We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,449)
Filter reviews
3,449 results
Traveller rating
3,125
237
49
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,125
237
49
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose petals lake palace neel kamal lily pond royal umbrella jiva spa indian restaurant dance performance heritage tour once in a lifetime like royalty heritage walk sunset cruise royal suite moment you arrive unique hotel fairy tale
Filter
Updating list...
2,442 - 2,447 of 3,449 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Having been to the lake palace for two nights in October, we were back there again in February this time for three nights! Once again we were given a lovely suite and with the now familiar staff, we were again afforded the very best of service!
Everthing was perfect and every member of staff deserves a medal for the quality of service and care they take of the guests. Special thanks to the chef Rahul who made us delicious food and my favourite (daal kachoris) for the four days we were there!
We are looking forward to another trip in December time with the children. Whilst we were in Udaipur, we went to see Udai Villas but our full marks go to the Taj Lake Palace!

Room Tip: Rooms with views of Jag Mandir were excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nareshshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

To begin: Udaipur was the blessed end of our 1100 km Rajastan trip- not any more rather poor flat land,not any more desert, but: a clean little town inthe middle of hills,mountains and some
little lakes ("green",not"yellow-brown") and in the middle of one of the lakes you will find the Taj Lake Palce (Hotel) just opposite the fantastic city palace.
Really an incredible place and: nice to stay for 2 honeymoon-nights .Service,boattransfers,
restaurants indeed very good, room spacious, everybody very helpful in any respect and:
Staying there one has to have dinner on the roof of the palace with an incredible view to the bay,city palace,lake etc. an absolute must!

Room Tip: choose lakeview room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratpackvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was the last of the Taj properties we stayed in on our trip to India. From the boat ride over to the hotel to the rose petal greeting, these memories will stay with you for a lifetime. The views are spectacular from the pool area and regular dining room but are even better from the rooftop restaurant. We were upgraded to a suite complete with a round, all window tea nook from where you can watch the lake activities while enjoying your morning tea or coffee. Granted, some of the rooms looked smaller (from what we could see) but all led into a beautifully landscaped courtyard complete with flute player each morning. And not to be missed, the live show outside the bar area, a truly incredible Indian cultural experience!! Unfortunately, I have read some reviews on here saying that this is a tourist trap and that you are better off staying at either the Oberoi or Leela but the funny thing is, both those properties are situated so that they have a stunning view of the Lake Palace…guess that must mean something. And at least for me, I’d rather be staying at the place they are looking at!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desertduo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was expecting top class and wasn't dissapointed at the Lake Palace. While the standard Taj properties often don't excite the palace hotels are really quite unique. We've lived in India for 2 years and done our fair share of travel but were really impressed with the Lake Palace. Sure, we bagged an upgrade, staying in one of the royal suites for 4 nights, and were treated to free desserts and lunch on our last day ("it's your last meal with us so how could we charge...") but despite these extras the service was faultless and the property is truly unique. We visited Udaipur one afternoon but hurried back to the hotel...as they say at Raffles, another destination hotel, when at the Lake Palace, visit Udaipur.

Room Tip: The suites and other rooms on the lake edges are the pick of the property.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights last week. We found every aspect of the experience to be first class. From the arrival by boat and the shower of rose petals as we entered the reception to the al fresco dining with spectacular views of the Udaipur City Palace everything was done to make us feel very special.

The palace itself is beautiful, really well maintained and very comfortably furnished. Our room was spacious with a lovely view over the lake. Our personal butler helped us settle in and made sure that we understood all of the amenities and facilities available during our stay.

One small example of the quality of service. One evening we noticed that the royal barge had left its mooring and people were dinning on the deck as they cruised the lake. We asked if we could dine on the barge the following evening. We were told that unfortunately it had been booked. We thought 'ok, never mind'. However the following afternoon one of the managers sought us out as we sat by the pool. He said the barge was still booked for dinner but they had arranged for my wife and I to have a sunset cruise round the lake with canapés and drinks! This was entirely complementary, a gesture of goodwill from the Taj Lake Palace!

Udaipur itself is one of the most spectacular cities we have been to in India, the City Palace is well worth a visit, as is a walking tour of the city itself. All of this was organised by the Taj Palace.

Absolutely first class.

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews