We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the "Perfect 10".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Having looked at the many rightly effusive previous reviews, it is difficult to add anything that has not already been said. Everything is virtually perfect and it is obvious that this comes from meticulous management and genuine care. Indeed, the attention to detail in all aspects cannot be faulted - and this is certainly reflected in the service given to the guests.
Our 3-night stay was to celebrate my 60th birthday and I was touched by the amount of effort and generosity displayed by all the staff in making it a very special event. Thank you.
This attention to detail includes the daily changing of thousands of brightly coloured petals arranged in a pattern, floating in large round water-filled urns and the lighting of hundreds of tea lights at night - particualrly around the beautifully presented lily ponds - to create a magical scene. This is ambience at its most perfect.
I have one suggestion which may prove unpopular in some quarters - The Taj Palace Hotel absolutely oozes peace and tranquility and indeed this is actively promoted. Perhaps then, make this hotel for adults only? I'll say no more.
So, do read and believe the positive reviews. Then picture yourself in the middle of the cooling lake surrounded in a bubble of tranquility. Add fabulous service, wonderful food, pampering and more than a dash of colonial opulance. The sum total could well be 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisandlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,002 - 2,008 of 3,094 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

From the rose petals floating down from above on arrival to the wonderful gift that I was given on departure this hotel is totally without fault. The rooms are breathtaking with every thought possible given to the comfort and enjoyment of the guests. The second night we were upgraded to a 'Royal Suite' The guide books say that an appreciative smile and a 'Thank you' go a long way in India, so perhaps it was our enthusiastic response to our rose petal greeting. Whatever, it was like a dreamy film set, never to be forgotten. The staff are amazing and seem to genuinely want to please - they do! If you get the chance to stay at this hotel, please go, you will not regret tit.

Room Tip: Request a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I recently stayed at the taj lake palace. I have always wanted to stay here and it lived up to everything in my imagination and more. Traveling alone as a single woman they went out of their way to make me feel welcome and we'll taken care of. I made a mistake on my flight to mumbai, they welcomed me back for the day giving me a new room and provided transport back to the airport gratis. I am truly impressed and will be forever grateful.
Thank you for making my stay memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnsjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

On our second visit to Udaipur we decided to stay this time at Taj Lake Palace instead of Oberoi. We loved Oberoi last time so we wanted to check out Taj. We are in awe of this property. From first reception to farewell , the service, staff room decor, food were all superb. My compliments to management and staff. We booked our stay via American Express And we were upgraded to a suite which is fit for a Maharaja. If you are planning a visit, this is the place to stay. This is indeed best in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We travelled to Udaipur for a wedding and decided to spend some time at the famous Lake Palace. After unsuccessfully hunting around for a 'good deal', I ended up booking on the pretty steep and way over our budget rack rate. However, I counted on our stay being pretty special due to the hotel's reputation and we were not disappointed.

Whilst the lake setting and historic architecture create a memorable experience, the hotel staff make the experience truly special. The general manager, the jetty staff, the restaurant team and the security staff who returned a bag to us, which we left in the bar. Everyone goes out of their way to make the experience memorable. We ate at the hotel every night enjoying a mix of local and western dishes (at western prices). One night we ordered very little as we were not especially hungry but our delightful waitress Rose brought us a number of additional dishes and even a dessert which turned our light supper into something of a banquet.

There is nothing to fault about this hotel. It is simply a magical experience. The setting is uniquely beautiful and could be enjoyed from the pool, the room and the sunset cruise which is a must . I hope very much to be able to return one day.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the City Palace offer the best views IMHO. We booked through Leading Hotels of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I've been there in 2011 spending Christmas time in their suite.
Enjoyed two restaurants in Versace and Gold style.
Was bit busy with American tourists.
Food an room service are excellent, but what can you expect when one night cost a year salary for some locals?
Unforgettable time for couples.

Take a boat trip with champagne in the evening: Le romantique!
Only I would NOT advice to hire guides on such hotel since they will only try to show you shops they get % from.I was "kindly" being pushed to visit some good shops but it was not the right thing to do.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlecHolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is one of the kewlest properties I have ever been to, as it sits in the middle of the lake, surrounded only by water. It's beyond romantic. They make you feel like royalty, which is how you should feel in a palace. The morning and evening ragas are so beautiful, as well as the flute players, and all the live musicians and performers. I will return one day. We were engaged here, and I can't fathom a more serene and beautiful setting. Take a boat ride in the evening. It is stunning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelby f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#30 of 165 in Udaipur
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £482 - £991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing