We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite hotel in each and every category”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

On our second visit to Udaipur we decided to stay this time at Taj Lake Palace instead of Oberoi. We loved Oberoi last time so we wanted to check out Taj. We are in awe of this property. From first reception to farewell , the service, staff room decor, food were all superb. My compliments to management and staff. We booked our stay via American Express And we were upgraded to a suite which is fit for a Maharaja. If you are planning a visit, this is the place to stay. This is indeed best in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,026 - 2,032 of 3,125 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

We travelled to Udaipur for a wedding and decided to spend some time at the famous Lake Palace. After unsuccessfully hunting around for a 'good deal', I ended up booking on the pretty steep and way over our budget rack rate. However, I counted on our stay being pretty special due to the hotel's reputation and we were not disappointed.

Whilst the lake setting and historic architecture create a memorable experience, the hotel staff make the experience truly special. The general manager, the jetty staff, the restaurant team and the security staff who returned a bag to us, which we left in the bar. Everyone goes out of their way to make the experience memorable. We ate at the hotel every night enjoying a mix of local and western dishes (at western prices). One night we ordered very little as we were not especially hungry but our delightful waitress Rose brought us a number of additional dishes and even a dessert which turned our light supper into something of a banquet.

There is nothing to fault about this hotel. It is simply a magical experience. The setting is uniquely beautiful and could be enjoyed from the pool, the room and the sunset cruise which is a must . I hope very much to be able to return one day.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the City Palace offer the best views IMHO. We booked through Leading Hotels of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I've been there in 2011 spending Christmas time in their suite.
Enjoyed two restaurants in Versace and Gold style.
Was bit busy with American tourists.
Food an room service are excellent, but what can you expect when one night cost a year salary for some locals?
Unforgettable time for couples.

Take a boat trip with champagne in the evening: Le romantique!
Only I would NOT advice to hire guides on such hotel since they will only try to show you shops they get % from.I was "kindly" being pushed to visit some good shops but it was not the right thing to do.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlecHolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is one of the kewlest properties I have ever been to, as it sits in the middle of the lake, surrounded only by water. It's beyond romantic. They make you feel like royalty, which is how you should feel in a palace. The morning and evening ragas are so beautiful, as well as the flute players, and all the live musicians and performers. I will return one day. We were engaged here, and I can't fathom a more serene and beautiful setting. Take a boat ride in the evening. It is stunning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelby f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed at the Taj Lake Palace for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. From arriving at the airport where we were welcomed by a hotel rep and shown to a car, to the time we left where a hotel staff accompanied us on the boat to drop us off at our next destination, the hotel's service was just amazing.

While I've stayed at many great hotels around the world, I've never received service like this - this is now my favourite hotel in the world! What is amazing is that the service is consistent at all levels of staff - from the reception, to the chefs who come and greet you while you are enjoying your meal, to the bartenders, to the pool boy.

The Palace itself is amazing - one of the most romantic settings in the world, coupled with the romanticism of a bygone era. My favourite part of the stay (if I had to choose one), was taking the boat cruise around Lake Pichola followed by sitting at the bar where there is a dance performance next door - the atmosphere is just amazing.

While the experience is not cheap, it is totally worth it! Go splurge and experience the amazing Palace!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

You feel like a Royal when you holiday at this great heritage hotel.The hotel situated in the middle of the lake is accessible by boats. The hotel boat ferries you in style from the car park.The rooms have a palace ambience. The swimming pool and jacuzzi is great fun.You can order drinks at the pool.The rooms open out to a delightful quadrangle garden. In the evening there are dancing girls and jugglers as you sip drinks at the lounge.The staff is well trained and the restaurant serves gourmet food. Breakfast is extremely good with a medley of cold cuts and hot indian food. You can have a candle light dinner in the middle of the lake.Just amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms open on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyotibhatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Saw the hotel twice on tv and decided I had to go there and after a few years finally went there. What a fantastic place! Not cheap but definitely worth it! Extremely friendly staff, great food (try the restaurant upstairs on the roof with view of Udaipur) and wonderful wellness. Water in swimming pool was too cold for me but it quickly is ;-) The yoga in the morning was wonderful and the Indian astrologer is worth a visit for sure aswell.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 165 in Udaipur
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £525 - £1,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing