We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the "treat" that's worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I'm always worried that staying at a place more expensive than I'd normally stay won't be *that* much better, and I'll be disappointed I spent the extra money. Not so at the Taj Lake Palace in Udaipur. From the time you pull up at their launch across the lake to the time you leave, your every whim is catered to, and in a way that makes you think that the person fulfilling said whim is absolutely thrilled to do so. Really. They refer to you as "their king and queen" and whilst one's personal balance sheet may beg to differ, one could truly forget she wasn't as she's treated so well here.

All rooms (less ~4 that are lily pond only due to their placement) are lake views, and ours overlooked the City Palace (the other side overlooks the sunset). The front door onto the balcony hallway faces the lily pond, which is lit with candles every evening and set with fresh flower petals every morning. Our room was spacious with a large settee for gazing over the water - the bay window view was so beautiful it seemed like a large painting!

Meals are not normally included, but the breakfast is served in the BEST room - another gorgeous room that yet manages to be cozy - and the food is an array of international favorites (with omelettes for the Americans, brioche for the French, and an array of fresh fruit to name a few) - completely worth it. We had dinner at the Indian restaurant which was fantastic; our server was very thoughtful with his suggestions and our drinks well made (DH had a tamarind margarita that he couldn't get enough of!) We even arrived late but were served with no huffing and puffing - just the sheer joy of a long-awaited guest finally coming for a visit.

On our second night we wanted some privacy and (believe it or not) ordered room service so we could enjoy the view alone. (It should be noted that they have an International Restaurant on a roof deck that we would have loved to have tried, but it was a bit chilly for me.) The food was phenomenal! And the butler quickly arranged our table such that we could both enjoy the view, too. Usually room service is my way of working through a meal to meet a deadline or avoiding a solo meal in a public dining room - but I actually highly recommend doing this here - it allows you to truly enjoy the space.

Finally, we visited the Monsoon Palace on the hill (which isn't that attractive in and of itself, but the views are incredible), and City Palace for the treed roof deck. Although I'm sure Udaipur is an amazing city, once we set foot into the Taj Lake Palace it was really hard to leave!

Room Tip: I imagine the sunset view rooms are nice, but the views of City Palace lit at night at spectacular
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,057)
There are newer reviews for Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,926 - 1,932 of 3,057 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was the final stop on our trip, and the perfect way to end.The exceptional experience starts at the jetty and never lets up. It is very well staffed and they all seem to have an uncanny knack of anticipating your wishes, ever before you have formed them! A bit like Colonel Potter and Radar, only you are in a luxury palace hotel in the middle of an artificial lake. Because of the location, things are compact, including the rooms. Breakfast can be a bit congested. But all this is by the way because of the location and views, the building itself and the staff. Dinner at the restaurant was the best Indian meal I have had, easily worth one Michelin star. I was particularly impressed by the naans, which were smoked by pieces of wood introduced into the cooking fires. Stay there and eat at the restaurant if you can.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuaychap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had wanted to stay in this hotel for some time and finally got the opportunity to do so at the end of January for three nights. We were not disappointed!
We booked the "Royal Retreat" package as we figured we'd be eating there on the "island" in any case. It is a good option as it includes breakfast and evening meals, yet one still has full choice of where, when and what to eat, so no restrictions. It works out as a more economical option. We chose a Palace room which was larger than a luxury room and it had a separate seating area and stunning view across the lake to the City Palace.
I can only endorse all the great things which have already been said in prior reviews. We ate in each of the restaurants and were delighted with the variety and quality of food and service in all of them. The rooftop restaurant is particularly memorable and not to be missed!
We found that during day we had the place mostly to ourselves as guests tended to be on tours and always rushing out for the day. They missed such a relaxing experience by doing this. My advice is to do your sight seeing first from a hotel on shore, then go to the Lake Palace and stay there, just relaxing in the many facilities. It is the perfect place to wind down and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
What are you waiting for? Don't hesitate - book it now!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but go for a Palace room if finances allow.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The true luxe can be experienced in this marvellous all-white floating palace built in 1740, one of the top worldwide palace.

Our room was a standard one (this is what we booked and i don't think we've been upgraded), very nice though like a mini-suite, with view to the City Palace.

Amazing sobriety from the 18th century. Magic experience in the middle of the lake with the best view to Udaipur.

The breakfast was outstanding. The SPA was the best massage experience i had. The European top roof restaurant was excellent too. Not to mention the service which is obviously worldclass palace standard

I found a good deal online, if you get the chance to find one, just GO ! You won't forget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We took their 2 nights package in Jan 2013 for my hubby, me and my 8 month old daughter.
The hotels best part is being in the middle of the lake and they have balcony's on almost all sides from which you can see the lake and its gorgeous. But what is far better than the view is the hospitality of the staff. They take care of your every and I mean every need. They go out of their way to make sure you're extra comfortable. The staff is very courteous and that is what makes this hotel stand out. We visited the Leela for lunch one day and didnt find that half as good.
The indian speciality restaurant is FANTASTIC. with their versace crockery and cutlery, their food is even more outstanding.
The day we checked in the hotel was full and we requested if we could get a bigger room in the same category and the next day when they had a check out they gave us a gorgeous room!
The spa experience was very good too.
Even with such a small baby we were able to enjoy the hotel and absolutely loved it. Would love to come back here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anuja_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This absolutely beautiful property!! We have amazing time when we were starts until the end. We were stayed at Grand Royal Suite. What a beautiful !! The staffs are so friendly and professional. Service is excellent... I don't know how to explain it enough. Thank you to make a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul-Anusorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed three nights in January. Opted for the "palace room" which I believe was worth it given that the regular rooms are only 300 square feet.

Staying here has always been a bit of a fantasy. Amazingly, the hotel and setting actually exceeded my fantasy! The hotel and setting are absolutely gorgeous. The service is fantastic. The views everywhere are great. Our room looked out at their arch-enemies the Oberoi across the lake.

The hotel is for guests only, which makes wandering around the common areas that much more enjoyable. Certainly, as romantic a hotel that exists on this planet.

The down side? Only the cost, as It is pricey. But we found it worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 163 in Udaipur
1,868 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#35 of 163 in Udaipur
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £312 - £1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing