the team.

Team Trident is pleased to know from your review that their efforts were so well appreciated.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Udaipur.

Thank you and best regards.

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Shares the same entrance with Oberois but not the same view,rather no view of the Pichola Lake.Well maintained and lovely service by its so friendly staff.Rooms are decent and with garden view.Wish they had a terrace overlooking the lake or some other view of the Lake.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyotiprakashsahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.
It is heartening to get such reviews and, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Trident Udaipur.

My team and I are inspired by your comments and look forward to your continued visits.
It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed for 3 days 2 nights during our Rajasthan trip at the Trident (Oberoi group) in Udaipur. The property is set in a wonderful surrounding with a huge garden, overlooking lake Pichola. The building is in the purest Rajastani style and the gardens are perfectly maintained. But the best expeirence you will get in this hotel is the service provided by the staff, particularly at the restaurant. They will anticipate any of your needs, they will definitely go the extra mile to satisfy all your desires and requests. A real benchmark when it comes to service. We enjoyed our stay a lot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchguyinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Guest

Wonderfully crafted review!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and appreciation. It really works as a great source of inspiration for the team.

Team Trident specially the food and beverage team is pleased to know from your review that their efforts were so well appreciated.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Udaipur.

Thank you

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our stay was below the high Oberoi standards.

During our tour of Rajasthan we had previously enjoyed excellent stays at The Oberoi Maidens, Delhi and Oberoi Trident, Jaipur; our expectations were high. Alas our 3 night stay threw up a few disappointments.
Our arrival at 9pm, after a day of touring/travelling, coincided with a Hindu grooms wedding celebrations. After a jostle through the wedding guest crowds outside and inside of the reception we were swiftly registered and shown to room 116. The room was reached down two flights of stairs, no lift. On entering the room I noticed gifts; not for us but for a wedding guest. These were removed and the mini bar restocked? The room was cold (a cool 8f February night in Udaipur) and before going to eat dinner I raised the air con to 21F.
The meal with wine was excellent and very well served.
On returning to our room we swiftly got into the bed as the room was still cold. The air con was little more than a fan.
Our sleep unfortunately was repeatedly broken by in house phone calls from Indian wedding guests looking to speak with the "original" room booking. Then at 3.30am we were once again woken, this time by wedding guests in the corridor returning merrily after the first nights celebrations. A further wrong phone call woke us at 8am. A cold, sleep disturbed night.
Taking my shower I noticed that the enamel to the bath was wearing thin with spots of rust coming through. On cleaning my teeth I observed a cracked sink and the two bathroom tumblers contained residue dry toothpaste!!!!!
In a mean mood I took my concerns to the reception desk. The front house manager apologised and he said those areas he could remedy would be done so immediately. After a good breakfast we returned to our room (no change possible) to find a heater, a blanket, clean tumblers, a cake, half a bottle of Sula merlot and a letter of apology. Thankfully the phone calls ceased, the noisy guests in the corridor did not until night 3; the wedding guests had by then left.
We chose not to use the pool, nor did any other guest, as to have done so would have been offensive to the hundreds of finely dressed wedding guests passing through to the buffets held behind the swimming pool.
On a positive side the waiting staff, food and gardens were excellent.
I am sure with the allocation of a better room and the floor/wing segregation of tourists from party guests I would have been satisfied with my stay as I was at the Trident Jaipur.

Room Tip: Request when booking a quiet room with heating during the winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking out precious time of yours to share your experience with us following your recent visit to Trident Udaipur.

My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused owing to late returning guests, incorrect calls and inadequacies in housekeeping services. I have taken up your comments in all seriousness it deserves and initiated remedial action.

I have conveyed your generous comments to the food and beverage team which are truly inspiring for them.

We look forward to welcome you back to Trident on your return to Udaipur. I take this opportunity to assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at Trident for 3 days 2 nights from Feb 18 to Feb 20, 2012. General check in time is 12 pm. Our train scheduled time was early morning and we reached hotel around 8 am. We were welcome with roses bunch (our marriage anniversary) and welcome drink of Watermelon juice. Staff attended us immediately and explained about the property. Unfortunately there was no vacant room (for early check in) as there was already heavy booking with lots of guests in hotel and corporate conferences going on during that time.
We had booked pool view room and requested if we can get any room to rest untill our room is available. With in 30-40 minutes they provided us room to rest and freshen up. Later on they made our room available.

Hotel is located near wall city, away from small crowded traffic roads of city, still easily accessible, near lake Pichola. Autos and taxis are available outside hotel gate to take you for City trip. You need to bargain since they will ask for more money as you are coming out of Trident :-).

Hotel surrondings are beautiful, lot of trees, big garden, play area for kids etc. For a morning walk you don't need to go out of the four walls of hotel because it is such a big and beautiful place, you may not feel like going out.

Rooms, lobby, restaurants and other parts of hotels are maintained very well, rooms are clean with all fascilities, coffee maker, fridge, TV with cable, locker etc. We were able to see many peecocks roaming around pool side in the morning.

Food is excellent with lot of variety from Indian to Continental. Restaurant staff was prompt, courteous and helpful. Met our all demands and suggested food choices during breakfast time.

Staff at gate security, reception, gate keeper, restaurant, housekeeping, hotel lobby, pool side were very polite, smiling and friendly. Every time we asked reception staff they guided us about city, places to visit, good restaurant in city and how to get to different places.

Reasonable deal with so many fascilities of 5 star hotel. Can't ask for more and have to say "Me and my family loved it" . I wish I had more time and could stay over there to relax & enjoy. I would love to revisit Udaiput and stay in Trident only.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roopesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trident-Udaipur, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and sparing time to post a review on the hotel and its services.

The team is "over the moon" that they came up to your expectations.

We try hard to live up to our ethos and I am delighted that we have achieved that in small measure for you.

Hope to see you returning to Trident Udaipur again and again.

Kind regards

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager
dhiraj.mehta@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 165 in Udaipur
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Udaipur

Address: Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#4 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £139 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident Udaipur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident Hotel Udaipur
Hilton Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing