We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very, very, best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Almelo
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The very, very, best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is like a dream| What a nice place to stay. We were welcomed very nice to take the boat to the hotel. As we were checked in, we were upgraded to a suite. What a lovely room and what a wonderful view over the lake and the city.
The dance performance was great. The food was good it every restaurant.
The service was even better than imagined.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,568
    187
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
663
1,470
98
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pune
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Spent 1 week here last Holi, and my word what a property....From the time one enters the boat to go to the lake palace, one is made to feel like royalty. At the reception there is a traditional welcome waiting, the staff are very humble and I think they treat all their guests as if they were the king of Udaipur....The rooms is over looking the lake, and its so pretty...the room itself is very modern, and its everything your expect....The morning breakfast served in the room is spot on, in our case we d order the continental breakfast....served like royalty, the service is at par with the best....Restaurants are in a royal candle light setting under the stars....Swimming pool is abit small but its nice....
The staff are always willing to share the tourist info with the guests, so we did nt need any guides....The Maharajas room has a nice swing outside it.....Thankyou to the hotel and will be back soon....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuneSuraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahr, Germany
Level Contributor
280 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Lake Palace Hotel is a gem - wonderful architecture and workmanship. Our luxury room at > 800 €/night (!) was definitively (too) small; bathroom the same. Everything is a bit tighter compared to other Heritage hotel due to the limited space here. To be fair, they offered us a bigger and far nicer Palace room on the last evening. Service level is from excellent too good, depending on the persons. Thus our %* rating is more on the minus side.
The best is the outlook over the lake and on the City Palace - stunning! A MUST SEE!
Indian restaurant is very good with very (sometimes too) attentive service.

Room Tip: Palace rooms are by far bigger and more adequate to this wonderful place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed for 3 nights - wished it had been longer. An amazing experience, fantastic service throughout. Room, restaurants, pool, spa, staff, views, cleanliness all faultless. After one meal we spoke with the chef and asked about ingredients, he offered and promptly emailed the recipe.
A wonderful hotel experience well worth the money

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the City Palace - spectacular view by day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippyleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Having looked at the many rightly effusive previous reviews, it is difficult to add anything that has not already been said. Everything is virtually perfect and it is obvious that this comes from meticulous management and genuine care. Indeed, the attention to detail in all aspects cannot be faulted - and this is certainly reflected in the service given to the guests.
Our 3-night stay was to celebrate my 60th birthday and I was touched by the amount of effort and generosity displayed by all the staff in making it a very special event. Thank you.
This attention to detail includes the daily changing of thousands of brightly coloured petals arranged in a pattern, floating in large round water-filled urns and the lighting of hundreds of tea lights at night - particualrly around the beautifully presented lily ponds - to create a magical scene. This is ambience at its most perfect.
I have one suggestion which may prove unpopular in some quarters - The Taj Palace Hotel absolutely oozes peace and tranquility and indeed this is actively promoted. Perhaps then, make this hotel for adults only? I'll say no more.
So, do read and believe the positive reviews. Then picture yourself in the middle of the cooling lake surrounded in a bubble of tranquility. Add fabulous service, wonderful food, pampering and more than a dash of colonial opulance. The sum total could well be 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

From the rose petals floating down from above on arrival to the wonderful gift that I was given on departure this hotel is totally without fault. The rooms are breathtaking with every thought possible given to the comfort and enjoyment of the guests. The second night we were upgraded to a 'Royal Suite' The guide books say that an appreciative smile and a 'Thank you' go a long way in India, so perhaps it was our enthusiastic response to our rose petal greeting. Whatever, it was like a dreamy film set, never to be forgotten. The staff are amazing and seem to genuinely want to please - they do! If you get the chance to stay at this hotel, please go, you will not regret tit.

Room Tip: Request a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I recently stayed at the taj lake palace. I have always wanted to stay here and it lived up to everything in my imagination and more. Traveling alone as a single woman they went out of their way to make me feel welcome and we'll taken care of. I made a mistake on my flight to mumbai, they welcomed me back for the day giving me a new room and provided transport back to the airport gratis. I am truly impressed and will be forever grateful.
Thank you for making my stay memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnsjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing