We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the ambience”
Review of Trident Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Udaipur
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2009

The single floored hotel with a light coloured decor alongside the lake Pichola is set in perfect tone to take you back to the times of Maharaja's and Maharani's. The hotel has a very good staff which is polite and very hospitable.

The breakfast spead is fantastic and the view from the dining area is breathtaking and serene.

I could keep going back here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RajeshMalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,447 - 2,453 of 2,753 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel last year and the kids loved it. Great pool, lovely lawns and gardens and a kiddy play area.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ketan-Adesara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

If you are in Udaipur and have run out of places to stay and are looking for a bed to sleep on and nothing else (food, service, accessibility etc.) then this is the place you should choose after some serious thought.

The hotel appears to be a training ground for the employees of the chain that runs it. Obtaining a room here is not much of a problem, its the walk down the very long and musty corridors that makes you wish you had not stepped in.

The one thing that left a lasting negative impression of the place was the false sense of good service. And I quote examples
1. The morning news paper never arrived despite staff saying that it will be delivered in a moment and this was on allthe three days we stayed there
2. The food is terrible and unimaginative; menus are repeated for lunch and dinner and day after day. Guests would be induced to eat sometjing if the same dishes were named differently on any day - but no, there seems to be a take it or leave it attitude - dishes are named (hold your breath) - "Fish", "Chicken","Lamb" etc.
3. Rooms can be as musty as the corridors; we requested for a room change as we had been allotted a suffocating room at the end of the corridor (and the corridor is some 200 mts long); The hotel chose to be kind and allotted us rooms on two different floors which just meant more walking and more negative memories
4.This is perhaps the most disturbing thing about the hotel - The staff 'appear' to listen to guest comments, but they are never actioned despite promises made while bending over backwards.

I seriously advice any one contemplating a stay here to reconsider. It may ruin your much looked forward to holiday in beautiful Udaipur.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank HindoostanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentHotels, General Manager at Trident Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time and attention in posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

It has always been our focus to provide all our guests with personalized service they rightly deserve. Your feedback shall assist us in improving our services.

I shall personally review all your comments and initiate necessary remedial action.

I assure you that your feedback would be dealt with the seriousness it deserves.

My team and I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back. I look forward to meeting you personally and ensuring you experience true Trident hospitality.


Sincerely

Dhiraj Mehta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

The hotel trident offered a three day package for small families. It has an excellent location with great and spacious interiors. The rooms are quite large, quite and well decorated. The pool is nicely located with good servcies. The Buffet dinner was very delicious and was liked by whole family. The only negative point is that it is slightly away from main city, but than you can not ask for all these in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank drdeepakgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

I found this hotel to be a good hotel of its category. We stayed there in low season and found the hotel to be of very good value. The check in was very welcoming. The pool was nice. The rooms are good for its category, but you can not open the windows, and they don`t have diet coke in the mini bar, so you have to order from room service which were very slow at answering the phone.
>The a la carte is better than the buffet.
The hotel is a bit out of town takes about half an hour to walk.
but all in all I had a very nice stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glukos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

After booking this somewhat expensive hotel for the main purpose of using their "heated" pool at christmas day, with my young daughter, we were all extremely disappointed that the pool was ice cold and could use it only for a very brief period. If I would have known that the pool was this cold I would have not spend the money on this place. The rooms for the price are also very small. The hallways always had cleaning/maintenance carts making the place look like a motel rather than a premium hotel. The children club was pathetic and the puppet show lasted all of 10 minutes at most. Food is only OK .
On the positive side, the grounds and the lobby are quite lovely and the service I have encountered, aside from the delayed check in and the hotel's inability to get us a king size bed was exemplary. Also, the hotel provides a wonderful boat ride along the lake.
I have to say that this hotel was the worst value for us during our three week stay in Rajasthan.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AwesomeSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We had booked ourselves in one of the highly rated small hotels in Udaipur and on checking- in found it below average. So we checked out of there immediately and were lucky to get a room in the Trident where at least the basics were taken care of.

Trident is located next to the famous Udaivilas and for me that added a little to the appeal. The rooms and most of the interiors are like any five star hotel - no extra effort to make it special. The breakfast was also good. Service is super efficient in parts and completely off the mark for certain things like restaurant bookings and even suggestions about things to do.

The treadmills in the gym were creaking and the a/c did not work ! The pool looked pleasant though

One really great thing about this hotel is the little jungle behind which is a part of the premises and in the evenings you can see peacocks and other birds, deer and wild boars being fed

I also liked the location of the hotel which is a little away from the chaos of the city and yet close enough to make several trips up and down

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.7 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 165 in Udaipur
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Udaipur

Address: Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#4 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £139 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident Udaipur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident Hotel Udaipur
Hilton Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing