We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,408)
Filter reviews
3,408 results
Traveller rating
3,087
235
49
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,087
235
49
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose petalslake palaceneel kamallily pondroyal umbrellajiva spaindian restaurantdance performanceheritage touronce in a lifetimelike royaltyheritage walksunset cruiseroyal suitemoment you arriveunique hotelboat ride
Filter
Updating list...
2,420 - 2,425 of 3,408 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had a most wonderful stay in Taj Lake Palace in Udaipur. We think it is one of the most romantic hotels in the world - beautiful setting and royalty treatment. It is rather pricy but definitely worth a while for special occasions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmrushaGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I had the luxury of staying at the Lake Palace in March 2012, what a dream come true! It was just gorgeous. The welcome is amazing. You are sprinkled by Rose Petals and treated like Royalty. The service is superb and the restaurant staff are just amazing, so friendly and so professional. The whole Lake Palace experience is a memory we will never forget!

Room Tip: Higher floors have water views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneGriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Lake Palace in October 2011 and it was the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed at! Although you pay a high price, the whole Lake Palace experience is definitely worth the extra money...even if it is only for one night. Our room was on the first floor and had a wonderful view of the city palace and the lake. It was truly amazing to wake up to the beautiful every morning. We stayed at the hotel over the Diwali holiday and the hotel put on a traditional Diwali ceremony, provided free drinks, and put on a firework show over the lake - it was unforgettable. Breakfast was included in our package and was served in a lovely room by the lake, it was excellent.

The service at the hotel is impeccable and the staff go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. The only negative about our stay was that the staff were too attentive at times (if this is even a negative!).

If you are debating whether to spend the extra money on the Lake Palace while in Udaipur don't hesitate....it is really worth it and will make you appreciate just how beautiful Udaipur is.

Room Tip: A view of the city palace!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at the Lake Palace in March.

Pros:
- It's a palace
- Service is impeccable. The initial welcome, the boat ride, the sprinkling of flower petals from the roof when you enter, and the tour to your room have all been perfected. While there is a large staff (it almost seemed as if there were a 2:1 staff to guest ratio), they stop in their tracks and move to the side to ensure they don't get in your way when you pass
- Several activities are included as part of the rate, including a 'heritage' walking tour of the property, a yoga session, and a traditional music/dance show. Many of these activities also include a free drink and hors d'oeuvres
- Fantastic breakfast, including buffet and menu options
- There is 0 pressure for tips - if you are happy with the service, there is a communal tip box where you can leave money at the end of your stay
- If they have availability, they will upgrade you to a better room for free
- I can't speak for all rooms, but the suite we were in was beautiful

Cons:
- It would be a ridiculously expensive hotel in the US - for India the rate is absurd (but they still sell out during high season as there's not a lot of rooms and there's enough demand)
- In addition to the $650+ room rate, they have the audacity to charge additional for wifi
- It's in the middle of a lake, so there was a stagnant water smell which they covered up using incense
- It's in the middle of a lake, so there are lots and lots of pigeons (although there is a dedicated person who bats them away and we didn't notice a lot of remnants)
- A slight air of pretentiousness (i.e. you're not allowed to dine in the restaurants unless you're staying at the hotel)
- The taxi from the airport is relatively expensive (~$24 minimum). We used the prepaid taxi at the airport to try to avoid the upcharge, but I suspect even the airport taxi charged more after we told them we were staying at the Lake Palace
- Expensive restaurants, and the quality in the Indian restaurant was only decent

Conclusion: if you're on your honeymoon or anniversary and/or have enough disposable income to afford it, then go for it. Otherwise convince yourself it's just a hotel room and stay somewhere else for 1/5th the price (and keep in mind that there are probably so many 5* reviews because if you spend $650 for a hotel room, you're more likely to want to like the place)

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank trenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stat are two nights at the lake palace in August, saying that it was a dream stay is short. The property is gorgeous, but what left me speechless is the service: precise, professional and a disarming gentleness. Also in the room having had connection problems at check out and there are many excuses, they have exaggerated a discount on the bill. To all I recommend it to feel a real life voltanella maharajah.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews