We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, beautiful palace hotel. Exquisite rooms. Great service. You'll feel like royalty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Had an absolutely fabulous 2 night stay here on our trip to India.

This is a remarkable, beautiful, palace. It's a magical spot -- in the middle of the lake, looking out at the City palace and all the other pretty old buildings along the lakefront.

The palace is wonderfully converted into a hotel. The public spaces are just beautiful. The courtyard gardens are immaculately maintained and just beautiful. Lovely waterfall fountains hidden in thick plantings with comfortable benches in nice cool shaded areas where you can hear the sound of water falling. The all-day dining restaurant has wonderful views over the lake. The roof restaurant has just spectacular views and wonderful service -- they had pashminas waiting for us on a cool evening.

The rooms are just gorgeous. Beautiful moldings, beautiful painted walls, gorgeous furniture and fittings, spectacular views out the lake. Just exquisite.

This place is just really spectacular. It's the kind of thing you think of when you think spectacular historical palace.

The service was absolutely terrific, albeit a little overbearing. it seems that in the high-end places in India, they believe that they have to fawn over you to the point that they are obsequious and getting underfoot. For example, they can't leave you to enjoy your meal and just help yourself with seconds out of the platters on your table -- they'll literally take the serving spoon out of your hand to serve you instead. Also, at the Lake Palace, while the service was absolutely wonderful, it seemed also strained in its formality. To be fair to them, it may be that many of their guests expect a very formal, obsequious, type of service.

We really enjoyed attending the evening Indian dance performances in the courtyard by the bar. Remarkable performances -- by the dancer lady and by the musicians.

One thing that we really wanted to mention is how nice and attentive they were to our 8-year old daughter. Everyone fussed over her and catered to her. We came back from dinner one night and found that at turndown they had left her a new stuffed animal tucked in at her pillow -- a plush peacock. I can't tell you how delighted that made our 8-year old princess. They really went out of their way to cater to her, make her feel welcome and really special.

In fact they really made all of us feel so special. From the garlands and rose petal shower at check-in, to the little dessert treats, to the rose petal baths.

It was really remarkable to get to stay in a place like this. Just absolutely magical and wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JolietJakeBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,245 - 2,251 of 3,124 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

Amongst the most romantic places in the world. Our arrival in the evening was just beyond our wildest dreams, an experience we will never forget. The service and attention was exceptional, the suite beyond our expectations. Our every wish was anticipated by our butler. Every evening the bath was set with red rose petals. The roof top restaurant was world class with a view across the lake to the City Palace and Udaipur. The Indian restaurant was superb where the staff advised on Indian cuisine for westerners. The performance by the local dancers and musicians was a joy to behold. The boat trip to other establishments on the Lake is a must. Breakfast included a wide range of western and Indian food. Our 3 nights just passed so quickly. This was not a dream but reality for us ( two 65 year old experienced world travellers).

Room Tip: Just go for it and book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldCoastOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Arrival and public areas: Good - Nice reception area on shore (They really should make more of this, would be perfect for a real bar area). Nice decor and I hardly need say anything about location! However, after arriving here from the Oberoi just on the other lake shore it does feel a bit restricted and claustrophobic.

Rooms: Great - love the decor, and we got a room facing the city, so fabulous views of the City Palace just opposite! Again smallish, but given the restricted environment I have no problems with it.

Restaurants and bars: Good - Nice bar, with a good list of original drinks. We ordered room service from the Indian restaurant, which was very good. Breakfast was about par for the course for the price level: Decent buffet selection, a bit boring a la carte.

Service: Good - overall no complaints, but after arriving from the Udaivilas it felt a bit flat... Some individual staff members certainly were great, but the overall level could probably do with a lift.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saltcreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with our kids 7 and 10. We were deciding between the Udai Vilas and the Lake Palace and decided on this because of its history ( The Udai Vilas is new) . The service was fantastic .. starting from the classic 1950s Chevy picking us up at the airport to the staff who met us and greeted us by name at the lakeside where we transferred to a boat. Check in ( delayed checkins are a personal bugbear ) was slick.. and our mood was improved by being upgraded to a Palace Suite. There we small personal touches throughout our stay including leaving stuffed toys in the room for the kids ( and a nice bottle of wine for us) . I can strongly recommend dinner at the " Bhairo". Its on the terrace of the Palace looking out across the Lake to the old Forts which are floodlit at night. ( Not sure if kids are allowed though.. but it was an very romantic dinner)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doitwhileyoucan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Arriving to a rose petal shower, beautiful garlands and warm welcome, a gorgeous suite - who wouldn't feel like a princess staying here?

Standing on the roof top area, you could think you are in Europe, looking across the lake especially at night. Just stunning.

The room service was surperb, we didn't feel like eating out the night we stayed so we ordered in. But I have never experienced room service like it, everything was perfect to the final table setting.

Breakfast is great, and do yourself a favour and go along to the early morning yoga class. As the sun comes up, what a way to start your day in Udaipur. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bessieboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We arrived after a 8hr drive from Jaipur where we had a disappointing stay at the Taj Jai Mahal Palace. Therefore was a bit doubtful of the Lake Palace which is in same hotel chain group.

Lake Palace put back some of our confidence in the Taj hotels. Service was good despite some hiccups with a friend joining for dinner. We experienced after no hot water in shower at our second night stay around 11pm-ish which took 45mins to fix.

The shows were really nice and with complimentary refreshments provided though I didn't get the tea I ordered.

Staffs were very friendly and helpful. One of the staffs, Shweta, really went out of her way to get the embroidered table cloth our friend wanted to buy which was tailored-made for the hotel and not for sale.

The rose petal shower at entrance was also a really nice touch.

It was really a nice stay. Definitely would recommend and come back to stay at this hotel again.


  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PS_Jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Everything you heard about it is true. The best place in the world. A perfect staff. The best breakfast ever… it s just a dream

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 165 in Udaipur
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £522 - £1,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing