We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Oberoi and just look at the Lake Palace from their restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Having travelled around northern India, my partner and I both agreed that the Oberoi hotels are in a class of their own. Yes, Taj hotels have the monopoly on the traditional historic buildings, but beyond that everything just seems a bit dated and tired. Maybe that's why I was disappointed with the Lake Palace. Having seen a magical looking photo of the hotel a few years ago it was on my list of things to do and I must admit, despite there being a plethora of wonderful hotels on the edge of the lake, I wouldn't have considered staying anywhere else. My advice to you is to have a more open mind than me! Of course it's a fabulous sight to behold, but then when you get up close you realise that it looks a bit tired and grubby. Compared to the Oberois we had stayed in elsewhere on our visit, staff were slow and starchy. The room was small, badly laid out and in need of updating. Breakfast and lunch were poor quality for the price...all in all I was left with a bad taste in my mouth. Then we went to the Oberoi and Leela for dinner and both were outstanding. Not only that, but you could sit and have dinner and drinks while looking at the gorgeous palace on the lake (sufficient distance to blur the tired bits). That's when I finally got to appreciate what a wonderful sight it is. So my advice to you is stay at the Oberoi or Leela and admire the view. You can even get a boat to go over to the Lake Palace for a drink, but there's no need to stay longer and shatter the illusion of the great mystical palace on the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KTSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,260 - 2,266 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is a must stay as it is an attraction in itself. It was our first time in Udaipur and I'm glad we chose this hotel. At the Taj Lake Palace they really do treat their guests as royals! attending to your every need. We dined on the roof top restaurant one evening which had spectacular views and watched the late afternoon entertainment which most guests gathered round for, this was delightful to watch. It is rather pricey but if you've never stayed here before I would definitely recommend it's worth a one-off stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Staying at the Lake Palace truly is a magical experience. Absolutely over-the-top in ambance, comfort and service. We stayed two nights and wished we had planed for three! Be sure to take advantage of the superb dinner on the rooftop with fireworks, cocktails with dancers and their sunset cruise. This is what you are hoping for when you visit India, so hang the expense and go for it.

Room Tip: If you book the Taj chain of hotels throughout your tour through India, they invariably will upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleClaudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had a most wonderful stay in Taj Lake Palace in Udaipur. We think it is one of the most romantic hotels in the world - beautiful setting and royalty treatment. It is rather pricy but definitely worth a while for special occasions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmrushaGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I had the luxury of staying at the Lake Palace in March 2012, what a dream come true! It was just gorgeous. The welcome is amazing. You are sprinkled by Rose Petals and treated like Royalty. The service is superb and the restaurant staff are just amazing, so friendly and so professional. The whole Lake Palace experience is a memory we will never forget!

Room Tip: Higher floors have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneGriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Lake Palace in October 2011 and it was the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed at! Although you pay a high price, the whole Lake Palace experience is definitely worth the extra money...even if it is only for one night. Our room was on the first floor and had a wonderful view of the city palace and the lake. It was truly amazing to wake up to the beautiful every morning. We stayed at the hotel over the Diwali holiday and the hotel put on a traditional Diwali ceremony, provided free drinks, and put on a firework show over the lake - it was unforgettable. Breakfast was included in our package and was served in a lovely room by the lake, it was excellent.

The service at the hotel is impeccable and the staff go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. The only negative about our stay was that the staff were too attentive at times (if this is even a negative!).

If you are debating whether to spend the extra money on the Lake Palace while in Udaipur don't hesitate....it is really worth it and will make you appreciate just how beautiful Udaipur is.

Room Tip: A view of the city palace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at the Lake Palace in March.

Pros:
- It's a palace
- Service is impeccable. The initial welcome, the boat ride, the sprinkling of flower petals from the roof when you enter, and the tour to your room have all been perfected. While there is a large staff (it almost seemed as if there were a 2:1 staff to guest ratio), they stop in their tracks and move to the side to ensure they don't get in your way when you pass
- Several activities are included as part of the rate, including a 'heritage' walking tour of the property, a yoga session, and a traditional music/dance show. Many of these activities also include a free drink and hors d'oeuvres
- Fantastic breakfast, including buffet and menu options
- There is 0 pressure for tips - if you are happy with the service, there is a communal tip box where you can leave money at the end of your stay
- If they have availability, they will upgrade you to a better room for free
- I can't speak for all rooms, but the suite we were in was beautiful

Cons:
- It would be a ridiculously expensive hotel in the US - for India the rate is absurd (but they still sell out during high season as there's not a lot of rooms and there's enough demand)
- In addition to the $650+ room rate, they have the audacity to charge additional for wifi
- It's in the middle of a lake, so there was a stagnant water smell which they covered up using incense
- It's in the middle of a lake, so there are lots and lots of pigeons (although there is a dedicated person who bats them away and we didn't notice a lot of remnants)
- A slight air of pretentiousness (i.e. you're not allowed to dine in the restaurants unless you're staying at the hotel)
- The taxi from the airport is relatively expensive (~$24 minimum). We used the prepaid taxi at the airport to try to avoid the upcharge, but I suspect even the airport taxi charged more after we told them we were staying at the Lake Palace
- Expensive restaurants, and the quality in the Indian restaurant was only decent

Conclusion: if you're on your honeymoon or anniversary and/or have enough disposable income to afford it, then go for it. Otherwise convince yourself it's just a hotel room and stay somewhere else for 1/5th the price (and keep in mind that there are probably so many 5* reviews because if you spend $650 for a hotel room, you're more likely to want to like the place)

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank trenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 177 in Udaipur
2,020 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 177 in Udaipur
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#7 of 177 in Udaipur
2,869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 177 in Udaipur
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £327 - £2,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing