We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding , Unbelievable, if heavan is like this cant wait to die”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

If you think you have stayed in the best hotel in the world, dream on. Correct the delusioal thoughts by bookig yourself a week here. It is a tourist destination in itself not just a bed for the night. If yiou can afford to stay here on your Indian adventure book a few extra days here to get the best out of your experience. When we arrived at Udaipur we were dissppointed when we drove to mthe hotel through the city it looked very ordinary. However on arrival at the lakeside jetty for the boat the lights shone. The lake is majical and the hotel viwed from the jetty stunning. It reminded me of the first time I went to the Excelsior or Ciprianni in Venice. The boatride their is one of the many wows. as is the boat ride there and back every time you leave the hotel. Do it early morning at sunrise, during the day, sunset and at night. That is four free excursions. The hotel inside is wow wow wow, all the communal areas are out of this world. Architexturally, design wise, and florally, The lilly pond, the pool area where you lie by the pool looking at city palace, and the restaurants and lounges and bars. Around every corner a startling view. Even by Taj standards the service is impeccable plus.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Roayal suite (cost rack rate 150,000INR) fro a de luxe (rack rate approx 55,000) not sure it was worth the extra money if you were paying but a class better. We could see the sunset from our bed. Our agent wanted us to stay at the Oberio as he thought the rooms were better, but we looked at standard and deluxe rooms and they were very good.
The rooftop restaurant where a set price menu is 4500INR approx was outstanding with the little brazier heaters to keep you warm. Food, service and views world class. It is said to be the 19th most impressive view in the world, the Grand Canyon being first. The breakfast buffet and food a la carte items were unexpecteddly good. We lived on 5 different yoghurts and lychees!! The eggs benedictine very good, and they even did crispy bacon just like I ordered. The pastries were a week point suprisingly. Try to get an outside table by the ponds, they can be reserved and there are only 6.
The highlight was an evening on the Maharajahs boat The Gangaur. Not cheap but a breathtaking experience. Cost is 60,000INR fpr up to 8 people, good valus for 2 if you are lucky enough to afford it, but outstanding value for 8. It is worth canvassing other guests to do it as you get a cheaper mind blowing night!!!! You start with champagne, great canapes and the lake to yourselves with 6 oars man rowing. If you want a surprise like us dont read on. You pass a ruiined colonad under City Palace, and BOING!!! music starts and 4 dancers appear for your personall dance show. On a cruise of the lake fireworks started and I thought it was a bollywood wedding, but No, It was just for us!!!!!
We then had dinner on the deck with our own chef, waiters and musicians. Need I go on? I had handpicked the menu with their executive chef that morning over a 30min consultation. Their foie gras done sauteed and chilled was an outstanding duo, and they specially made a seafood bisque with cognac and caviar!!! My partner had her favourit Rhubarb Crumble another special. The Place opossite was done up for a wedding and we had an outstanding light show with lasers over the lake. That was just lucky!! The entire evening including champage, 3 hours on the boat, michelin star standard dinner and a totla of 22 people helping just you 1000pounds for 2 for a lifetime memmorry. only 150 pounds each if you can finmd 8 likeminded souls. Rates with a Grand Canyon Helicopter and river experience, in my book and cheaper!!!!
The spa was a good experience and reasonable by hotel standards for a massage. 5000INR approx,

when I had my beared trimmed for 500INR I even had a welcome experience, towels and their signature cocktail all thrown in. Oh did I tell you no-one accepts tips. They all insist on a centalised tip, which you can give or not at departure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 3,155 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I toured India for our honeymoon in 2010 and left a three night stay in Udaipur to the last part of our trip. We left Jaipur a day early to spend extra time at the Taj Lake Palace.

Our arrival was an experience. We were there in July, very hot, so the hotel did not have many guests. Despite the low water levels in the lake (may still be an issue) we were able to cross the lake by boat. When we arrived we were greeted by several staff and showered with rose petals as we entered the hotel. We were also greeted with drinks immediately and offered refreshments from the bar even before checking in. Staff made us feel really special and the hospitality was above and beyond anything that I had experienced previously.

Our travel agent found a way to get us upgraded to a luxury suite. We were expecting a regular room to keep costs down. It was amazing. The only disappointment was the low water level allowed many birds to rest at the hotel and bird poop on the balconies was a real issue. We had a wonderful balcony that overlooked the lake but did not use it once as ever morning it had bird poop and feathers despite a bird net and staff's best efforts to keep it clean. The water level also ruined the view. Rather than having a view of the lake, from one side of our hotel room we saw water buffalo grazing and children playing soccer. Again, out of the hotel's control. Just be prepared for low water levels if you book.

The hotel itself was amazing. Staff were second to none and always helpful. They tried to make our stay very special even drawing a romantic bath for us while we were out for dinner on teh tarrace of the hotel.

Long story short, this place was amazing and the people made it even more amazing. Not as good as it could have been but a great deal of that (birds and water levels) are out of the hotel's hands. Book a couple night at the hotel and have a great time.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get a suite. Spend time exploring the whole hotel. We were disappointed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Not everyone can afford to stay here but if you can- then do it or scrounge up your rubbles to do so! Yes a bit of Octupu$$y (007 film) was filmed here (around the Lotus Pond) and that makes it interesting I suppose (you can ask for a copy of the DVD to watch in your room (I did!) but the reason to stay here is the genuine excellent service and of course the location -smack in the middle of a beautiful lake sorrounded by mountains and palaces and away from the maddening crowds! From the moment you enter the ferry terminal you are a Royal and treated as such.You certainly feel like a rich man as you get ferried across to the palace with rose petals showered upon you from the sky! It never came across as ingenuous! You even have an assigned butler-they are always on call and look after all your needs. There are beautiful gardens and a lovely pool and a great Spa. Add to this that it was really a palace not so long ago. We had a suite -which was royal in every way with a personal large jacuzzi looking out onto the lake! The food was also great, the breakfast buffet superb and the staff were always personable and made you feel special. So much so you do not ever want to leave this idyllic island paradise! So certainly you are treated like a rich man and leave rich in spirits but perhaps a poor man in your bank account! ;)

I agree that this place must be done at least once in your lifetime and perhaps twice if you are fortunate enough!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySydChampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Excellent place. The staff is very friendly and courteous. In the chef remembered our name and greeted us by our names one evening, which was amazing consisering the number of guests staying there ( OK, I admit that we might have had aloy of food, but then it was that excellent!"). The only drawback is the price they charge, which makes you wonder if all this nice experience is worth the cost. My recommendation, stay a night and make your own decision!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohitkumar0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had visited and had an excellent lunch ..I was celebrating my birthday so they organised a delicious cake too.. food was out of the world.. property is simply too beautiful ..its a charming place with charming service.. steeped in history which few hotels over the world offer, it feels fantastic to relive the lives of the royals on the same premises ! Worth a visit to India just to enjoy this property!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent our honeymoon at the Taj Lake Palace and it was the most memorable hotel experience that we have had. We were upgraded to a suite and were blown away. Service, charm, location, views ... all top notch. Could not have been more pleased with the Taj.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed there for 2 days and will have to say it was an amazing experience the food was delicious staff were nice and very friendly. I will recommend Staying at Taj Lake Palace it is definitely the most beautiful and lively in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayadav1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 167 in Udaipur
1,967 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 167 in Udaipur
2,799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 167 in Udaipur
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £521 - £1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing