We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly beautiful heavenly experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Greeted by Rose petals after a short boat ride to this palace on a lake you enter into a surreal otherworldly experience being treated like royalty by friendly lovely people for whom nothing is too much trouble. breakfast is for champions with stunning views across the lake from the restaurant. The rooftop restaurant is one of the most romantic restaurants in the world amazing food service and views with a fantastic fireworks display whilst we ate.

Cocktails and lunch by the pool, followed by a massage in the poolside spa is a perfect way to spend the day. Really expensive but really really good worth every penny and more if only to see the sun rise and set from this beautiful location!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,259 - 2,265 of 3,125 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Be hotel is beautiful and the service amazing. You pay the price but it worth it.
The food was really good!
My only complain is that given you pay so much you would expect some things to be free, such as the wifi internet! Basic things that any cheaper hotel here offer for free!
Also, at the restaurant the staff try to push too much for you to get extra stuff.
But overall it was amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Analaudisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Our stay at the Taj Lake place was a wonderful experience. we had stayed there for a night in Aug 11. Since it wasnot a peak season, the manager upgraded us to a room which had a large terrace opening o to the lake, that was a really great experience, sitting on the terrace with drizzle. The evening local dance program was worth watching, and the pleasant surprise was tea and pakoras , on the house.
The hotel, which was a palace earlier, is unique since every room is a bit different, so you have to be lucky to get a very good room. the boat ride to and from the road was a good experience. The pool is small, but cosy. The jacuzzi was good. The marble structures are rich. The welcome expereicen , with etals being showered from top, was great. we stayed 2 nights at the Leela and one night at the Taj. So, Leela is a very modern hotel with much larger rooms. Taj lake palce has smaller rooms and some amenities may not be as modern but one needs to go there with a minset of experiencing a stay in a palace.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manojp1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here one night and the service was terrible.
The hotel was at a great location though and our room had a very charming balcony.

1  Thank Elin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I tried to think of another place like it - perhaps one of the grand palazzo hotels in Venice or Lake Como, a magical Balinese property, the Alhambra gardens, etc, but this has it all and has to be experienced! Worth every $$$$ spent..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The Lake Palace is perfect. Of course, the physical structure and location are famously renowned. What most impressed me most, though, was the perfection of the staff. They catered to our every need without being intrusive or fussy. They are a well oiled machine of caring individuals. I would return to India just to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrpicky65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Simply the most unique experience ever. All due to the exemplary staff. I don't know where they are trained but they are amazing and deserve medals for some of the things they do to accomodate. One thing I will say to other guests, while the hotel is too nice to ban it, this is NOT a children's hotel so if you have kids then have a baby sitter take them while you stay at the palace or wait til they are older before going to the palace if you must travel with kids as it is not appropriate to have children screaming all over the place. Children make noise and are too young to appreciate the palace and it drives other guests there nuts! To the family if you are reading this, who had their two brats in the jacuzzi for hours on end making an utter diabolical mess in there for the staff to clean, shame on you! other than that the hotel is amazing and we can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chocolatechaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 165 in Udaipur
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £525 - £1,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing