We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Lahr, Germany
Level Contributor
282 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Lake Palace Hotel is a gem - wonderful architecture and workmanship. Our luxury room at > 800 €/night (!) was definitively (too) small; bathroom the same. Everything is a bit tighter compared to other Heritage hotel due to the limited space here. To be fair, they offered us a bigger and far nicer Palace room on the last evening. Service level is from excellent too good, depending on the persons. Thus our %* rating is more on the minus side.
The best is the outlook over the lake and on the City Palace - stunning! A MUST SEE!
Indian restaurant is very good with very (sometimes too) attentive service.

Room Tip: Palace rooms are by far bigger and more adequate to this wonderful place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,642
    195
    37
    18
    12
See reviews for
685
1,518
101
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed for 3 nights - wished it had been longer. An amazing experience, fantastic service throughout. Room, restaurants, pool, spa, staff, views, cleanliness all faultless. After one meal we spoke with the chef and asked about ingredients, he offered and promptly emailed the recipe.
A wonderful hotel experience well worth the money

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the City Palace - spectacular view by day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippyleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Having looked at the many rightly effusive previous reviews, it is difficult to add anything that has not already been said. Everything is virtually perfect and it is obvious that this comes from meticulous management and genuine care. Indeed, the attention to detail in all aspects cannot be faulted - and this is certainly reflected in the service given to the guests.
Our 3-night stay was to celebrate my 60th birthday and I was touched by the amount of effort and generosity displayed by all the staff in making it a very special event. Thank you.
This attention to detail includes the daily changing of thousands of brightly coloured petals arranged in a pattern, floating in large round water-filled urns and the lighting of hundreds of tea lights at night - particualrly around the beautifully presented lily ponds - to create a magical scene. This is ambience at its most perfect.
I have one suggestion which may prove unpopular in some quarters - The Taj Palace Hotel absolutely oozes peace and tranquility and indeed this is actively promoted. Perhaps then, make this hotel for adults only? I'll say no more.
So, do read and believe the positive reviews. Then picture yourself in the middle of the cooling lake surrounded in a bubble of tranquility. Add fabulous service, wonderful food, pampering and more than a dash of colonial opulance. The sum total could well be 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

From the rose petals floating down from above on arrival to the wonderful gift that I was given on departure this hotel is totally without fault. The rooms are breathtaking with every thought possible given to the comfort and enjoyment of the guests. The second night we were upgraded to a 'Royal Suite' The guide books say that an appreciative smile and a 'Thank you' go a long way in India, so perhaps it was our enthusiastic response to our rose petal greeting. Whatever, it was like a dreamy film set, never to be forgotten. The staff are amazing and seem to genuinely want to please - they do! If you get the chance to stay at this hotel, please go, you will not regret tit.

Room Tip: Request a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I recently stayed at the taj lake palace. I have always wanted to stay here and it lived up to everything in my imagination and more. Traveling alone as a single woman they went out of their way to make me feel welcome and we'll taken care of. I made a mistake on my flight to mumbai, they welcomed me back for the day giving me a new room and provided transport back to the airport gratis. I am truly impressed and will be forever grateful.
Thank you for making my stay memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnsjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

On our second visit to Udaipur we decided to stay this time at Taj Lake Palace instead of Oberoi. We loved Oberoi last time so we wanted to check out Taj. We are in awe of this property. From first reception to farewell , the service, staff room decor, food were all superb. My compliments to management and staff. We booked our stay via American Express And we were upgraded to a suite which is fit for a Maharaja. If you are planning a visit, this is the place to stay. This is indeed best in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We travelled to Udaipur for a wedding and decided to spend some time at the famous Lake Palace. After unsuccessfully hunting around for a 'good deal', I ended up booking on the pretty steep and way over our budget rack rate. However, I counted on our stay being pretty special due to the hotel's reputation and we were not disappointed.

Whilst the lake setting and historic architecture create a memorable experience, the hotel staff make the experience truly special. The general manager, the jetty staff, the restaurant team and the security staff who returned a bag to us, which we left in the bar. Everyone goes out of their way to make the experience memorable. We ate at the hotel every night enjoying a mix of local and western dishes (at western prices). One night we ordered very little as we were not especially hungry but our delightful waitress Rose brought us a number of additional dishes and even a dessert which turned our light supper into something of a banquet.

There is nothing to fault about this hotel. It is simply a magical experience. The setting is uniquely beautiful and could be enjoyed from the pool, the room and the sunset cruise which is a must . I hope very much to be able to return one day.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the City Palace offer the best views IMHO. We booked through Leading Hotels of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing