We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical unforgettable experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A magical unforgettable experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This has to be one of the best hotels in the world, it's just amazing. From the moment you arrive you know you're for a real treat, the staff are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Then you have the lovely boat ride over to the hotel while everything else is just managed, as you step into the hotel, it really is a royal welcome, the rose petals rain from above, it's a bit like you're a really good friend that just returned, everybody knows your name and it really does feel like they've been waiting for to get there. The hotel itself is just immaculate, it feels magical and it is the epitome of luxury, you will want for nothing in this hotel…the biggest issue will be when you have to leave. We stayed 3 night but could have easily stayed 3 months. It's a very intimate boutique style of hotel, the kind of place you'd want to go lock yourself away in. It has all the facilities (and more) you'd expect from a top class hotel and the restaurants are amazing, we had some of out best meals in this hotel. Can't wait to go back. If you prefer the larger resort style of hotels with entertainment etc or a more central location, this place is not for you nor do I think it would be a great place for children. It best suits couple seeking an exclusive and perhaps reclusive retreat in the finest of surroundings!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,578
    187
    36
    16
    12
See reviews for
667
1,476
98
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This vacation is a dream come true for more than one reasons. Because it was materializing after a long time. Because i had seen the settings in many movies – English and Hindi. And it was supposed to be an architectural marvel, a fusion of Hindu, Mughal and Saracen Architecture. And I have always wondered the creation of men – mighty, magnificent, elegant and extravagant. Yet when we saw for the first time – a huge, lofty marble wonder – from the speedboat with my wife transfixed to its magnificent sight, it was simply breathtaking. Our butler for the stay – Sreekant Ravindran – was fluent with his probably oft-repeated narrative, “this palace was constructed in 1746 as a pleasure palace, later converted as a summer palace of the Rajput kings of Mewar. It was here the families of the Europeans took shelter when attacked by the rebels during the Sepoy Mutiny – my wife was quick to correct it as the First war of Indian independence. But Sreekant continued, “it is said that the Rana captured all the boats in the vicinity so the rebels could not make it across the Pichola lake.” We saw the vast expanse of the lake bordered by the Aravalis on the backside and a retinue of palaces on all other sides. The present dwelling of the current “king” of Udaipur HH Arvind Singh Mewar and his City Palace was on my right. The City Palace was partly a museum and partly a regal hotel run by the Ranas themselves. Princess Bhargavi Kumari Mewar was running it. The management of the Lake Palace was in the hands of the Taj and the Tatas deserve all the credit for retaining the heritage of the Indian Princely States, at least some of them lest the ravages of time and elements would have ruined the palaces. There may be newer, larger and more modern hotels to stay in but these can be found in any city around the world. Not so for The Lake Palace which is a unique experience. Staying there gave me the warm, happy feeling that I had absolutely made the right choice of hotel. Go for it - Its great. The real highlight was indeed the location- getting up at sunrise for the City Palace/lake sunrise and meandering cocktail-in -hand, through historic courtyards, terraces and rooms with majestic views and jewelled frescoes was fabulous. A luxury 20th century hotel (such as Udaivilas), could never supplant the atmosphere and location even if they could (somehow) better the service. 

Putting an end to my thoughts we disembarked on the private jetty of the hotel, two elaborately dressed of durwans holding ornate umbrellas over our heads though there was any rain. But it still showered. When i looked up it was a torrent of rose petals showered by lovely lasses, all in brocade and period jewelry. Now it was the Taj no doubt. The magical experience started at the boat dock, just a few steps away from the city palace, where we were greeted with fresh limeade and a marigold garland. From there, a boat took us across the lake to the hotel entrance where you are received by your butler and the doorman. Our butler or hostess gave us a tour of the hotel’s grounds, an open air bar, and lounge, a courtyard, beautiful gardens, restaurants, pool and spa. After a grandiose welcome at the hands of the lovely ladies who garlanded us and put vermilion on our foreheads, we were taken in. The only thing that was a misfit for the occasion was our crumbled clothes and a slightly soiled appearance of ours after a tiresome train journey from Sawai Madhopur where we had ineffectively trailed the tigers in the off-season and had no occasion to change or dress up. The first gratifying thing we noticed was that the lake was full and the palace was really floating.The short boat ride in the water taxi from the jetty to the hotel gave us a view of the City Palace and the beautiful waterfront of Lake Pichola. Greeted upon arrival by the reception staff and the Operations Manager, Sumir Yadav, we enjoyed fresh-squeezed mango juice and relaxed in the glass-enclosed lobby. Before being escorted to our room, our butler gave us a tour of the grounds and pointed out the various amenities available to us during our stay. 

Thanks to prior intimations and all that, we were taken train to the suite – Sajjan Niwas – a mini palace in itself. 1200 sft of sheer, decadent luxury. Superb suite with stained glass windows.  . A huge living room, square, carpeted, with period furniture, all European. Huge wrying tables, sofa and settees and decorated chairs. All shining in black. If it was the way the kings lived it was inevitable they had to give it up all for lesser mortals. The bedroom was what i had seen in the Google picture albums – a huge bed with Italian linen, Shrike snippeted. Luxuriant pillows, the only difference from the Rambagh Palace was that the bed was not canopied. There were paintings of Radha Krishna, Rasaleela and palace maids in all natural colors. The sands of time have not eroded their beauty. The bathroom was another example of decadent luxury. A full size tub, ready for a luxury bath with rose petals, luxury bath salts, scented oils and the works. - all for her. A giant soaking tub with a panoramic view of the lake from the tub too! You simply could not find a better experience. Nothing is over looked. This hotel is worth every penny... The curtained cubicles with the WC and rain showers for lesser mortals. Shrikant took us back to the living room. The room with the views – full windows facing the lake. From the alcoves of the bedroom we felt we were rather in a yacht rather than a palace. The living room opened to a huge marble terrace. There was a classic jhoola and a balcony from where the kings gave audience to the citizens or watched the courtesans performing one of their ghoomer dances – fascinating as ever, enchanting as ever. We would get to watch it in the evening, Shrikant told. Vow. In all, The hotel’s public spaces are quite stunning and it is a pleasure to just stroll around the hotel and enjoy your surroundings - a guide will take you round if you wish. The sense of opulence when dining amidst the famous lily pond is ever apparent and there is a good standard of cuisine at the Lake Palace's restaurants.  If you want the ultimate in luxury, service beyond compare and a setting right out of a fairy tale, the Taj Lake Palace will live up to your every expectation. Our two-night stay during our recent three-week tour of India was everything we'd hoped for and more. The lavishness here makes you feel regal, without being stuffy. Our stay of three nights seemed too short as there are many extraordinary amenities to enjoy such as the floating spa and private dining in the gardens or elsewhere. We would highly recommend the Taj Lake Palace to anyone who is contemplating a stay here. The Lake Palace casts its spell on you from the moment you take the boat from the jetty point to get to the palace doors - now a spectacular lobby. The palace is magical to say the least - where else on earth would you find a hotel with so much history, opulence and luxury - all rolled int


The checkin. Shrikant stretched a pad. One page, filled out on which to sign. The inevitable ID Proofs for me and my wife. Credit card authorization. All complete in the room itself. Within minutes. When we were left to ourselves, we hit the bath. My wife to the tub and i to the rain shower. After soaking in water for an hour scratching and scraping of all the fut we gathered in the desert journey overnight, we felt very hungry. There were 360 degree views from the roof. We had a magnificent view of the City Palace and Udaipur from our room complete with a couch in front of the windows! We just sat there enthralled.  While in Lake Palace when you have rooms in Royal Suites and above, you don't get lost anywhere. There is one button on the telephone. Palace services and the butler appears to serve all your eccentric needs. He is more than a concierge. He is near you always, and you can make him disappear at the wink of eye when you need privacy. So when Shrikant escorted us to the Jharoka – all day restaurant, we had our pick of the table on the huge window facing the lake. The Jharokha is a great venue overlooking the Lake . Neel Kamal is their fine dining restaurant serving wood-fire cuisine. We would see it later, we assured ourselves.. The staff really know how to pamper you and make you feel like Royalty. The waiters here wear an elaborate Sheridan and huge turban. And they treat you like royalty. We are fundamentally foodies and nothing on the menu card suited us. And we informed so. Pat came the chef – a young little boy with his disarming smile. Rahul. He had magic in his hands as we would tell the GM, Shyam Kaikini the following day. The simplest of the food items dished out by Rahul had a unique royal touch. My wife was all smiles when Rahul churned out some masala poha.. Parched rice). I had my share of some non-veg items, smoked salmon included. We asked for some fish preparation for the lunch. And again continued with the palace tour. high-ceilinged rooms, suites, huge corridors. Our own suite had marvelous glass inlay works. Siddharth Jain Operations Manager called on us while i was in the smoking room facing the other side of the lake. A staunch young man who knows his job. Entertaining guests, those discerning guests who do not take anything less than what they are accustomed to. He narrated what was around to see. Between coffee-breaks he said that Sreenathjii Dwar was one of the famous temples frequented by Ambanis. At a distance of about and one and a half hours of ride. But darshan would be difficult. But no problem. He had his connects. One of the priests over there. We planned our visit for the following day and continued with the palace tour, which we continued in the evening also after tea in our living room. This time formally. Big big chandeliers. Stretches of white marbles. Huge portraits of bearded kings. Reminiscence of royal splendors. Royal durbars, war cries and victory processions. Evenings with ethereal music and folk dances. Political maneuvers and fine prints in agreements. They have all left their imprints – loud and clear for the discernible. Palace intrigues and zanana gossip. The palace has seen it all and survived all the ravages of time. The garden is lush, beautifully tended and heavy with the scent of tropical flowers (and no mosquitoes that we noticed). The service was faultless and the staff were friendly and helpful. 

The evening saw all the guests trooping to the central court where musicians were wiring and tuning their instruments = drums and fluitsand clarinets. Two girls in beaded, glass-fixed jumpers and huge petticoats bedecking themselves with sliver and bead jewelry. The scenario was for an evening of music and dance. My favorite ghoomer dance, i hoped. Within moments the music began followed by rhythmic movements of the girls who pirouetted around the courtyard, with their sylph-like figures bending backwards, sideways and forward with rhythmic sync with the music that was rising and ebbing in tune with the mood of the players first and the audience next. Even quite a lot of foreigners who did not understand a note or word were rolling their heads their wine glasses untouched. When it ended it appeared like a wild awakening from the dreams. The service at the hotel is of the highest quality and the staff are very attentive and go out of their way to be courteous and helpful at all times; my only slight gripe on this account, was that it could take a while to get served drinks at the bar around dinner but I then you can’t have everything.

The hotel had provided flowers and all puja materials for us. Our evening puja lasted till 1030 pm and we were so tired with all the tours around the palace. Though we had an appointment in the ethnic restaurant Neel Kamal, we had to content with room service. The room service in the Lake Palace was an elaborate affair. The lights, the carpet, the uniformed butler serving your wine and starters before embarking you on to the varieties of palace delicacies none too simple by the normal standard, none too expensive by palace standards. The sleep in the bedroom had a royal touch again something to do with the aromatic oils we had applied and the luxurious bath we had earlier. The pillows and the bed had magic in them and slept into the morning like babies.

The ride to Sreenath Dwar took about one and a half hours and was interspersed by various anecdotes of palace life let known by our butler and the well informed driver. The huge crowds in frond of the temple was a dampener. But Madan the contact priest of the hotel seemed highly influential. A bit ashamed we were to use the strings for a smooth darshan. But the priests in the temple have made it so difficult that unless you have a godfather over there it would be next to impossible to have a darshan of God. The temple is great and so is God. Of course we had to give a handsome tip to the priest. Our return journey was pebbled with many descriptive stories from our butler. Shrikant like any other butler of the Taj is highly resourceful, well informed, courteous, courtly and a linguist too.

There were places to see. But we have not seen the palace fully. The lunch was at the Jharoka again. This time around Rahul was not there. But there was Manish Joshi, executive chef. He concocted some flavorsome dishes at this late hour and we were so delighted. The only thing we regretted was we did not have enough appetite. The waiters make you feel even if for the moment that you are royalty revisiting the palace after a long sojourn. All handsome like ready for a modeling shoot. We became a fan of Manish Joshi. In fact when Shyam Kaikini, GM met us that morning in the breakfast table and inquired about our well being I had told him. The magic in the hands of his chefs. Shyam was a corporate honcho till some time past. But the way he managed the heritage hotel, your would tend to believe he was born in the hotel industry. Everyone speaks the language of inimitable hospitality – the Taj signature hospitality, unmatched by anyone else in the hotel industry worldwide. Who else than me could say this? Widely traveled, i have seen the hotel brands of all types. Luxury, boutique, business and budget hotels. But the Taj excels in every aspect of hospitality. Tired as we were, we would not miss the evening dance recital. Enchanting, captivating – all adjectives useless. Even if you ask the foreign guests glued to their seats not leaving the vantage points for their cameras.

It was the third day when we had decided to make a visit to Chittoorgarh, the fort of the legendary queen Padmini but the morning news about Anna Hazare's followers calling the bandh. Tied up with the palace, we crossed the lake and visited the City Palace. Beautiful. The paintings give a clear picture of the way royalty lived. Their political intrigues. Their romance and chivalry. It is not for nothing that Firsthand intrigues any traveler and enlists him for a lifetime as a repeat visitor. Like Rajasthan, like Lake Palace. Where, it is the birdsong that woke us in the mornings - delightful. 

The swimming pool over there is not very huge or deep. But the princely settings of the pool makes it so special that hours of soaking in did not satiate me. The pool was fairly small but considering it is in the middle of the lake it is hardly surprising. The staff were amazingly attentive and very friendly. There are so many charming nooks and crannies to sit and contemplate the beautiful surroundings. There's a lovely water garden in an interior courtyard with pots of colorful petals. There is also a pool with sunbeds near the Spa and views to die for. I should mention also that there is an area with a few shops which I found had both reasonable prices and excellent quality. 
We wanted to utilize the jacuzzi but it was very hot and told so. The lifeguard over there called a few workmen , emptied the jacuzzi pit and filled it again with warm water so we could soak in for at least an hour. For the evening walk before the theater experience with the dancers you just walk around the four acre palace. Good enough. We made it to Neelkamal restaurant on the penultimate night. A full show kitchen, where you can sit and watch the staff cook up incredibly tasty food.  That day, we had dinner in the Neel Kamal restaurant and it was the best Indian food I've had for some time. The Chef, Chote Lal had line up his whole crew, even the musicians for our dinner over there. What was lovely to my mind about this hotel were the small touches - the musicians in the restaurant were ace - musicians at hotels playing in the background are not always top quality.  I had already asked for some Lucknowi starters like Galauti Kabab and my wife's favorite was anything dished out of the country stove there cooked with firewood. WE were given a warm welcome and we were embarrassed to have detained them late. We started with the starters and there were many in the line up. The galauti kabab was just delicious. Any other description would be a misfit here. But maas ke sule, a mutton preparation of mutton was really superb. The chef knew it was late and the following day was our check out. So made out some sample items for our sake and even that was too much for is. What mattered was their unadulterated love for the guest. Their wiliness to walk the extra mile to satisfy the guest. The Neelkamal was unique not just because of its desi decor. Not just because of the rich menu that gives a real flavor of Rajasthani and other Indian cuisines, but because of the people who man it, run it and entertains its guests. I would make a special mention of the F&B Associates. And the chefs Manish Joshi, Chhote Lal and not the least Rahul, who captivated our minds forever with a vow to come again.

Next day during our break fast I told this to Dilip Nair, F&B Manager said it again – the Lake Palace was not just made of marbles but it is made of people who man it, rewriting the rules of Indian hospitality. When it was time to check out, Afrikaner brought out a memento from Siddharth Jain who was off duty that day. I could not see Kaikini either. He was out on a meeting. So it was Dilip Nair who saw us off. As he came down the steps to the jetty to board us on the hotel boat, all the front office staff came running to bid farewell to us, we felt we are leaving our family on a long vacation. Our luggage boarded in the other boat as we reached the far end of the lake, we had reason to be elated. Still some moments until our luggage arrived, which did at last. On our way back Shrikant who escorted us also shared our melancholic mood. Manish Joshi had packed some sandwiches and kichdi – for the road or air, as one may take it. A special word about house keeping. Thanks to the Executive Housekeeper Ranjit Das and his assistant Vandana. The housekeeping was excellent and every corner was squeaky clean and all the furniture and fixture was gleaming and glistening. Service was always timely and non-intrusive.

We had not gone to Lake Palace with an agenda. In fact one does not need an agenda at the Taj because the Taj is an agenda in itself. The only complaint we had was that the palace tied us up eternally to its charms and beauty that we could not see any other place in Udaipur. But the main agenda of seeing the palace in all its charms and splendor and unmatched hospitality again and again stayed forever in our mind. Some desires never die, even after you had achieved them. The Lake Palace is one. I cannot praise the staff enough in this hotel they make you feel very special and welcome and are as much a part of the experience as the hotel itself. It is also worth noting that although the hotel is expensive, the services within the hotel are not and are very reasonable indeed If the Tatas make huge profit from the Taj Chain of Hotels, they did not make much with me. For me it was real value for money. We have promised ourselves that everytime we are in Rajasthan we will have at least one night at the Lake Palace.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank krishnamrutam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at the Lake Palace and I could spend the next year writing about this place, the history, the people and the service and I would not do it justice.

This stay was our 2nd time at the Lake Palace. The first time was 19 years ago when my wife (then my girlfriend) and I were touring around India. As we were both just finishing our respective professional schools, we could only afford to spend 1 night at the Lake Palace – and that was the night I proposed to her, on a balcony looking back across Lake Pichola at an illuminated City Palace. We wanted to share the special place and memory with our children on this trip to India.

We booked the Moonson Package - a fabulous deal– which included transfers from and to the airport as well as dinner 1 night (with a bottle of wine) at one of the restaurants in the Lake Palace. From the moment we exited the Udaipur airport and were whisked off to the Lake Palace in a Range Rover to our drop off in Jaguar 3 days later, we were treated gently and professionally by every member of the staff.

The boat jetty has moved from where it was to a newer an more opulent location complete with couches and tables and waiting area. The arrival at the Palace itself was lovely – we were showered with rose petals and greeted warmly by staff and immediately made to feel at home….no easy feat in a palace. I should mention that at this point, our children were in a state of pure joy and happiness.

I had asked for the same room as we stayed in on our first visit, however that room was not a connecting room and we had also requested connecting rooms to be be close to the children. Upon arrival we were offered 2 connecting rooms as we had reserved, but the staff was kind enough to offer us another option in thanks for us returning to the Lake Palace. We were offered -and kindly accepted –the opportunity to be upgraded to one of the historic suites, the Khush Mahal. The suite was beyond words, and at this point I believe our children were absolutely vibrating with excitement – and I must say, I was a little dumbstruck. There was no need for the hotel to upgrade us, but they did as a special thank you to us for returning – and it made our visit to the Lake Palace even more special.

A special word of thanks to Mr. Siddarth Jain the operations manager and also to Ms. Aparna who so kindly attended to us at the start of our visit and throughout.

As noted above, I could go on and on about the service and still not do the level and professionalism of the service its due justice. What I can say is that I travel extensively for work and also for pleasure, and the level of service at the Lake Palace is head and shoulders above any other hotel or property that I have ever stayed at. Some examples of the beyond your expectation service – a bookmark placed in my paperback, rose petals and bath oils placed in the bathroom for a lovely soak in the tub; fresh fruits in the room daily; a surprise sweet item every night in the room and for your techies, an unprompted visit from an IT representative to quickly fix the fact that our computer, iphone and ipad could not share the same wireless connection.

The best way to put it, is that we all very quickly felt at home in the Lake Palace –not like our home exactly – more like a really rich uncle’s home with lots of staff to look after us. This feeling and the beautiful evirons of the Lake Place make it a luxurious and wonderful break from the real world. There is no doubt that staying here is a splurge for most of us, but the memories are beyond any monetary value.

Some of the earlier reviews seem to take issue with the condition of the hotel – but I can say that we walked the entire Palace several times and it is in great condition. I understand there was a recent renovation, and I can tell you that there is constant maintenance being done - though it is not obvious or disturbing in any way.

A word on the food, we ate at both of the restaurants and the food is exactly what you would expect from a 5 star hotel of this type. We tried both Indian and continental fare, but the highlight was the thali at Neel Kamal – an abosulte must do – but go hungry, very hungry as the food is plentiful and absolutely delicious. At the end of the meal, the chef came out to say hello to us and presented us with little recipie books containing some of the dishes we had just enjoyed. I should say that the chef greeting happened at both restaurants – and the kids started to feel a bit like celebrities!

While this hotel was already special to us, it is even more so now. After our experience at the Lake Palace I cannot imagine visiting the city of Udaipur and staying anywhere else – the Lake Palace is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the City Palace - it is illuminated in the evenings and is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YYZpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Absolutely majestic is what one could describe this beautiful place. had gone on just a one night and a two day trip to the lake palace and were spell bounded by its immaculate architecture. the hotel is indeed a marvel and a travellers delight. One need not step out of the hotel during his/ her stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kunalbehl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Taj Lake Palace is definitely one of the best experiences in India. I have lived in Udaipur for 20 yrs but never stayed at the Lake Palace. This weekend we booked the LP for two days and those days were pure bliss. The hotel stands on an Island and the building is nearly 250 years old. The rooms are beautiful, a lot has been preserved from the old palace. We got a room with the view of the main palace building. The joy of being surrounded by the beautiful Pichola lake, even just below your window is exceptional. The staff is usual Taj, very courteous very helpful. But the best part is the food. You can order anything to eat, or try anything the restaurants and you will not be dissappointed. Being in Udaipur, this experience is a must!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JetSet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

The Lake palace is one of the best experiences of my lifetime.

The journey to Udaipur started from Bangalore to Rajastan. Although the travel was on work my memory doesn't remember stress or work dilemma.

Once landed we had a long drive to the Lake Palace only to be aww'ed by its beauty.

As we entered men on Elephants and Trumpets greated us and ushered us towards a small boat which transported us from the entrerance to the doorstep of Lake Palace.

Greeted with flowers and welcome drinks, I was shown to the various sections of the Palace. Since on work I could not get out during the day however as the day ended we were excited to get dressed and enjoy the few days out in Taj.

My room overlooked the central path where a Ganesha Idol was kept and garden surrounding it. Coming down from my room, the art effects were astonishing from Daggers to Elephant idols, from Swings to wall art.

This place has some of the most courteous staff members.

Walking out into the night, a long boat awaited to take us round the waters with food and music. As I drowned in the beauty of the Palace in the night, I saw a 2 seater table placed in the middle of the lake and was very curious why a net hung around it and why would anyone leave chairs and a table in the middle of the lake. On my way into the hotel one staff member told me that if I wanted a private romantic get away then that would be an ideal place for me.

Amazed by how every customer want is adhered to, I went to my room so I could wake up early for my Spa. Not an early bird, I dragged myself out and hit the Spa.

Before starting my Spanish massage, a lady hand held me for prayers and gave me herbal tea for good health. I guess thats the last I remember as I walked out totally rejuvinated.

After seeing Udaipur's City Palace and the local market it was time to say goodbye. However this is one place I would definately revisit and hoping at the earliest.

Anyone visiting Udaipur must stay at The Taj Lake Palace,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lavjain192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
279 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

After have spent a couple of days at the beautiful Umaid Bhawan Palace in Jodphur,  my family and I headed south and along the road we visited the beautiful temple of Ranakpur and the vast and mighty fort of Kumbhalgarh. The mystic and warrior past of India has appeared to us in some of its most amazing forms. All of the roads we traveled on showed the country's contrasts: farmers and cultivated fields and obviously many buffaloes. 
Towards the evening we arrived in Udaipur where another and perhaps more impressive wonder awaited us. In the scenario of the lake of Udaipur the silhouette of the beautiful Lake Palace Hotel impressed us, the amazing palace built by Maharana Jagat Singh II, which was transformed into a hotel in the '60s. The hotel is known for being the backdrop for one of the James Bond's most beautiful film (Octopussy) . But it does not need 007 for advertising. The Taj Lake of Udaipur is probably the most romantic hotel of the world. You reach the hotel by boat and all its wonderful rooms seem to be aboard a mega-yacht. From every window you can see the perfect landscape. The perfection of the hotel's service is superior to all expectations, starting from the arrival under a shower of petals. Excellent two restaurants, both with magnificent views. I stayed in the Jal Tarang, which is one of the Grand Royal Suites. I had a bath immersed in the foam-covered petals of a huge Jacuzzi-suspended over the lake and it seemed that I was able to touch the water just by stretching out an arm. There was also a boudoir "on the water" with dozens of pillows and a fairy tale atmosphere. In India, the contrasts are many and very strong. To see the face of India it's enough to go around, in streets, markets and farms. To see the real India of the luxury and the style of the Maharajas it is certainly a good idea to stay at the Taj Lake hotel of Udaipur. Possibly in a Grand Royal Suite.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aulus_Vitellius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Indian Hotels Company Limited, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing