We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the money”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is one of the most luxurious places I've ever been. It starts with being welcomed by the hotel staff picking us up by boat, as soon as I got off the boat there were about 5 ladies throwing rose leaves (we were the only 2 in the boat!!). We booked a room for 3 nights, and got an upgrade to a royal suite. The suite was situated a corner with a marvelous view on the lake on all sides. Yes indeed, even the price we paid for a luxury room was incredibly expensive, especially to Indian standards, but o so worth the money. The suite had about 4 rooms and every time we got back in our room there was another surprise waiting for us. It even got to the point that we found a kamasutra kit with massage oil and other attributes in our bed ;-). They are running for you and for some days you feel like a real princess. They hotel is fabulous, but you will experience living in a fairytale......

Room Tip: I think all rooms are just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithvdD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,737
    198
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
727
1,561
106
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The Taj Lake Palace is a must stay. We had gone there for our wedding anniversary and the concierge was so helpful and completely went out of their way to provide us with whatever we wanted. We arrived very early in the morning and they put us up in a temporary room to rest for a while while they set-up the suite they were upgrading us to. The suite was amazing with a large balcony. It seemed like you were in a house boat. All in all the property was beautiful and their hospitality even more so!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekGoelMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Everything about this hotel is first class. Setting, welcome (you dont get showered in rose petals at most hotels), room, food, service is 10star. Fantastic pool, great restuarants - didnt want to leave

Room Tip: we had room 235 which had its own sun deck and was great for the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank india_trip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Travelling in India and stayed two nights at the Taj Lake Palace, everything was amazing, petals were scattered on us on arrival and they even gave me a gift when I left, nothing to complain about, expensive but what do you expect for this type of luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Like a glowing pearl that rises out of the water, just the mere sight of Lake Palace takes your breathe away. Immaculately kept, impeccably service, impressive surrounding, the hotel is an exemplary representation of a perfect vacation. From the moment we arrived till the day we departed, every moment was executed with the highest standard. The staff were friendly and discreet. They were also knowledgeable and helpful in provide us great tips and guide on exploring Udaipur. Whenever we return from our day trip, they would greet and welcome us with the sincerest smile. These are memories that will last a life time. Will certainly return away one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thephotoplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillong, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is one of my most memorable experiences ever. Starting from the way we were received at the reception deck with warm smiles on the Lake shore to the luxurious boat ride with comfortable cushions to enjoy swaying through the Beautiful and historic lake Pichola. A Royal Welcome led us into the lobby with rose petals showering over us. Check in was effortless and we were briefed about the programs later such as heritage walk and the Culturals shows. crossing the beautiful reading room - all blue intricate inlay work, guests just relaxing and floating all over, everyone is close to each other yet its extremely peaceful and positive. We were led to the very lovely lily pool which was full of seasonal flowers at patches. Our room was cozy, perfect view of the City palace, which was breathtaking in the evening lights accross the shmmering lake. The bathrooms were very well done with blue pottery lical tiles and classic fixtures, lovely ornate ceiling and woodwork. After a quick snack meal at the multicuisine restaurant we went back in the era of the kings and queens through the heritage walk with interesting stories about the Maharanas of Udaipur, which continued all through the rajasthani music and dances with lovely martinis all around the central courtyard, just like the olden times, we were totally transported through time. Thats the magic of this place which you cannot imagine unless you enter this floating piece of heaven on earth. Not to forget the authentic Rajasthani 4 course meal which was served to us with lot of care and perfection.I dont think there can be Luxury at this level atleast in India in terms of location, design, service and overall experience. A must visit atleast once in a lifetime!

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the City Palace. and february would be a good time to visit since we got perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuku_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Amazing hotel, white marble beautiful setting in the middle of a lake wonderful staff. Have stayed twice, the first time we were tracking around India so not dressed in best of clothes ! We were treated like royalty everyone exceptionally pleasent and friendly, the second time for our fifth wedding anniversary which we told them they put us lots of ' extras ' at no cost in our room. Yes it is expensive but well worth the cost and less than some London hotels. We had a meal on floating platform on the lake, it was decorated with flowers etc just the two of us with our own staff waiting on us AMAZING

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 161 in Udaipur
1,834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing