We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lake Palace exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

From the moment we arrived at the boat dock to the Lake Palace we knew we had made the right choice. It's always fun to stay in a beautiful hotel, but it's so much more rewarding when that hotel is also a piece of history. The Lake Palace is beautiful to look at from shore, but it's far more incredible to experience it overnight. We stayed two nights, and the rose petal shower arrival set the stage. Our suite was spectacular and the decorations make you feel like a Maharaja (or Maharana in the case Udaipur/Mewar). The breakfast was included and was delicious (be sure to try the Dosas). The Frette linens from Italy were the best I've ever experienced (ask for the Cypress bathrobe - ridiculously soft). The kids loved the pool overlooking the lake, and we loved the wine as the sun set near the Monsoon Palace. A favorite moment: doing yoga at sunrise on the terrace overlooking Udaipur. The staff was top notch all across the board, but Somnath was particularly helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: The rooms along the lily pond seemed to be the best for views of the lake. There are rooms that look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,152 - 2,158 of 3,098 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Having been to the lake palace for two nights in October, we were back there again in February this time for three nights! Once again we were given a lovely suite and with the now familiar staff, we were again afforded the very best of service!
Everthing was perfect and every member of staff deserves a medal for the quality of service and care they take of the guests. Special thanks to the chef Rahul who made us delicious food and my favourite (daal kachoris) for the four days we were there!
We are looking forward to another trip in December time with the children. Whilst we were in Udaipur, we went to see Udai Villas but our full marks go to the Taj Lake Palace!

Room Tip: Rooms with views of Jag Mandir were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nareshshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

To begin: Udaipur was the blessed end of our 1100 km Rajastan trip- not any more rather poor flat land,not any more desert, but: a clean little town inthe middle of hills,mountains and some
little lakes ("green",not"yellow-brown") and in the middle of one of the lakes you will find the Taj Lake Palce (Hotel) just opposite the fantastic city palace.
Really an incredible place and: nice to stay for 2 honeymoon-nights .Service,boattransfers,
restaurants indeed very good, room spacious, everybody very helpful in any respect and:
Staying there one has to have dinner on the roof of the palace with an incredible view to the bay,city palace,lake etc. an absolute must!

Room Tip: choose lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratpackvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was the last of the Taj properties we stayed in on our trip to India. From the boat ride over to the hotel to the rose petal greeting, these memories will stay with you for a lifetime. The views are spectacular from the pool area and regular dining room but are even better from the rooftop restaurant. We were upgraded to a suite complete with a round, all window tea nook from where you can watch the lake activities while enjoying your morning tea or coffee. Granted, some of the rooms looked smaller (from what we could see) but all led into a beautifully landscaped courtyard complete with flute player each morning. And not to be missed, the live show outside the bar area, a truly incredible Indian cultural experience!! Unfortunately, I have read some reviews on here saying that this is a tourist trap and that you are better off staying at either the Oberoi or Leela but the funny thing is, both those properties are situated so that they have a stunning view of the Lake Palace…guess that must mean something. And at least for me, I’d rather be staying at the place they are looking at!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desertduo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was expecting top class and wasn't dissapointed at the Lake Palace. While the standard Taj properties often don't excite the palace hotels are really quite unique. We've lived in India for 2 years and done our fair share of travel but were really impressed with the Lake Palace. Sure, we bagged an upgrade, staying in one of the royal suites for 4 nights, and were treated to free desserts and lunch on our last day ("it's your last meal with us so how could we charge...") but despite these extras the service was faultless and the property is truly unique. We visited Udaipur one afternoon but hurried back to the hotel...as they say at Raffles, another destination hotel, when at the Lake Palace, visit Udaipur.

Room Tip: The suites and other rooms on the lake edges are the pick of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights last week. We found every aspect of the experience to be first class. From the arrival by boat and the shower of rose petals as we entered the reception to the al fresco dining with spectacular views of the Udaipur City Palace everything was done to make us feel very special.

The palace itself is beautiful, really well maintained and very comfortably furnished. Our room was spacious with a lovely view over the lake. Our personal butler helped us settle in and made sure that we understood all of the amenities and facilities available during our stay.

One small example of the quality of service. One evening we noticed that the royal barge had left its mooring and people were dinning on the deck as they cruised the lake. We asked if we could dine on the barge the following evening. We were told that unfortunately it had been booked. We thought 'ok, never mind'. However the following afternoon one of the managers sought us out as we sat by the pool. He said the barge was still booked for dinner but they had arranged for my wife and I to have a sunset cruise round the lake with canapés and drinks! This was entirely complementary, a gesture of goodwill from the Taj Lake Palace!

Udaipur itself is one of the most spectacular cities we have been to in India, the City Palace is well worth a visit, as is a walking tour of the city itself. All of this was organised by the Taj Palace.

Absolutely first class.

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Having travelled around northern India, my partner and I both agreed that the Oberoi hotels are in a class of their own. Yes, Taj hotels have the monopoly on the traditional historic buildings, but beyond that everything just seems a bit dated and tired. Maybe that's why I was disappointed with the Lake Palace. Having seen a magical looking photo of the hotel a few years ago it was on my list of things to do and I must admit, despite there being a plethora of wonderful hotels on the edge of the lake, I wouldn't have considered staying anywhere else. My advice to you is to have a more open mind than me! Of course it's a fabulous sight to behold, but then when you get up close you realise that it looks a bit tired and grubby. Compared to the Oberois we had stayed in elsewhere on our visit, staff were slow and starchy. The room was small, badly laid out and in need of updating. Breakfast and lunch were poor quality for the price...all in all I was left with a bad taste in my mouth. Then we went to the Oberoi and Leela for dinner and both were outstanding. Not only that, but you could sit and have dinner and drinks while looking at the gorgeous palace on the lake (sufficient distance to blur the tired bits). That's when I finally got to appreciate what a wonderful sight it is. So my advice to you is stay at the Oberoi or Leela and admire the view. You can even get a boat to go over to the Lake Palace for a drink, but there's no need to stay longer and shatter the illusion of the great mystical palace on the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KTSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#34 of 165 in Udaipur
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £494 - £1,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing